Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Hungarian Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      Tasty soup on a cold day. I really enjoyed this recipe especially since it was low carb. It's hard to find low carb recipes and this one fit the bill. I made the recipe exactly as it called for, I was please with the results however I don't believe the number of servings is marked appropriately. This made no more then 4.5 cups and with a cup per person...it doesn't equate to the 6 servings this recipe is posted. Please make note of the portions and plan accordingly. Thank you very much for teh recipe, I will definately be making this again and will be sharing this with others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Very good soup. I doubled the recipe (mushrooms were on sale) and used 2% milk with just a little half and half since that is what I had on hand. When I sauteed the mushrooms, I went a little longer than five minutes, I sauteed them until they were squeaky and released their water. I admittedly used a low quality paprika, the bottom shelf stuff, and I was worried about that, but the soup is still delish. I also added a generous amount of cayenne, to compensate for the low quality of the paprika, and to add some heat. I made the chicken broth with Better than Boullion paste. My soup is a bit thinner than it would be if I had used heavy cream, but the flavors are still yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Very rich, delicious soup! We wanted a vegetable and some meat so I added some zucchini and Italian sausage. Because of the additions I added another cup of chicken broth and a little extra on some of the other ingredients. Wonderful treat on a low carb diet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This was great. I had eaten Hungarian Mushroom Soup at a dinner out and this was very similar. Even my fussy husband loved it. I lightened it up a little by using 1 cup broth and 2 cups fat free half and half along with my fat free sour cream. You couldn't tell it was low fat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      I was very skeptical about the flavor of this recipe, even as I was preparing it. I'm glad I tried it though, it's delicious! My sour cream broke when I added it so it's not a pretty soup to look at but the taste is fabulous, very savory. I wish I had some crusty bread to dunk in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      WOWEY! This soup is fantastic! It is exactly what I want when craving something savory. It simply doesn't taste the way you think it would when you think of paprika and dill. My alterations...... no heavy cream/sour cream ( just added 0% greek yogurt), I forgot the soy sauce and didn't add salt since butter & broth has plenty of sodium... didn't miss it. I did add some lemon pepper to increase the lemon flavor (which does add some sodium). Overall this is a very good dish, doesn't need chicken or anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      Tasty, quick and easy. I had everything on hand except the sour cream but made it anyway. I don't think it was necessary, the flavor was there. I also added sausage to the soup and it was a nice compliment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Dont let the paprika and dill scare you...the flavor is all mushroom, and the best recipe Ive found. Only change I made was to use 4 kinds of mushrooms..white, brown, portobello and reconstituted dried shitakis using the water form soaking the shitakis instead of a bit of the chicken stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Loved this soup. Not a fan of Dill and used dried Basil. Added some cayenne pepper for heat. Very good. I am following a low carb lifestyle and wouldn't suggest using corn starch to thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This is an excellent soup. I used f/f half and half, and thickened the soup w/cornstarch. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This hearty, delicious soup warmed me right up after last night's snow! I used low-sodium soy sauce and substituted a cup of yogurt for sour cream, and it still turned out just perfectly. I did not find it too salty in the least; in fact, I added a touch more salt due to personal preference. This soup was easy to prepare, and I already had a majority of the ingredients on hand. I will absolutely make this again--thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I really liked this. This was for sure not salty at all for me. I ended up adding a little more. I also added soe cornstarch to thicken it up some. Made this for my friend's 18th birthday dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      The soup was, for me, somewhat salty. I loved a slice of Italian bread dipped in it. Made for The Northern Mediterranean Photo Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

    • on May 22, 2008

      Good, easy soup. Very rich tasting. I used 8 oz button mushrooms with 8 oz baby bellas, and went a little heavy on the dill. Delicious. Thanks for sharing. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I first made this a week ago and my family loved it. Today my husband requested it again, that is the true testiment. He rarely requests things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      This was a wonderful tasting soup. I followed the recipe exactly. Very easy to make, but a restaurant quality taste. Thank you for the recipe. We are having guest over tonight and this is on the menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      This soup was a nice change from your standard creamy mushroom soup. I only used 1 can of chicken broth (about 1.5 cups) and milk, because I didn't have any cream. I added slightly more sour cream to compensate. It was delicious! The only change I will make next time is to chop the mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      I was disappointed after all the rave reviews. I found it kind of bland. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      This soup is AWESOME! Such a unique and delicious flavor. And so easy to make. We usually make this one on our "soup and salad" dinner nights. Thank you for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Hungarian Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.2
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    81%
    Total Fat 25.8 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 81.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 903.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes