Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Louisiana Sausage Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Louisiana Sausage Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2012

      I halved the recipe and used the exact ingredients. It has good spice, so if you can't stand the heat you might want to back off the pepper. My husband loved it. I don't recall him ever saying "this is REALLY" good. He actually got up and put what was left in a tupperware container. That was definitely a first and we've been married 25 yrs. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      We cut down the sausage to 12 oz, added 2 large chicken breasts (cut into 1 inch pieces) and about 12 shrimp (put these in the last 5 minutes of cooking)... it turned out great. DH said it could use more heat, even though I doubled the cayenne... next time I may add 2 serrano chilis, or find another way to increase the heat... overall, really tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I cut the recipe in half as I didn't want 10 servings. I have to admit I substituted the sausage. I used bulk breakfast sausage, like Jimmy Deans but different brand. I also altered the method. I browned the sausage then added the veges. Because I had the fat from the sausage, I reduced the butter to 1 Tbsp. I also used a whole can of tomatoes, in spite of cutting the recipe in half, as others had commented that more liquid was required and didn't want to save 1/2 the can of tomatoes. I actually had to add liquid to about double the recipe amount to get the rice done and soft. It was a great tasting recipe, (I would have preferred it to be spicier) but I got no compliments, no doubt due to the fact it took too long to get done. I'm not saving this to my "favorites" folder, but it's worth a try if you want a substitute for the boxed stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      Jambalaya doesn't need to be hot, so I omit the cayenne, but this is my go-to recipe otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      This was fantastic! I also halved the recipe. I used the whole can of diced tomatoes, since I didn't want to save half the can. I couldn't find the Serrano pepper at the store, and didn't want to buy a whole thing of cayenne pepper since I don't ever use it. Instead I added some Chipotle flavored Tabasco and it spiced it up nicely. Definitely a keeper and will make it over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      Oh so good. I followed your recipe exactly, except added more meat. We used the sausage, but added some shrimp too! We really liked this ALOT! We all thought it had a nice heat, not too overpowering, my ten year old could handle it. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, we really liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      This recipe is amazing. I make it at least once a month and have been for the past few years. The leftovers are just as good as, if not better than, the freshly made jambalaya. I make it exactly as the recipe states but do add an extra cup or so of chicken broth to thin it out (personal preference). Definitely a five-star recipe. Thanks Grace Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I thought this was fantastic-my Dh said it was too spicy. I am enjoying the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      I used this recipe for inspiration tonight. I didn't have green pepper or any other peppers so I left them out. I halved the recipe but did use a whole box of chicken stock and a quart of homemade tomatoes. I used chili pepper instead of cayenne. I added all but the rice to the crock pot and let cook for a few hours. The last hour I cooked long grain rice and then added to soak up some of the juice. The only other change I made was to add one cooked chicken breast and low fat turkey sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      I needed a recipe for just sausage (no chicken or shrimp) and this one worked perfectly. I made double the amount and used a mix of Andouille chicken and Andouille pork, keeping one of each out to pan fry and use as garnish. The smell, since I used basmati rice, is unique and yumtastic.

      Even without the thyme and using chili powder instead of cayenne, it's tasty. And you can make it using brown rice, but don't add more than 1/3 extra cup of chicken broth. I added 1/2 cup extra and am having to steam away the excess liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

    • on August 07, 2011

      I love this recipe and make it quite often, at least once a month. It makes a ton of food for cheap and the leftovers are, in my opinion, better than the original dish. I do basically the same as the recipe, just up the serrano because I like the spice. So good, and so versatile if you're willing to play around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      LOVED THIS!!! Thank you so much for posting - just what I was looking for today. Wanted to use up a lb. of chicken andouille sausage - and thought rice / cajun and found this recipe. Perfect! I altered the proportions of the recipe and am writing it here - cause it was perfect for us and I'll be making this many times again! Cut the recipe to 5 servings...followed the spices but then : used 1 lb box brown rice - probably darn near 48 oz. chicken broth...whole can of crushed tomatoes, used one small onion, one leek, 3 green onions, 3 large garlic cloves, 1/2 of large green pepper, 2 celery stalks, a bit of dehydrated jalapeno (didn't have fresh chiles) - a bit of butter and a bit of spicy olive oil. This cooked on the stove a long time - maybe 1.5 - 2 hours... and I think the brown rice was what took the time and soaked up all of the chicken broth.... In these proportions, the spiciness was perfect for us. I'll be making this many many more times - as I have a bunch of the chicken sausage in the freezer! YUUMMMO. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I cut down on the butter and added a little olive oil. This was by far the best jambalaya recipe I have ever had!! Highly recommend trying it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This is an awesome recipe!! I cut it down to 5 servings and felt that it was a lot more than 5 servings, which means plenty of leftovers. I did 1/2 of a serrano pepper, only 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper and the full amount for 5 servings for the creole seasoning. I thought it was just a little too spicy for us so I think next time I'll use 1/4 of a serrano pepper and completely leave out the cayenne. I had to add some water to it as it was cooking and I used a full can of tomatoes with their juice. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, using smoked sausage. Very good and easy!!! Thanks for a great tasting recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This was delicious! We used a little more sausage, and leftover turkey and turkey stock instead of chicken. Great way to repurpose those thanksgiving leftovers! (Left out the tomatoes due to dietary restrictions)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      I grew up eating cajun food/jambalaya! This is a great recipe and has become a family favorite. I make it as the recipe states and it makes a ton!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      This is simple and scrumptious! I had to modify a bit as I didn't have serrano chili or green pepper so I used canned chilis and red pepper. We love the heat so I used a bit more cayenne and some crushed red chili pepers. The smell as it was cooking was intoxifying! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I made a half recipe of this, which made a lot. I used hot Louisiana sausage, so I cut down a bit on the cayenne pepper. I didn't have any celery, and I wanted more vegetables in the jambalaya, so I added a 16 ounce bag of frozen mixed vegetables when I added the rice. I know that's not traditional in a jambalaya, but it was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This will be my new jambalaya recipe. I used the box stuff before and this was so much better, and I felt a little better about feeding it to my family. I did not have a green pepper so I left it out and I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis, so I left out the serrano pepper, and it was plenty spicy. I also used smoked sausage. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Louisiana Sausage Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 559.1
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    46%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 63.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1250.9 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites