Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Louisiana Beans And Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Louisiana Beans And Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2002

      This is a great beans and rice dish. I did play with the seasoning some. I used 2 T. chili powder, 1 t. cayenne and doubled the cumin and oregano. Just right for me and my family's taste. I also used white rice, just because I didn't have any brown. But brown rice sounds like a good idea and will try that next time. Thanks secret.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Yummy! I made it to go on top of Spicy Rice and Kale (Spicy Rice and Kale), which I make a lot in winter. I omitted Worcestershire sauce and parsley, but otherwise made as directed. Next time, I will cut back on cayenne and chili powder, as it was a bit spicy for my sensitive mouth. I also wanted it a bit more salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      My new Favorite recipe. Excellent!!! Used canned kidney beans in place of dry, reduced the amount of water used and the time cooked. Also eliminated the worcestershire sauce. I prefer sauteing the onion and garlic to release sweetness. The spicing as written was perfect to me. Am craving this stuff several times a week. Excellent. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This was easy to make and very satisfying. Made as directed except for reducing the salt by half and omitting the parsley (didn't have any... and frankly, wasn't too sure where/when to have added it anyway, since I didn't see it specified in the directions), and loved the results *except* for the heat factor. It was a little too spicy for us, and we're people who like heat. The next time I make this, I will try reducing the cayenne by half and perhaps the chili powder by 1/3. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      It's a keeper ! I doubled and followed exactly except tor the parsley. DH loved it too. Thanks for the healthy keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was very good. I cut the cayenne to 1/2 tsp. and it was just right for my taste. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      I halved this recipe and made a few changes to the seasonings (incorporating ideas from other beans & rice recipes). I didn't use cumin and forgot the parsley, but I added thyme and a bay leaf to the mix. I added half a pound of smoked sausage and cooked it all in the crockpot, adding the tomato sauce at the end so that the acidity wouldn't lengthen the cook time for the beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      This was a hit at my house! The only change I made was to add some smoked sausage. This is a real "stick to your ribs" recipe! I felt like I was in Cajun country without the trouble of travel!!! Thanks for sharing Secret.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2004

      I made this last night for dinner becuase i was craving beans and rice. This hit the spot. I liked the recipe but found that there was not enough seasoning in it for my tastes so I added more salt and pepper at the end of cooking. I also used white rice instead of brown rice becuase that is just my prefereance. It turned out fine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Louisiana Beans And Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (530 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.4
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    65%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 644.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 100.4 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes