Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Carb Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Chili

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2013

      The spices are spot on! Don't change them until you've at least tried them as listed in the ingredients. I used garlic powder instead of fresh cloves. I also added a can of Rotel tomatoes for more flavor and bulk. I used over 8 ounces of fresh mushrooms which I roughly chopped. They seem to melt away, yet they added to the over all richness of the chili. I simmered the chili for just two hours and that seemed more than adequate.<br/><br/>10/08/13 UPDATE: There's a YouTube demo of this recipe being prepared. The chili came out great. Here's the link: http://youtu.be/SQ199_dSCNY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This chili recipe rocks! I made this to top hot dogs for lunch as I was having a craving and it hit the spot. The only change I made was to add diced jalapenos for some heat. This was delicious. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      I made this for my husband when he was on a low-carb diet. I couldn't stop eating it myself. I did not add the cinnamon and used fresh mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Loved this, cant wait to finish it tomorrow! I halved the recipe and used 2 garlic cloves, omitted the chili powder, red pepper and allspice (didn't have any of this) - I also used extra onions. Thought it was runny and not very flavorful...UNTIL...I took the lid of the pot and it simmered nearly 2.5 hours...was thicker, and so much flavor! had alot of heat without the items I omitted, so glad I did. I actually used ground turkey. very yummy. Made 4 cups at. each 2 cup serving was about 336 calories and 6 carbs...sweet!!!!! (2 cups and a moch cornbread muffin filled me up!!!) thanks...great chili..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      I made it half ground beef, half ground chicken (1 lb each) and used fresh baby bellas chopped up

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      I did not let it set for 3 hours! I like the spices mix! To lower the calories I added in more water and a pound of meat instead of 2 pounds. My calorie count for lean meat and all the other ingredients was 245 for 2 and 1/4 cups pers person, 5 of us! Thanks for SHARING!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      My wife was kind enough to make this for me tonight and it was awesome. You can definitely taste the cinnamon, but it's not strong or overpowering. The combination of spices really come together and I had 2 bowls. Leftovers tomorrow!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I followed the recipe exactly and put it in my crockpot on low all day. The spiciness was perfect for me but I'm still on the fence about the cinnamon. I don't think it would be the same without it but I think next time I'll do 1/2 teaspoon instead. I also used nearly three pounds of hamburger since that's how much was in my package. Great for Atkins induction phase.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I substituted turkey for beef in this marvelous chili and both my fiance and I LOVE it. The combination of spices definitely makes this recipe so good. I've made it about 5 times now and we keep loving it. If you're on a low carb diet, this is definitely a nice break from the same old heavy meat based meals and the mushrooms bring in some good fiber!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Loved this recipe! Even my fussy husband said I could make it again. I tried the stewing beef with fresh mushrooms and kept the rest of the recipe as is. I browned the beef, threw everything in the crockpot and had a delicious meal waiting for us when we got home. For those who end up making two meals .... one no carb and one with carbs for the rest of the family this recipe goes great over rice, or add heated beans to the bowls as you are serving. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I love this chili! I did change some things. I bought Morningstar Recipe Crumbles to use instead of the 2lbs of ground beef (I'm a vegetarian) and it was delicious. I used two bags. Also, I left out the bay leaves and green pepper which I think improved the taste (personal opinion of course!) It's hard being a low-carb vegetarian so I'm crazy about this recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      in the interest of being fair I'm giving this a med score, I haven't made it yet but for all those who are missing the beans in your low carb chili, you can go to a health food store near you and pick up some black soy beans, they are low carb and high in fiber. I will be trying out this recipe in a day or two and I will be adding some in mine, like you, its just not chili without the beans

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I made this for my boyfriend (omitted the cinnamon), and I guess it's OK if you're on a strict low-carb diet, but it really seemed like meat sauce for pasta instead of chili. He didn't eat the leftovers. I wouldn't recommend it or make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Really, really good! I did not add the mushrooms or green peppers. I used ground turkey and just a couple of dashes of cinnamon. Sorry, I did not serve this as low carb, I put rice on the bottom of the bowl and garnished it with cheese and green onions. This is my new chili recipe. PERFECT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Wow! I tried it and I like it and so did my husband who is the real low carb dieter. He is diabetic. I used the extra lean ground sirloin,added 2ozs jalepeno's diced, 1/4 C. Merlot,omited the mushrooms and Yummy! It's all gone.....lol! It's a keeper and Thank You very much! We will enjoy it on a reg. basis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Loved this, made me forget I was on low carb diet. Almost.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Yum I love it! I added a cup of lentils to make it more hearty and increase the protein. Didn't add mushrooms. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      pretty delicious. I added some steak and corn. not much more in the way of carbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      I've been doing a low carb diet and my co-workers decided to do a chili cook-off. I made this recipe & it was a hit!! I used one carton of fresh sliced mushrooms and sautéed them for just a bit instead of buying canned ones - it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      Wow...this is a really great. Even if you are not on a LC diet, you will surely appreciate this tasty dish. I honestly had doubts when putting in the mushrooms, allspice and cinnamon, but not anymore! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.0
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    55%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 871.2 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes