14 Reviews

After seeing all the rave reviews, I had to try this. I used lots of dried onion flakes with the peanut butter and tried to mix as best I could without making the burgers tough. Plenty of kosher salt and coarse black pepper, but left out the garlic. Added my own homemade BBQ sauce once while cooking and then more for a topping. Tomato, pickles, pickled onions and a toasted bun. Delicious!! Would give more stars if I could. My husband loved these too and was surprised by the special ingredient. Thanks for posting!! It's a winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 07, 2015

Please, please, please be careful. Peanut allergies are on the rise, especially in young kids. I know that hiding the peanut butter and making them guess the secret ingredient sounds like fun, but it would mean a minimum of a shot and emergency room visit for my peanut allergic daughter. I haven't tried this burger but I'm sure it's amazing and so I'm giving it a good review, but please, don't hide peanuts and peanut butter from people! There are just too many people allergic to it, and a reaction can often mean death. That doesn't sound like a fun surprise to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
em2323_10273040 August 28, 2013

So there were a LOT of modifications enacted (no onions, no BBQ, no bacon, no slaw, no mustard, added an egg for texture) but these burgers were still SOOOOO TASTY! They were crazy tender, and I used hoisin sauce on top instead of barbecue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cannonmonkey December 04, 2011

Wow! I'm so glad I took the plunge and tried this recipe because the burgers were fantastic. I am sad though because I didn't really taste any of the peanut butter (maybe we just need more next time ;)) but the burgers were really juicy and I'm surprised how well they held together. I forgot to brush them with barbecue sauce but I definitely will next time! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu January 28, 2008

Made these at the pool yesterday for the fam and everyone loved them!! No one cuold guess the secret ingredient and they couldn't believe it was peanut butter when I told them! Made with groud turkey and worked out reat! Can't wait to make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DinnerDiva in OK July 08, 2007

Hey...pretty clever with the peanut butter - it caught my eye!! I don't eat ground meat so I used a TSP "Lite Life" product and used soy "fakes" instead of bacon...I tried to include all the rest to not totally butcher Wildflour's recipe idea. I did make one other small change...in addition to the coleslaw, I used sliced cabbage to give my burger EXTRA crunch. I loved the hint of nut...as a kid I often ate peanut butter and cheese sandwiches so I had a feeling I would enjoy this!! I used provolone cheese served the burgers on low cal/low carb whole wheat bread because that's what I had at hand. Thanks for sharing this for the ZWT3 game...I loved this "Love-Me- Tender Nut Burger"!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free July 06, 2007

We LOVED this burger! I did note a hint of the nut flavour after it was grilled, and it reminded me of a sort of sesame flavouring, quite delicious! I never would have thought to put peanut butter in ground beef mix, but the outcome was a juicy, tender burger. The addition of the coleslaw was ingenious too. I will be doing this one again, but next time for friends! :) Thanks for posting! Made for my 1st Class Nuts Friends for the ZWT 3 ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ June 20, 2007

These were just AWSOME! I made them with 98% lean ground turkey breast and reduced fat PB. The flavor was wonderful and it stayed together great on the grill. I used turkey bacon and my homemade slaw. I ate the slaw on the burger and the flavor was great. DH liked the burger without the slaw better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally June 14, 2007

This was a nice burger. I added onion in the meat mixture as well as on top. I was a bit disappointed that the peanut flavour wasn't that apparent in the finished product. I don't think it really needed the coleslaw either but all in all a nice mid week dinner for us. Thanks, for ZWT III

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 14, 2007

This was definately an interesting burger!!! I liked the peanut butter in it. Next time I would leave the cole slaw out..to me it was too much with the cheese, barbeque sauce, bacon, tomatoes, onions, then to pile that on top. Sort of hard to taste the actual burger. Good though. Made for ZWT 07

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping June 13, 2007
Love-Me-Tender Nut Burgers!