86 Reviews

I really enjoyed these as a no carb breakfast. Today, I am adding spinach and garlic powder.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elaina.thiemann January 19, 2010

Mercy, these are SO good! Thanks for posting them! I made them with 1lb sausage and about 2lbs ground beef, and instead of the onion flakes and pepper I used 2Tbsp of 3 Onion Dip Mix (by Epicure Selections) and 3Tbsp of ground Flax. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheSarneys January 13, 2009

Scotch eggs are delicious dipped in a spicy mustard, and can be eaten hot, at room temp, or cold. Yummy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockamama September 09, 2012

9/13/2009: I made up a batch of these this morning. Usually when a recipe indicates it makes 48, I get a much lower amount. Not true with this recipe -- I made up 70 sausage balls! As suggested by another reviewer, I used italian sausage (half hot, half mild) rather plain pork sausage, and that gives them a nice spicy kick. EDITED TO ADD: DH just tried one of these balls, and thinks they are great for more than just breakfast. He thinks they would be great for dinner (spaghetti and meatballs) using Dreamfields low-carb spaghetti. 1/7/10 UPDATE: Made this again, adding 1 cup TVP (rehydrated in 7/8 cup chicken broth) for added fiber. They turned out great!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( January 07, 2010

I've been low carb-ing....lost 30lbs in less than 3 months. These meatballs are great. I wrap them up in threes and freeze. It takes less than a minute to microwave and I have a breakfast that smells great, is FAST, and holds me over for a few hours. I'm making them today but I've bought good quality low fat sausage, very low fat beef, omega-eggs, and non-fat cheddar. Should bring the calories down. {-;

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qm1441 July 03, 2008

I signed up as a member just to review this recipe. I have been doing low carbs for many years and am always looking for new recipes. I rarely find a delicious low carb recipe that I haven't tried, but this is one of them! I used fresh red diced onion instead of dried and added some minced garlic, but otherwise I followed the recipe. I wrapped in 3's in parchment paper then stored them all in a large Ziploc in the freezer. It is so easy to just grab a bunch and microwave right in the parchment paper for a (VERY) quick on-the-go breakfast! It does get greasy so you have to be a little cautious of grease dripping out of the parchment wrapping when retrieving from the microwave, but no biggie as long as you're careful. I am so addicted to these! Thank you for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissKayteeMarie November 27, 2013

Loved these! What a nice change from the normal breakfast...hubby can heat them up and hit the road...I used hot Jimmy Dean's sausage...added a nice touch of heat and flavor to the meatballs...I cut the recipe in half only because I wanted to make sure we really liked them before making a huge batch...I can't wait to try different sausage meats...and changing the cheese...thanks for posting it! =)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 09, 2013

These are excellent!! I used hot sausage, as suggested by another reviewer, and just a smidge of creole seasoning (followed the rest of the recipe) and they came out so good!! I made balls out of most of them and patties out of a few. Will be making these often! Made these again using pepper jack cheese - Oh man!! So good!!!! Thanks for posting! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve September 26, 2009

Wonderful!! I used finely chopped minced fresh onion and 1 extra egg. Thanks, Mercy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m0m September 01, 2004

Perfect idea for low carb breakfast or snack. Used one additional egg, and following other suggestions added garlic, cooked spinach (well-drained), and ground flax. So glad to find a delicious addtition to add to rotation of chile relleno muffins and flax cereal for breakfast at work. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug August 18, 2013
Low Carb Breakfast Balls