10 Reviews

My favorite recipe on this site! I changed it a little - no onions and after the ground beef is cooked I add everything to the crock pot and let it cook for a couple of hours. It makes it more of a dip that we eat w/nachos. So much for low carb but it's a hit! I am asked to make it all the time!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KARA H. October 27, 2011

This was a hit with our family. I did use fresh spinach instead of frozen as that's what I had on hand. I wilted it in the pan after the ground beef and onion were cooked, then threw the cream cheese on top for a bit to get it melty. Then mixed it with everything else in the pan. I can not wait to try it in my omelet tomorrow morning! Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viedvacker June 26, 2014

I have made this several times for my husband and I. I add a can of green chiles to the mix and shredded cheddar to the top. We fill a low carb tortilla with it, add a little taco sauce and eat it like a burrito! UNBELIEVABLE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerri328 April 04, 2014

Very good recipe. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I cooked everything on the stove and baked it for 25 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posiespocketbook April 07, 2013

This was delicious. Another reviewer stated that someone in their family liked it even if it had spinach - you can see spinach in here but you don't taste it that is for sure. I will be making this again. I did make it less calories by using lean ground beef and lower fat cream cheese. I also substituted the sour cream and used greek yogurt. Since it was the first time making it I wouldn't really know the difference but both of us loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar February 26, 2012

We loved this casserole.. My husband recently had to go on a low carb diet. He really liked it even though he is not a spinach lover. Will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn's Cupboard November 18, 2011

YUMMMMMYY!! The only thing I added was a cup of cheddar cheese on top half way through baking it. I will definately make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonjab314 January 13, 2010

MMMMMMMM! I made this for dinner tonight and loved it! I didnt change a thing although I probably used more than 2 tsp of taco seasoning. Thanks for an awesome and easy low carb recipe. I actually mixed everything together in the pan with the ground beef and onion and then added to the casserole dish and baked only 20 min. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 June 10, 2009

I am giving thid 5 stars even though I had to make modifcations as my pantry was out of taco seasoning. I substituted 2 tablespoons of Tastfully Simple Fiesta Party Dip Mix. I also added 1/2 small green pepper & 1/2 small red pepper and 1 - 4 oz can of mushrooms. I omitted the jalapenos. WaThe casserole was GREAT! I plann on freezing some and trying it as suggested ommlette filling. Thanks for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cella June 06, 2009

Very easy to make...great way to sneak kids some spinach!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saraghina November 18, 2007
Low Carb Mexican Beef and Spinach Casserole