12 Reviews

My two daughters made this cheesecake for my birthday. It was the best cheesecake I ever had. Instead of using 12 oz of the sugar free dark delite chocolate, they used 9 oz of sugar free Hershey's Special Dark. I've never had the "real" Govida chocolate cheesecake, but if someone told me that my cake was the real thing, I wouldn't doubt it for a second. The only down side is, my daughters and I ate the entire cheesecake in two days.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan29nj February 10, 2013

Delicious! I added a nut crust of 1-3/4 cups of finely chopped walnuts and pecans, mixed with 3 tablespoons melted butter. Press mixture onto bottom and sides of springform pan. I baked it for 15 minutes, let it cool, then added cheese mixture. It adds to the calories and fat but still remains low-carb. Also replaced some of the SF chocolate with 1 bar of 70% Lindt dark chocolate just in case the sugar free chocolate might cause me some digestive issues. Loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauracp57 January 10, 2015

This is very dark and rich. I used 12 oz. of Hershey's Special Dark Sugar Free chocolate. It's like a cross between a truffle filling and fudge. Very rich. I'd make changes to the recipe before making it again - especially to use less chocolate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson July 17, 2009

My low carb lovin' husband gave this one 5 stars! I'm a carb lover and thought it was more of a 4 star - but it was his birthday so we went with 5! We used a crust that I made out of sugar free (splenda) chocolate cookies and ground up pecans and butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Licious March 19, 2008

The best low carb dessert ever! It was so rich and creamy, loved the subtle coffee flavor. I only had 9 ounces of chocolate but it still turned out wonderfully. I will make this again, perhaps with a nut crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel S. #2 March 05, 2007

Yum, what a great cheesecake, I made as directed and loved the rich chocolate. I used 1/2 cup of splenda in place of 27 packets, turned out perfect. Thank you for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio April 15, 2005

Delicious!! I used Hershey's sugar free chocolate and I added "lite" cherry topping to even out the rich chocolate. Absolute Heaven!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Heath September 23, 2003

I've made this 3 times and each time it falls to an inch thick. Followed every detail.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanderroestk January 03, 2015

I made this as a diabetic dessert for Easter brunch to unanimous appreciation. As per the suggestion of previous reviews, I reduced the chocolate to 8 ounces of Hershey's sugar free chocolate chunks, and 1 cup of Splenda, and being lazy (and in a hurry) I mixed everything in a food processor, but baked as directed...couldn't have been easier. To serve, I put chocolate Cool Whip on top, and provided strawberry sauce (#88465) for those who wanted to gild the lily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo April 16, 2006

This was absolutely delicious!! Pretty easy to put together, and wonderfully rich. The only thing I would do different next time is add less brewed coffee- the coffee taste overpowered the chocolate taste at times. All in all- an amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cntrymoon2 July 27, 2004
low-carb copycat godiva chocolate cheesecake!