16 Reviews

These are "HOT" (fantastic)! No need for any other popper recipe! Your search stops here! I actually just used some chopped onion since I didn't have scallions. These are so good! We even mixed some leftovers into our scrambled eggs the next morning. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gdlehman September 19, 2006

This were absolutely delicious! My husband, daughter and I were fighting over the last few. I highly recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeangajewski February 19, 2015

I didn't have garlic powder so I used one very large clove of garlic, which I minced, and two cups of cheddar cheese instead of one because I prefer cheddar cheese poppers (it made a great crispy crunch when it spilled over the edges and browned on the pan).

I also cut the jalapenos in half the day before making them, which cuts down on the heat considerably. The fresher the jalapeno the hotter (and some are just hotter than others). Wasn't sure what the bunch of green onions was supposed to amount to so I used about three tablespoons minced.

I thought they were great. If I wasn't doing a low carb diet I would have added some panko on top.

Loved it. Thanks. P.S. Made them again, already, and I can't stop eating them. These are the bomb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMia September 01, 2012

Very good....I will use this recipe again..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI July 24, 2012

Great snack or side for those on a low carb diet. My husband and I love these and will be making them again & again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Luna December 23, 2010

These were a little hotter than my usual popper recipe, but I"m not sure why. Perhaps, carbs tame the heat? Anyway, I parboiled for two minutes, stuffed, then wrapped with prosciutto, stuck them on the grill for 5 minutes or so and voila...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 July 01, 2010

Not rating, but very interested!! I'm having an over-abundance of cayenne peppers, tried this with green cayenneds, also added strips of ham, but ... eeeekl!!! One tip for the jalapenos, which are far milder than cayennes: after seeding them (keep on the stem!) try parboiling them for a minute. This gets rid of some of the heat, and softens them so it's easier to add the the filling. Great with chilled wine!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie February 10, 2010

Oh so good! Made the recipe as directed with one exception. I used tomato-basil cream cheese since I didn't have plain cream cheese in the fridge. I like other reviewers suggestions to add bacon and will try that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( February 09, 2010

These are really good, but really hot! My husband and I loved them, but we could only stand to eat one at a time. And this is coming from a family who loves hot food. They taste so good that we wanted to eat the whole batch, but our mouths told us otherwise. Also, make sure you use gloves while seeding the peppers, I listened to my husband who said I didn't need gloves, and my hands were burning uncontrollably for 8 hours. Lesson learned. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bugeah September 11, 2009

Yummy! I needed a recipe that didn't have a coating, because we need to eat gluten-free. I am very glad to have found this one. I followed one of the other reviewer's suggestion and wrapped my poppers with bacon. I could make en entire meal out of these! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheynath July 06, 2008
Low-carb Jalapeno Poppers