Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Louisiana Swamp Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Louisiana Swamp Burger

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2014

      We really liked these burgers. As others have mentioned, it seemed like too much meat for only two servings. We made six burgers, to serve three people, and it was just right. I especially liked the sauteed mushrooms and onions on top. Definitely a do-over recipe for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Gotta give props to a fellow Louisianian (I'm from Baton Rouge)! The gravy reminds me of a roast beef po-boy, this makes your recipe authentic New Orleans! I would use more spice but otherwise it's a great recipe. WHO DAT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Not bad, though in the end, it is just a burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Thanks so much for posting this, GREAT!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This is a fantastic burger! A bit messy, but doesn't the name sorta imply that anyway lol. Up here in the northwest you don't run into gravy on burgers and I really loved that addition! The sauteed mushrooms and onions were also very good. I made 4 patties out of the burger and I used pepper jack instead of monteray jack cheese. I also melted the cheese onto the patties for the last minute or so in my foreman grill. We use onion buns for this and they were perfect! We topped them with lettuce and pickle as suggested and felt they went well with the rest. For the seasoning salt we actually used Mrs. Dash extra spicy blend. Served with fries for a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I have had this recipe in my "Want to Try" cookbook for a couple months. I finally tried it last night and was very pleased with the results. I have to admit that I didn't use the brown gravy though. I thought it sounded good, but the family voted against it. The sauteed onions and mushrooms on top of the burger were great. I also used colby-jack cheese. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Very good burger recipe! I also used 1 slice cheddar and 1 slice jalapeno montery jack(couldn't find plain sliced). Cooked the mushrooms and gravy separate because I wasn't sure if the DH would eat the gravy or not. He didn't put it on his burger, but ate 1/2 of mine which had the gravy on it and wished he would have on his. Very messy to eat, but the taste was worth the mess. Didn't get a chance to take a pic, because everyone was too hungry to wait for me. Made 6 burgers with just about 2lbs of meat and froze the second 3 for another dinner and we will definately be having these again soon! Thanks Molly for sharing a very tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Really good burger! but I couldn't imagine using 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef for just 2 servings! so I used 1 lb. and made 4 burgers out of it. We each ate one and I froze 2 patties for future use. I basicly followed the recipe for the rest of it except for the cheese, I only used one slice each of cheddar and jalepino monterey jack for each burger. The sauteed onion and mushrooms really was the star of this burger, after cooking them I added them to the gravy and poured them on the meat, on a whole wheat bun, they were great!! Served with sliced tomato, stone fries and dill pickle. A very tasty treat, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Louisiana Swamp Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (512 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 889.5
     
    Calories from Fat 487
    54%
    Total Fat 54.1 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 25.7 g
    128%
    Cholesterol 368.5 mg
    122%
    Sodium 584.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 86.5 g
    173%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    brown gravy mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes