23 Reviews

This recipe has preserved my sanity! (well, what was left of it!). The crust is wonderful, and so versatile. It is flexible enough that I plan to try to use it as a mock flatbread for a wrap sandwich, and I want to make one in a round pan to use as a crust for a quiche as well. Tonight, I am going to make it with sharp cheddar instead of mozzerella, and I will use a large glass as a cookie cutter to cut about 6 circles out of it to use as hamburger "buns". I love this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toofpika March 16, 2011

I had to come back and update my review a day later. I am still wowed by this pizza! I reheated it today in the microwave and ate it for lunch. Its amazing. Still tasted the same as last night when I ate it for dinner. The tastiest thing about this recipe is the italian herbs in the"crust" thanks again! I cant even believe how good this pizza was...i lost 60 lbs doing low carb 3 years ago and kept it off...im on my 2nd time doing the diet after having my 2nd child...this was a LIFE SAVER!!! I have been craving pizza since I was pregnant and this hit the SPOT!!! I cant even say enough! Thank you so much Mercy!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cervantesbrandi October 29, 2009

For those of you doing WW, I substituted non-fat cream cheese, egg substitute, 1% milk, and fat free cheese for the crust (I used 2% mozzarella for the top) and it came out extremely yummy! I topped it with chopped tomatoes, green pepper, green onion, fresh basil and some sliced black olives. My calculations are 7 points for 1/4 of the pizza with my substitutions - very filling and definitely does NOT taste like diet food. Highly recommended. We had it for breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingkiminpdx June 14, 2009

This is a great recipe! I've made it twice now, 1st time I used an 8X11 dish and the "crust" was thicker, 2nd time I used a 9x13 dish, thinner crust and browned it a bit more. Awesome both times! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Verelucky October 06, 2007

WOW!!! This was incredible!! Super easy and ultra filling!! I used neufchatel (lite) cream cheese and it worked great! Thanks for the tip for parchment paper. I was able to lift the "crust" straight out of the 9x13 into another dish and pop it directly into the frige without waiting for the dish to cool. One tip -- I used frozen peppers and onions and they got watery when baking. Next time, I'll thaw my veggies first and drain them. A+++ Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MS_Spice April 10, 2007

I came upon this recipe years ago by MERCY. It is great! First, let me start off my saying that I stuck to this recipe as stated the first time. After I baked it and let it cooled down, I took a bite and was like meh, and had an eggy consistency. It's okay, nothing to write home about. I at one piece and put the rest in the fridge. The next morning I had nothing to eat so I grab another piece and popped it in the microwave. Oh dear lord, It was AMAZING. What changed???????? YOU HAVE TO LET THE CRUST COOL ALL THE WAY DOWN IN THE FRIDGE BEFORE COOKING. This is a crucial step in making this great pizza, it tastes a million times better when you let the crust cool and dry out and recooking it with your toppings on it. Trust Me! This is absolutely a life saver recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arlyssa-harris May 12, 2016

I've given up on wheat 'replacement' type recipes for the most part because they tend to be just weird. So I've taken to just eating the toppings off of regular pizza & leaving the crust when I wanted a pizza fix. Well with this recipe I've finally found my holy grail LC pizza recipe. This is the bomb!!! Made just as the recipe is written, the bottom of the crust is crunchy & not at all that weird "eggy" thing. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you for posting this!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marypatlaver October 29, 2015

If I could give this 10 stars, I would! My husband and I have recently gone low carb. Well perhaps I should say I have and I'm dragging him with me kicking and screaming. I've had my share of low carb failures (OK, my share and many more), but this one is not one of them. My husband said "DON'T lose this recipe"! It doesn't taste low carb or "eggy" the way many of the recipes do, while you can't exactly pick it up to eat it, you only need a fork. It is SO good. Mercy, thank you so very much for listing it here! The only thing I did differently was to add additional cheese to the top but even without the extra cheese, it's still 10 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindawade September 21, 2014

Amazing! Topped with Italian sausage, pepperoni, onions, green peppers & mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lzimmermann February 09, 2014

This recipe is awesome my whole family loved it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janettepalafox_13053353 August 25, 2013
Low Carb Deep Dish Pizza