10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was tasty. I didn't use frozen spinach though, since all I had was fresh. I halved the recipe and used about a cup full of fresh leaves and a bit of garlic powder. I'll make this again. It made a wonderful lite lunch with a few crackers. Thank you! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VickyJ February 24, 2008

Very tasty for something so simple. I too used fresh spinach as I had a bag in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar February 02, 2015

Great soup for a diet, I like it straight, but as a experimenter, I added various ingredients to each separate bowl I ate. Bragg's Spy, White Pepper, Lime Juice & Red Vinegar. The soy was the best addition for flavor, the Lime Juice & Vinegar not so much. I also had some left over Broccoli which was a good idea for extra nutrition.<br/>This would be a great inexpensive soup for a caterer to add to the menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodnchance January 10, 2014

i twisted the recipe a bit , sauteed mushroom w/ diced fresh onion and garlic and boiled spinach separately. Through spinach w/ powered chicken broth and added the mushroom w/o all the onion&garlic. topped it off w/ some lemon n fresh parley. yuuummmm it was amazing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcn1328 October 01, 2011

This was a great tasting soup, I was surprised by the other reviews that didn't like it. I used Portabella mushroom, fresh spinach (cut into 1/4 inch strips) and fresh grated parmesan. I double the batch and glad I did. I think I will add Cannellini beans to it tomorrow for a variation. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H April 08, 2011

Great for the calorie count! I added some chopped garlic because I'm fighting a cold and used fresh spinach because that's what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ophirmom January 25, 2011

This soup was wonderful and so simple to make. I used 2 heaping cups of mini bella mushrooms and 2 heaping cups of fresh spinach. I don't think it would be as good with frozen spinach. I thought maybe I would add some seasoning but it didn't need anything else. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjshakalaka January 06, 2011

I had HIGH expectations for this recipe. So much so that I went ahead and made a double batch right from the start! But I almost gave this recipe 1 star because after I completed cooking it...it was just like a big pan-load of "grass". Maybe it was the consistency that "underwhelmed" me. And I love spinach! So JUST before I dumped all of my wasted ingredients down the garbage disposal...I decided to take a seperate little bowl and add 2 TBS of sour cream to it. And do you know what? It saved my "pot of soup" from certain death! It was pretty darn good with the sour cream in it, so I added 2 pints of sour cream (because I doubled the recipe) to the rest of the soup and then pureed it in a blender to help with the "soggy grass" consistency. It worked! Now the soup is edible and even TASTY! I used light sour cream and mine made 12 (1 cup) servings. Each had only 112 calories and 5g of fat per serving. I may or may not make this again, but if I do...I'm adding sour cream. It's also yummy with fat free croutons in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo July 27, 2007

Great recipe! I added cubes of silken tofu and sliced scallions- delicious! And so quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica45730 July 16, 2007

This soup was excellent. Just 4 ingredients and one ends up with a buttery rich tasting soup. I didn't add any seasoning because it didn't need it. I used fresh spinach. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blakesle July 09, 2007
Low Calorie Spinach & Mushroom Wedding Soup