8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I rated this a 5, hubby a 3, so we will meet in the middle. For next to NO calories and plenty of flavor. . .this is a great dressing for those dieting. I ate it on a salad of romaine, green pepper, celery, and cucumber (green salad I guess) and it was perfect. I did add extra vinegar as well as fresh herbs from the garden (basil, parsley, oregano and chives). I enjoyed it! I think you could do a buffalo chicken salad with if you added hot sauce and served it over a lettuce salad with chicken, celery and blue cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride October 09, 2012

This is a great salad dressing recipe ~ nice and savory. Like one of the other reviewers, I used regular tomato sauce and left out the salt. I also did not use tarragon vinegar as I didn't want to spend the money for it since I probably wouldn't use it again. Just used red wine vinegar. Thanks for posting this Kate. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft September 30, 2009

This is a really good salad dressing...very colorful on the greens. I used regular tomato sauce, because that was what I had. So I left the salt out and only used 3/4 tsp worcestershire sauce. It was still very good. I used it on spinach salad with mushrooms, red bell peppers and purple onions. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 30, 2008

This is a very flavorful dressing. I used regular tomato sauce and omitted the salt. I also used red wine vinegar and dried tarragon. This is a great homemade dressing, and leaves out the need to add tomatoes to a salad. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu August 18, 2008

This was a quick recipe that I made up in the am then enjoyed it for lunch! It was very flavorful!! I will be making this again... Made for phot tag 08' Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my3beachbabes August 18, 2008

I'd call this recipe an oldie but goodie! Made this for a veg*n recipe swap, and unless you're careful not to use worcestershire sauce that has no anchovies, you won't be eating a veg*n salad. However, there are veg*n worcestershire sauces available. I made this with a regular can of tomato sauce and used half the salt. Instead of onion juice I used some dried onion flakes I had available, and I substituted tarragon vinegar with red wine vinegar but added some additional dried tarragon. I wish I had ready access to fresh herbs (like Rita), but this turned out fine as is. I also appreciated the low-calorie aspect of this dressing that doesn't sacrifice taste! BF liked it too. I served it on top of a simple romaine and radicchio salad. Thanks Kate!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend August 04, 2008

Loved the frershness and te low fat in this dressing. I used 8 ounces of fresh garden plum tomatoes to keep the sodium low. Love fresh herbs so that is what I opted for using basil, dill and tarragon and added 1 tablespoon fresh oil. Didn`t add the salt because the sodium is high in the Worcestershire sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 03, 2008

I love tomato-based salad dressings and this one did not disappoint. That fact that it is low calorie, without knowing by taste, is a bonus! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 27, 2008
Low Calorie Tomato Herb Salad Dressing