8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made some modification to the original recipe. Replaced salt with ground cinnamon and artificial sweetener to natural stevia! Enjoy!

1/3 cup of melted unsalted butter
1/2 cup of filtered water
1 tablespoon of stevia (zero calorie natural sweetener)
1 table spoon of baking powder (Aluminum-free)
5 eggs beaten brown organic cage-free Omega-3
2 cups of fresh ground flax seed
1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hellomrlucky December 27, 2011

Yum! Great for a healthy bread. I was a bit dubious when I put it into the oven as the dough didn't look like dough, just quite stodgy. I was pleasantly surprised, smells great, tastes great, nice and nutty, great with butter! My only criticism was that it is a little too salty for my taste, I would use half - 3/4 of the salt used in this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
electrobean April 26, 2011

This is very good. I'm on the 17 day diet, which is pretty much low carb. I can't wait to have a tuna sandwich with this. Next time I think I'll add a little garlic powder and maybe onion powder and no sweetner. Thanks for a great recipe.

Wanted to add - I just toasted a piece of this and added a tiny bit of butter - yum, yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea March 29, 2011

This is a delicious bread, low-carb, gluten-free and a good source of dietary fiber. Aside from using it for sandwiches, try making it into pancakes. Just spread a little butter on two pieces, microwave them about 45 seconds until the butter melts, and top with some fresh berries or sugar-free maple syrup. Or make it using dark flaxseed meal and add about 2 Tbsp. of dried onion flakes soaked in 2 Tbsp. of water, 2 Tbsp. of caraway seeds (or less, to taste) and 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese to make an "Almost Onion-Rye Bread" out of it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadine12 June 03, 2010

Excellent - I tweeked it, as well, reducing the salt to 3/4 tsp and the baking powder to 1 3/4 tsp and I added a little more water and some peanut flour. I have some barley and garbanzo flours I'd like to 'mask' and will be using them up, gradually, as I make more batches of this. I'll also try some 'sweet' versions and will try a garlic and herb version for a pizza crust. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Woman July 27, 2014

Yummy! I cut back the salt as stated by one of the reviewers, substituted Stevia for Splenda and next time I will but it back as well. Also added garlic and onion powder and made into 8 rounds. Nutty delicious taste that I will enjoy while cutting my carbs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imwindfire January 20, 2013

My family and i, just love this bread, i am now baking it daily, great tasting and excellent for the bowls lol I give it 5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindabest September 22, 2012

Very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FitnessBesos August 30, 2012
Low Carb Flax Flat Bread