24 Reviews

The sauce is delicious! I made this recipe twice. I used 3/4 inch boneless loin chops, seared 2 minutes each side. The first time I braised for 45 minutes and the second time for 30 minutes. Both times the chops were overcooked and dry. Does anyone have any suggestions?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pbalb September 13, 2015

Delicious! I've been braising pork chops for almost 30 years and it's one of the best ways to cook them. I don't intentionally purchase thin pork chops but I don't buy the thick ones either. Look for the "center cut" pork chops with the bone in. I've never had a problem with them being dry. I usually don't bother trimming the fat off since there's not much of it. I lightly brown the pork chops before adding the sauce. If you overdo it on the browning they will be dry. I don't double the sauce since it has a pretty strong flavor to me; a little goes a long way. Make sure you cover the pan with the lid to keep moisture in (no gap for venting). After I add the sauce I turn it down low to simmer. If you're worried they might dry out you can cook them for less time. I only cooked them for 50 minutes tonight and they were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol T. July 09, 2015

Made the recipe exactly as written. Your chops will turn to dry sawdust. But the sauce is quite delicious. This would work with a less-lean cut of pork. Maybe a pork tenderloin browned on both sides, then braised for a total of 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Osborne December 21, 2014

I think the previous reviews must be duds, as I do not understand how this recipe gets 4-5 stars. I would not cook it again it is certainly nothing special, in fact totally boring. Don't waste your time or ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seascape November 05, 2013

this was a decent dish, however they were very dry. the next time i intend to use an instant read thermometer and only cook till done, 140 degrees internally.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattisue62 December 07, 2012

This is very good. I did thin the pork chops. Served with green beans and pastaroni. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado June 13, 2012

Made exactly as stated ... DH gave it a 4, I gave it a 2 so compromised and gave it a 3. That said, this is not a recipe I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker February 03, 2011

These chops definitely merit 5 stars - 1* for ease, 2* for having all ingredients on hand, 3* for moistness, 4* for flavor, and 5* for tenderness. My family loved them! I did add less sugar due to personal preference. I also flipped the chops over during the cooking so that each side was bathed in the yummy sauce. We thickened the sauce and served it over parsleyed egg noodles with sides of steamed green beans and applesauce. (Not your typical meat-n-three from middle Tennessee but nevertheless good eating!) Thanks Mama Schmid for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast September 02, 2010

I made this dish tonight and we were all swooning! It is truly delicious and very easy to prepare. I used 1" thick chops and followed another writers comments, using both Worcestershire and soy sauce. I used a bit less sugar (matter of personal taste) and doubled up on the sauce, which was outstanding over mashed potatoes and spooned over the chops. YUM! I will most definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvitalo April 26, 2010

We all really enjoyed this tonight, however it was really sweet so I will cut the sugar in half next time and add a little more Dijon. Ours turned out super moist and tender. I also doubled the sauce and used the Worcestershire rather than soy sauce.. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedHeadToToe February 03, 2010
Loveless Cafe's Braised Pork Chops