8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After searching an hour, again, for this recipe that I thought I had not only saved but reviewed, I am delighted to have refound it!!! I used the last drop of my previous batch this morning and promptly wanted to make a 2nd batch. This honey is SO good, so delightful and rich in flavours! I use it in tea, smoothies, on waffles and pancakes and sometimes just a "spoonful" right on a spoon! I poured mine right back into the wee Honey Bear container that it came in so it was super easy to use; the spices did NOT clog up the opening! Also, this time I'm doubling the amount of lemon peel so it's more pronounced. Excellent, simple recipe, great for your own use and as gifts.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef April 13, 2010

Just put it together and now have to wait... Will update in 3 weeks how it turned out! It already smells heavenly. Update 03/06/2010: DH couldn't resist and tried the honey already. It does not only smell heavenly, it tastes heavenly. Will make this for ourselves and as a gift often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany March 06, 2010

This is an excellent treat! I made it before Christmas and gifted most of it out except one little jar. Everyone now wants more and they want the recipe! I put all the ingredients in jars, adding slightly more cardamon and poured the honey over. Hmmm, the smell! Then added the lids, tightened, then gave each jar a good little shake, then heated each jar in a saucepan of very hot water, just to kick start the seasoning process. Stir a little spoon of this into your tea and you will be transported to heaven. Thank you so much for this recipe, it is just fabulous. BB

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barefoot Beachcomber January 10, 2010

Thanks to @ngdarlen, I found this recipe just in time to make for Christimas gifts this year. I have lots of diabetics in my family & this turns out to be a beautiful & useful gift. I loved the look of this recipe because it was so easy to make; no canning. Well, DH & I accidentally bought jars that don't have screw on lids, but actual canning lids so I felt obligated to can them. I winged it according to simple directions on the jar box & using a non-stick dutch oven for a boiling water bath, I successfully canned my first ever food! NOW, I'm hooked! I've always wanted to learn how but was so afraid of the process. Now I'm excited! This honey tastes so amazing, just after 2 days (I made one jar for me that wasn't canned), I can't wait to try it at Christmas & see how my family likes it too! Thanks for posting this recipe, Angie! :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** November 26, 2009

Very Lovely. Made this for a gift for my tea loving aunt, and I know she will be thrilled with it.Also kept one for myself, as I doubled the recipe. So darn easy and it makes a very pretty gift in a jar. Thanks Angie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen November 18, 2005

I am making this for Christmas gifts for a few people. Found this bcz of Swedish Chef. Have all the ingredients (including raw honey). Very easy and can't wait till they try it. I will update with stars (if I don't forget!) after Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead December 12, 2010

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I left out the lemon rind. I also used 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract since I could not find vanilla beans. I did add a pinch of cardamom, too. I like to eat it straight from the jar! Devine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott February 28, 2010

I put this together on the first of this year and will update the first of next month. I just remembered to update, lol. The whole family just loved this especially on buttered toast. I especially liked what the cloves did to the honey. TFS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive February 19, 2010
Love Honey