Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Macaphony and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Macaphony and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2009

      10/7/09: Made again and allowed the tofu and spices to sit overnight to absorb the flavors as suggested by another reviewer. Not a favorite recipe for my DH, but I like it -- especially when mixed with broccoli and a bit of diced ham. This recipe could also be used as a hot dip for celery or crackers. 4/7/06: Good recipe for when carb cravings hit. I added some diced ham (personal mac & cheese preference) but didn't add the parmesan on top and it had plenty of cheese. I like the idea of letting the tofu sit overnight to absorb the flavor, and will try that next time. I also like to add vegies to my mac & cheese, and this is a good base recipe. I was out of cayenne pepper and used hot pepper sauce, and that worked perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Wow, another wonderful tofu recipe! The third I've tried this week and I have to say that for phony maccroni this is great. I mixed all the ingredients except for the cheese and let marinate overnight. The tofu absorbed the spices wonderfully. Oh, I used 3 egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs. Cut down on calories and cholestrol. Mixed in the cheese before baking and was plesantly suprised how much it really tasted like mac and cheese. Realisticlly I would say this is more like 2 servings than 4. Salt and pepper to taste after baking. Thank you Mercy for posting what will be my new mac & cheese recipe. (At least while I'm watching calories)!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2004

      I made this yesterday using extra-firm tofu. I baked it for 45 minutes with the lid on the casserole dish, but it wasn't getting crispy on top, so I added 15 minutes with the lid off. I would definately double this recipe the next time - it just wasn't enough for leftovers! Even tofu haters will like this dish - my mom kept sneaking bites of it when I wasn't looking! I think it would be good with a mexican cheese blend, or a white cheese as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      My husband and I ate this for dinner last night. I've never had tofu before and I must say I was pleasantly surprised how tasty it was. I took the advice of others and allowed the mixture to sit a few hours before baking. I also added steamed broccoli to the baking dish. We will have this again and next time I may add a little salt and maybe some cream cheese. Very good dish for low carb watchers craving a pasta substitue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Oh, my! This was even better than I thought it would be. Followed the advice of others and mixed everything but the cheese (subbed plain soy milk for the cream) and let this sit overnight to absorb the flavors. I then added cut up broccoli and a handful of real bacon bits when I added the cheese, and used about 6 oz of the sharp cheddar and 2 oz of smoked Gouda. While this isn't going to fool someone who expects mac and cheese, it was a great substitute for pasta when I was really craving some comfort food. I'll make again for sure, mixing up the cheeses next time... maybe a sprinkle of blue, or some pepper jack... Yum. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Good base, not really macaroni like to me but more like scarmbled cheesy eggs, I think letting it sit is a must otherwise it is a little bland...or maybe some salt? i added some ranch and parmasan and it was really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      i enjoyed this a lot. I used evaporated milk, omitted the mustard, and subbed some happy cow swiss cheese for some of the cheddar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      i was a little disappointed in this recipe after the other reviews. I'm new to low carb and to tofu so might try it again with some add ins such as vegetables and more spice, texture was not to my liking, husband thought it was OK so will try again and rate again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Yum! I upped the amount of tofu by 4oz, just because that's how much I had, but it still was more accurately enough for 2 people, not 4- as a main meal. It smelled SO good when cooking and was just darn tasty- we really liked it and will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Wow! We were pleasantly surprised. It has been so cold and snowy here in Canada lately I was craving some good ol' comfort food. Being a diabetic my choices are limited. This recipe is a wonderful alternative to the much higher carb version of mac n cheese. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a bit more spices to the mix, onion and red pepper were also added. Overall I will definitely make it again. Thank you Mercy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This recipe is a keeper. I will definitely make again, probably try some cubed ham next time. I suggest more spice if you want it spicier. Either way it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      It was good...a little too plain...maybe next time ill add in some spice to kick it up a notch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This is like a vegetable-less tofu frittata. It's pretty good! Next time, I'll probably add some more spice and maybe some ham or veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I was in complete SHOCK when I tasted this dish! I was skeptical up until the last second before I put it in my mouth! Excellent way to fix a desire for some carbs!!! Unbelievable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This really does curb your pasta cravings. It was fantastic warm out of th oven but even better re-heated to next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2004

      Mmmmmmm! Tastes like my gransmother's mac and cheese cassarole. My husband was very stand-off when he saw it was made with tofu (we've never used tofu before- ever!) but agreed it was good, and ate a very large helping! A must-have!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      Missing Mac & Cheese on your Low Carb diet? This is perfect.. hubby could not tell it was tofu.. told him later.. we both loved it!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      WOW!!! I knew I would like it before I started because I'm a cheese-aholic -- but I can not begin to say how totally impressed I am with this recipe. I stay away from pasta & this is a fantastic substitution for Mac 'n Cheese! The texture is great. The recipe is fabulously easy & fast! My only substitutions were: lite tofu (14 oz pkg size) & evaporated fat-free milk (same amount). I used 1/4 cup parmesan cheese on top -- next time I would even use less! By my calculations the total cals/serving = 310! Pair this with a green salad & fresh fruit & what a fantastic meal!!! I'm going to divide & freeze lunch portions for work & make another one tomorrow for dinner again! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Macaphony and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.5
     
    Calories from Fat 265
    71%
    Total Fat 29.5 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 16.3 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 181.8 mg
    60%
    Sodium 402.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites