15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I *must* start out by saying that I've always LOATHED eggplant. Flat out refused to eat it as a child and never cared for it since. But now that I'm on a no carb/very low carb diet...I thought I'd give this a go.

It is hands down one of the best things I've tasted yet in the two weeks I've been trying no carb recipes.

I used my own homemade sauce that doesn't have any sugar anyway (feel free to message me for the recipe!)and here's the part I tweaked: after reading all the comments (and being pressed for time tonight!) I took out my largest skillet and cooked the cut eggplant slices on either side, NO OIL OR BUTTER, until they were just soft. I'd say about 2 mins per side? followed the rest of the instructions and put it in a 350* oven for 20mins covered and 10 mins uncovered at the end. PERFECTION!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LEXI8381 September 09, 2011

Made this last night and it was excellant! Precooked the eggplant slices on the grill, 5 min per side. I did find a really good sauce to use with no added sugar and low sodium (360/half cup). Also used part skim mozzarella. Added pepperoni to half for my husband. Smelled incredible! Will definately be making again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suttercm September 13, 2011

I added green olives, very delicious. This was quick and easy to prepare and it was very good. My boyfriend, who did not like eggplant, liked it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyce H. November 17, 2014

This was great! I used this as a "base" idea for Eggplant Parmesan Lasagna, I'll publish soon! I used a mandolin slicer (btw...a must have in the kitchen!) to cut the eggplant into thick julienne slices. I don't like big chunks of eggplant, personal preference. I also incorporated the recipe, Eggplant Casserole (#227375), skipped the bread crumbs (in #227375) and used no boil lasagna noodles. I sauteed the veggies and herbs first, layered everything and cooked it in my huge slow cooker. I added some cooked ground meat for DH so it wasn't totally veggie...he said it didn't need it! I know not that low carb but Delicious!! I love how the Parmesan cheese turned out texture wise like Ricotta cheese...awesome! Thanks for sharing this...I now have a wonderful way to eat eggplant without frying it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell February 15, 2012

Great recipe! Used just a little Parmesan cheese and no mozzarella. Broiled the eggplant slices and then baked the casserole for 45 minutes which was too long. When parcooking, probably should bake for only 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie April 17, 2010

This was terrific. I cut down on the amounts as I am the only one in this house who eats tomatoes. I used half an aubergine and cut down on the cheeses. Only had mpozzarella slices but they worked pretty well. It took 40 minutes to cook and then I gave it another few minutes with the extra parmesan on top. Looking at the recipe now I think my rounds of aubergine were cut a bit thinner which is why it only took 40 minutes to cook and not the hour that other people found. Thanks for this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panda Rose August 26, 2008

Always believe in being honest when I review, First thing re this recipe? Get out of your head "breaded and fried", TRUE! Based on last reviewer's suggestion, I did bake, Peeled, sliced eggplant, 1/4 inch, in the oven, 10 minutes EACH side I decided to let it take! Followed res of recipe, added garlic and spice, This recipe IS very nice! I baked it for 60 minutes at 180 C! This is how long it actually took for me! Although recipe calls that this is three serves as main dish, I wish I could have eaten more, I WISH! Came up 4 good size portions for me, TRUE! And I did not add any greens or tomatoes with balsamic vinegar, but next time I will do! DEFINATELY solves craving for pasta, pizza and sauce too! I used salt free pasatta as it DID come out FANTASTIC, TRUE! So HOPE even some non low carb people might try! As this is healthy and tasty as OH MY!!!! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder August 16, 2008

Having read the previous reviews, I decided to bake the peeled, sliced eggplant for about 10 minutes at 375 prior to assembling the dish. That worked beautifully; no underdone eggplant. I used a bit less parmesan (personal preference) and I used part-skim mozzarella. My lazy choice was to add the last of the mozzarella, cover and bake it all for 40 minutes rather than stopping and putting it back in the oven. I also sprinkled it with a little crushed red pepper. This recipe gets points for ease of preparation, although of course it would be better with homemade sauce. I also have to say that this seemed to be way more than 3 servings. My DH and I both had a large helping and there was plenty left. Very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 February 06, 2008

This was great, just made it for lunch today. I used Hunts Herb & Garlic and didn't add the extra spices. Tasty & Filling! update 8/1/07 I made this tonight but this time I chopped the peeled eggplant and it only took 30min on 375*. Still as great as the last time I made it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ambarnes August 01, 2007

I agree... it definately al dente.. lets just say I cooked it 20 minutes longer and it was raw. It could have been good if it would have gotten done. Perhaps it was the egg plant... maybe it was old and tough.. who knows? If you do try this, plan on a long cook time.I peeled it too.I cooked it at least 15 minutes longer, and put it in the microwave for 3 minutes, and it was still raw. I doubt seriously if I will EVER make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
half yank May 18, 2007
Low Carb Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan