18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

10/7/09: Made again and allowed the tofu and spices to sit overnight to absorb the flavors as suggested by another reviewer. Not a favorite recipe for my DH, but I like it -- especially when mixed with broccoli and a bit of diced ham. This recipe could also be used as a hot dip for celery or crackers. 4/7/06: Good recipe for when carb cravings hit. I added some diced ham (personal mac & cheese preference) but didn't add the parmesan on top and it had plenty of cheese. I like the idea of letting the tofu sit overnight to absorb the flavor, and will try that next time. I also like to add vegies to my mac & cheese, and this is a good base recipe. I was out of cayenne pepper and used hot pepper sauce, and that worked perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( October 07, 2009

Wow, another wonderful tofu recipe! The third I've tried this week and I have to say that for phony maccroni this is great. I mixed all the ingredients except for the cheese and let marinate overnight. The tofu absorbed the spices wonderfully. Oh, I used 3 egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs. Cut down on calories and cholestrol. Mixed in the cheese before baking and was plesantly suprised how much it really tasted like mac and cheese. Realisticlly I would say this is more like 2 servings than 4. Salt and pepper to taste after baking. Thank you Mercy for posting what will be my new mac & cheese recipe. (At least while I'm watching calories)!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy December 20, 2005

I made this yesterday using extra-firm tofu. I baked it for 45 minutes with the lid on the casserole dish, but it wasn't getting crispy on top, so I added 15 minutes with the lid off. I would definately double this recipe the next time - it just wasn't enough for leftovers! Even tofu haters will like this dish - my mom kept sneaking bites of it when I wasn't looking! I think it would be good with a mexican cheese blend, or a white cheese as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slicey September 06, 2004

My husband and I ate this for dinner last night. I've never had tofu before and I must say I was pleasantly surprised how tasty it was. I took the advice of others and allowed the mixture to sit a few hours before baking. I also added steamed broccoli to the baking dish. We will have this again and next time I may add a little salt and maybe some cream cheese. Very good dish for low carb watchers craving a pasta substitue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger O. November 03, 2013

Oh, my! This was even better than I thought it would be. Followed the advice of others and mixed everything but the cheese (subbed plain soy milk for the cream) and let this sit overnight to absorb the flavors. I then added cut up broccoli and a handful of real bacon bits when I added the cheese, and used about 6 oz of the sharp cheddar and 2 oz of smoked Gouda. While this isn't going to fool someone who expects mac and cheese, it was a great substitute for pasta when I was really craving some comfort food. I'll make again for sure, mixing up the cheeses next time... maybe a sprinkle of blue, or some pepper jack... Yum. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie February 16, 2013

Good base, not really macaroni like to me but more like scarmbled cheesy eggs, I think letting it sit is a must otherwise it is a little bland...or maybe some salt? i added some ranch and parmasan and it was really yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sumisan December 28, 2009

i enjoyed this a lot. I used evaporated milk, omitted the mustard, and subbed some happy cow swiss cheese for some of the cheddar

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ December 13, 2008

i was a little disappointed in this recipe after the other reviews. I'm new to low carb and to tofu so might try it again with some add ins such as vegetables and more spice, texture was not to my liking, husband thought it was OK so will try again and rate again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Goad September 12, 2008

Yum! I upped the amount of tofu by 4oz, just because that's how much I had, but it still was more accurately enough for 2 people, not 4- as a main meal. It smelled SO good when cooking and was just darn tasty- we really liked it and will make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM May 21, 2008

Wow! We were pleasantly surprised. It has been so cold and snowy here in Canada lately I was craving some good ol' comfort food. Being a diabetic my choices are limited. This recipe is a wonderful alternative to the much higher carb version of mac n cheese. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a bit more spices to the mix, onion and red pepper were also added. Overall I will definitely make it again. Thank you Mercy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamascookin February 13, 2008
Low Carb Macaphony and Cheese