Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lotsa Broccoli Cheese Soup With Real Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lotsa Broccoli Cheese Soup With Real Cheese

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2010

      Loved it! I doubled the corn starch (to 4 TBS) to help thicken. Additionally, and I may be wrong here, but the recipe doesn't specifically say to bring the mixture to boil. After adding the milk, I made sure to bring the whole thing to a boil, as for some reason I have it in my head that milk doesn't thicken much unless it hits a hard boil briefly. From there, it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This was great! I was short on time, so I used a couple of frozen broccoli cauliflower mixtures(bags) and added bacon bits,half & half.I didn't use cornstarch-as the half & half thickened it with a little "Wondra" flour.The three teenage boys and husband said,mmmm.took only about 45 minutes from start to finish.Thank-you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      one of my favorites and very easy to make, muy beuno!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I just finished making this soup. It tastes wonderful, but I just could not get it to thicken. I added the 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and saw that I was having a problem so I added another 1 and 1/2 tablespoons. Still did not really do the trick...it's still quite watery. Will try again...hopefully next time I will get the great taste with the right consistency. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Love this soup! I used evaporated milk and cream of chicken soup. I also included the shredded carrot. I love how quickly this comes together. It's tasty and satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

    • on November 11, 2008

      Great soup!! It was so easy, and tasted so good. I didn't have enough cheddar, so I added a couple squares of american cheese. I also added about a teaspoon of pepper. Next time I might try adding a little bit of onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Very good soup, easy to make. It took me longer than the prep time stated, but maybe I was just not hurrying enough. I used the last of the broccoli bits left over from a couple of bags of frozen broccoli, so I didn't puree them. I used cream of chicken soup and frozen carrots. Added some pepper also. Thanks for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This had a great flavor, I'm just not fond of the way cheddar cheese melts in soup. Will try again with gruyere or maybe plain old velveeta. Love the carrot in the soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Most of the family enjoyed it. Made the recipe as is. I thought it had a canny flavor, and was a little bland. I have had better broccoli and cheese soup, but this is good for less calories, and if you are not too picky about this type of soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      love this soup! i used frozen broccoli and it was fantastic. we froze the leftovers and it was wonderful reheated as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Both cheese lovers and take-it-or-leavits at my dinner get-together loved this dish! Have already made it three times and only found it last week! I add extra cornstarch as I love a thick soup. Will add cauliflower next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      We loved it. I made it for the wife for dinner and she thought is was soooo good. It warms you up on a cold winter night. I did end up using frozen broccoli and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Great Soup! It was a bit lighter then others I had, which I really like. Added lots a pepper and a little onion salt. Overall wonderful, I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I loved it. It was so warm and comforting, and so cheesy! Thank you for a wonderful rainy day soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

    • on December 12, 2006

      We loved this. I used skim milk without incident (because it's all I have) and this was super tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      This is soooooo yummy!!! We thoroughly enjoyed it. I didn't change a thing. The cheddar cheese I had was "sharp" and it was perfect. If you like a good, rich, filling soup, try this one. You will be glad you did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I liked that this recipe was so easy, I did add some cooked diced bacon. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I'm not leaving any stars as I left out a pretty major ingredient--the creamed soup (I could have sworn I had some!!!!). I followed the recipe otherwise and still ended up with a really nice and easy dinner. Even the DH liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lotsa Broccoli Cheese Soup With Real Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.6
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    55%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 52.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1196.2 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes