Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2011

      I *must* start out by saying that I've always LOATHED eggplant. Flat out refused to eat it as a child and never cared for it since. But now that I'm on a no carb/very low carb diet...I thought I'd give this a go.

      It is hands down one of the best things I've tasted yet in the two weeks I've been trying no carb recipes.

      I used my own homemade sauce that doesn't have any sugar anyway (feel free to message me for the recipe!)and here's the part I tweaked: after reading all the comments (and being pressed for time tonight!) I took out my largest skillet and cooked the cut eggplant slices on either side, NO OIL OR BUTTER, until they were just soft. I'd say about 2 mins per side? followed the rest of the instructions and put it in a 350* oven for 20mins covered and 10 mins uncovered at the end. PERFECTION!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This was great! I used this as a "base" idea for Eggplant Parmesan Lasagna, I'll publish soon! I used a mandolin slicer (btw...a must have in the kitchen!) to cut the eggplant into thick julienne slices. I don't like big chunks of eggplant, personal preference. I also incorporated the recipe, Eggplant Casserole (#227375), skipped the bread crumbs (in #227375) and used no boil lasagna noodles. I sauteed the veggies and herbs first, layered everything and cooked it in my huge slow cooker. I added some cooked ground meat for DH so it wasn't totally veggie...he said it didn't need it! I know not that low carb but Delicious!! I love how the Parmesan cheese turned out texture wise like Ricotta cheese...awesome! Thanks for sharing this...I now have a wonderful way to eat eggplant without frying it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Made this last night and it was excellant! Precooked the eggplant slices on the grill, 5 min per side. I did find a really good sauce to use with no added sugar and low sodium (360/half cup). Also used part skim mozzarella. Added pepperoni to half for my husband. Smelled incredible! Will definately be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Great recipe! Used just a little Parmesan cheese and no mozzarella. Broiled the eggplant slices and then baked the casserole for 45 minutes which was too long. When parcooking, probably should bake for only 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This was terrific. I cut down on the amounts as I am the only one in this house who eats tomatoes. I used half an aubergine and cut down on the cheeses. Only had mpozzarella slices but they worked pretty well. It took 40 minutes to cook and then I gave it another few minutes with the extra parmesan on top. Looking at the recipe now I think my rounds of aubergine were cut a bit thinner which is why it only took 40 minutes to cook and not the hour that other people found. Thanks for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Always believe in being honest when I review, First thing re this recipe? Get out of your head "breaded and fried", TRUE! Based on last reviewer's suggestion, I did bake, Peeled, sliced eggplant, 1/4 inch, in the oven, 10 minutes EACH side I decided to let it take! Followed res of recipe, added garlic and spice, This recipe IS very nice! I baked it for 60 minutes at 180 C! This is how long it actually took for me! Although recipe calls that this is three serves as main dish, I wish I could have eaten more, I WISH! Came up 4 good size portions for me, TRUE! And I did not add any greens or tomatoes with balsamic vinegar, but next time I will do! DEFINATELY solves craving for pasta, pizza and sauce too! I used salt free pasatta as it DID come out FANTASTIC, TRUE! So HOPE even some non low carb people might try! As this is healthy and tasty as OH MY!!!! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Having read the previous reviews, I decided to bake the peeled, sliced eggplant for about 10 minutes at 375 prior to assembling the dish. That worked beautifully; no underdone eggplant. I used a bit less parmesan (personal preference) and I used part-skim mozzarella. My lazy choice was to add the last of the mozzarella, cover and bake it all for 40 minutes rather than stopping and putting it back in the oven. I also sprinkled it with a little crushed red pepper. This recipe gets points for ease of preparation, although of course it would be better with homemade sauce. I also have to say that this seemed to be way more than 3 servings. My DH and I both had a large helping and there was plenty left. Very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This was great, just made it for lunch today. I used Hunts Herb & Garlic and didn't add the extra spices. Tasty & Filling! update 8/1/07 I made this tonight but this time I chopped the peeled eggplant and it only took 30min on 375*. Still as great as the last time I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      I agree... it definately al dente.. lets just say I cooked it 20 minutes longer and it was raw. It could have been good if it would have gotten done. Perhaps it was the egg plant... maybe it was old and tough.. who knows? If you do try this, plan on a long cook time.I peeled it too.I cooked it at least 15 minutes longer, and put it in the microwave for 3 minutes, and it was still raw. I doubt seriously if I will EVER make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      This was excellent.My family loved it. I used a medium large eggplant, my own sugar-free spagetti sauce, and baked in a 9 x 13 dish. I had to cook it 1 hr. and 20 mins. to get it down to my preference, raised the temp. to 400, added mozzarella on top and cooked til melted and browned, about 15 mins. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Most of my family enjoyed this. We are not big eggplant eaters, but are going on the South Beach Diet in a few days, and this will relieve my pizza cravings. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      This was really tasty. I love eggplant parm and this fit the bill. Like Kim D., I found the eggplant was still a bit el dente. Next time I'll try cooking it a bit longer than suggested or, perhaps, cook the eggplant first. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      Was a great idea for low carb dieters! I loved the flavor of this dish and it really helped me with my craving for pasta. I followed the directions exactly, slicing the eggplant thin. I baked it about 10 minutes longer than the stated time, but my eggplant was still kind of hard. I think next time I will try boiling it for about 5 minutes before layering it in the pan. Excellent dish, I will definitely make it again. Thanks DancingCook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      This is just the recipe that I have been lookig for, We love Eggplant Parmesan. DH is a diabetic & I watch my carbs, so this really fit the bill. I made it just like the recipe said,But, I used my home canned pasta sauce(no sugar). DH said this is great, I could just make a meal on this alone. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan

    Serving Size: 1 (335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.1
     
    Calories from Fat 239
    56%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 88.3 mg
    29%
    Sodium 982.3 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    no-added-sugar low carb spaghetti sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites