16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A diamond (or at least ruby), but VERY rough. First: I do not think this needs any cheese, certainly no cheddar. And you can use any ground poultry or sausage instead of beef.

Directions for cooking the squash are too vague AND too complex. IGNORE STEPS 6-9 AND 12. Here's what you do instead: Use a 3.5 to 4 pound spaghetti squash. When you first walk in the kitchen, puncture it 4 times with a small but sturdy knife (careful wiggling it out), and stick it straight on the oven rack at 375-400. It will be done in around an hour, while you do steps 2-4 and maybe other tasks.

I also recommend in Step 11 that you (A) give the strands a few snips with kitchen shears right in the bowl/pan ; and (B) save out a small container of the squash for another use, until you decide if you want/need it all in this casserole.

There -- probably worth re-posting the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie H. November 18, 2010

This is a good recipe. I would have liked to have a solid measurement for spaghetti squash, as "large" can really be relative. I cooked a few squash just to be sure to have enough to mix in. I added mushrooms in place of celery.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear November 06, 2010

This is absolutely delicious and I'm SO glad you posted it! We sometimes grow spaghetti squash in our garden and thus have tried several recipes using spaghetti squash. This is, by far, the best one yet! Thanks!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes October 23, 2010

Quick, easy & very tasty. I've been on a squash kick lately & especially love spaghetti squash incorporated into easy everyday meals. Increased the beef 1/4 lb & 1 more garlic clove. I'm not a fan of microwave cooking so I did squash in oven @ 375 F for 30-40 mins instead. I only had 1/2 squash which still worked ok but I think I'd prefer as it's written. Great low carb recipe, thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 August 23, 2009

This is almost identical to my recipe for Spaghetti Squash on this site. The easiest way to make it---- use your USUAL recipe for spaghetti sauce, BUT instead of tomato sauce, add a can of diced tomatoes. Then, mix the shredded spaghetti squash into the runny sauce and pour it back into the shells. Top with cheese and back.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momjan March 08, 2011

I made some changes and combined 2 recipes - but used this as a base. It was DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramsey_penegar September 19, 2009

If following the recipe, the best you can hope for is a VERY, VERY bland meal. I added extra garlic, a bunch of salt, and crushed red pepper in hope to add flavor. It STILL didn't have any. I could probably take the basics of this recipe and completely rewrite it, but the effort isn't worth it. Skip this. Try something else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan F. January 20, 2015

I agree with above on needing better squash directions. I also used ground turkey instead of beef, which doesn't have a lot of flavor, so I added some taco seasoning, taco sauce, and mexican mix cheese. Husband loved it and didn't question what that funny spaghetti was! Great way to get a lot of veggies in!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Callahan November 12, 2014

This was a great recipe. My family has diabetic/low carb needs, and this certainly added a little variety to an otherwise very dull selection due to restrictions. The only thing I might suggest, is that you cook the squash ahead of time, versus cooking it as part of the the recipe timing. It is very hot and unmanageable when you are in the middle of preparing the meal for baking. I gave this a 5-star rating because I appreciate a thoughtful, tasty recipe that caters to the needs of diet restrictions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyandscot November 11, 2014

Very yummy. Hubby loved it. We are vegetarian, so I used meat-substitute crumbles instead of beef. Still tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsmperkins October 23, 2011
Low Carb Beef and Cheesy Spaghetti Squash Bake!