Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Low Calorie yet Delicious Chicken and Baby Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Calorie yet Delicious Chicken and Baby Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2009

      This is such a fabulous recipe! I have been searching for it for 20 years, since R. Simmons had a cooking show. I first made it when I was dieting to lose the baby weight from my first child. I want to make it for my grown kids now. Please post more of his recipes if you have them. Thanks sooo much Holly!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Fantastic low fat chicken and dumplings!! i made this so many times this past winter. i roll out the dumplings into a rectangle and then use my pizza cutter to cut them into squares. Lovely. Of course, they're not exactly like full fat dumplings, but for being so low fat, they're AMAZING. Thanks for such a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      This is a really good low fat chicken and dumplings recipe. I loved how many veggies are in this; what an easy way to get my kids to eat more vegetables! I used fat free vegetable broth to poach the chicken (thinking it would infuse a little more flavor), and whole wheat pastry flour to make the dumplings (because it is all I have). I found that this made 4 very hearty servings, and I calculated them to be 7 WW points a piece. Filling and tasty; this is good basic comfort food, done healthfully.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Very good. Tastes just like my chicken noodle soup except the dumplings. They are delicious. I will make this again. Second round on this and still loved it. Only this is I think I will not make this thick and I will add double or triple the broth(homemade and store bought combined). Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      This was bad had to throw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      This was easy, pretty quick, and tasty. I did not think the dumplings were as good as I was expecting. I did not use fresh parsley. I would use less flour as a thickener. We really liked the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was delicious! Thanks hollygollygee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Excellent !!! My DH loves chicken and dumplings. He's on a low fat diet, so this fit the bill. Easy and delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      1/6/09 Made this for dinner. It was deeelicious. I made the dumplings a little larger than a teaspoon size.. I should have also increased the cooking time for them.. Most turned out great but a couple were not cooked completley... my fault.. not the recipe.. I too felt it needed just a tad more salt but that was easily corrected at the table. I will definitley hold on to this and make it again.. thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This was great. I did use can carrots that were leftover and celery instead of leeks.Don't like mushrooms so skipped them Also added about 1/2 tea. garlic powder to chicken broth. Didn't have poultry seasoning so used crushed rosemary in it's place. I think it will be better even the second day cause it thickens more as it cools. It's yummy, thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I thought this was a wonderful version of Chicken and Dumplings! I used your instructions for poaching the chicken while I chopped and it was perfect. I poached the chicken in Ultimate Browned Vegetable Stock and the result was a rich and flavorful broth that really made a spectacular setting for the chicken and dumplings. Thanks hollygollygee! PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Delicious! Even my Southern raised husband loved it. I didn't have carrots, so I ommitted them, other than that, I made as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Pretty darn good! This needed a little salt and pepper but otherwise make it just as written. Healthy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      WOW was this good! It reminded me of dishes my Grandma used to make for us. But the poultry seasoning made the dumplings better than Grandma's.! Can't wait to make it again! We got a lot more than 4 servings out of it though! THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Calorie yet Delicious Chicken and Baby Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (474 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.4
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    13%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 620.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites