Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lotion for Dry Skin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lotion for Dry Skin

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2008

      Love this! I used unscented lotions,1 bottle of each, and a 3.5 oz jar of microwave softened Vaseline. To give it a little _pizzazz_ I added about 6 drops of orange and grapefruit essential oils. I used my handheld mixer with the whip attachment to combine it all. It ended up fluffy and creamy – almost like cake frosting. ;-) I tried it in a pump bottle but it was a little too thick. Perhaps reducing the Vaseline to base lotion ratio would produce a _pump-able_ concoction. When using, a *little goes a long way* so even at a half batch, I won't need to buy Lubriderm for a good while. Thanks for sharing your "recipe"! It was a fun experiment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This stuff is awesome!! I used to buy a more expensive vitamin E cream that took forever to rub in but now that I made this when I ran out, it is all I will use. I did use vitamin E lotion because I had some in the house I wanted to use up. I followed others advise by warming the petroleum jelly and mixing it in a ziploc bag. I brought some to work and mycoworkers loved it. I love that it rubs in so smoothly and keeps my skin soft and hydrated all day without being thick and greasy. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I love this! I just made a half a batch yesterday. I used it this morning right after my shower and my skin still feels moisturized and not tight and dry feeling. I normally use Lubiderm which I do like, but even using Lubiderm, after several hours, my skin can start to feel tight and dry again. I am going to make a double batch next time. Vitamin E lotion is hard to find, but I did manage to find one jar of Vitamin E cream at my CVS store. I did as others suggested and softened the petroleum jelly in the microwave and this made mixing a lot easier. Oh, one more thing, the feet get the special treatment tonight LOL! Thanks for posting this babygirl65!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Oh, phooey on the Naysayers! This is EXACTLY what my Dr. suggested I use for my skin...YEARS ago (before petroleum jelly even came with Vitamin E... I was told to open a few capsules into the mixture and shake well) It works extremely well, it works very quickly, and I have never had an issue due to using this wonderful stuff in over 20 years of use. Slather it on, stuff your hands or feet into some clean white socks, and let it work overnight. You can also add some Arnica cream to the mix to aid swollen hands) FYI...Vick's vapor rub (which is ALSO all petroleum) does wonders for chapped lips overnight, too!(No sock needed...lol) Thank YOU for posting this terrific and inexpensive way to treat dry skin!Kudos to you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I have worked in the medical field for 25 years. I have encountered hundreds of people. Whenever I see an elderly person with soft, wrinkle free skin I asked what lotion they use and they always answer the same way; I use petroleum jelly. It is a great skin protectant and softener. I havn't used this lotion yet but I will be making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I have used this lotion many times over it is great. Everyone should be thanking babygirl65 for posting. I am a nurse and doctors prescribe petroleum jelly for extra dry skin aqll the time. If some people wqould look on a bottle of oil of olay bath soap (which on average cost $6 a bottle) they would see that petroleum is the 2nd ingredient, so before anyone downs this get the facts straight and don't try to detour people that could benefit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I will also agree with Deep regarding petroleum jelly. Why would you want to put something that starts off with Petroleum on your skin???? This product works like Saran wrap on your skin...it does not let moisture in. Since the skin is the biggest organ on your body, you are absorbing this into your system. Yes, it will soften your skin...but will it HEAL your skin? That is the question to ask!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      This is great lotion. I couldn't find vitamin e lotion, but did find the oil. I love this stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Please do not take too much of the previous posters comments to heart...almost all lotions on the market (with the exception of a specific sum) contain some form or petroleum (petrolatum etc). I can't speak for all lotions, but I've used quite a few that did my skin a lot of good and they did contain petroleum or petroleum products. Second, oxidation is not good. The process of oxidation creates free radicals and free radicals are what prematurely age the skin and the body. That is why physicians and dieticians are always pushing the comsumption of antioxidants (anti....). The most important reason to not take their post to heart is that no one formula works for everyone. Hazelnut oil might work fantastically for DEEP, but might cause my skin to break out or have an allergic reaction. A nice comment about petroleum facts might have been appreciated, but blasting your negative opinion where it's not wanted is not appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I will not rate this, as I will not try it. First, PETROLEUM, the word alone should throw up all kinds of caution flags....would you apply motor oil, or its by-products to your skin? No. Anything with mineral oil, or PETROLEUM jelly contains molecules TOO LARGE to be absorbed by your skin/pores. Hazelnut oil, is very absorbable, and has very small molecules that are excellent for absorption. Motor oils/mineral oils/PETROLEUM jellies will do nothing but clog up pores that are already starved for oxidation. Just go ahead, and "age yourself away". Just a heads up for those who would really like to research on your own the mineral oil/PETROLEUM legacy. Sorry, babygirl, but this is just bad for anyone's skin. And, please tell your "doctors" to get informed, and to please spare their patients this.....well, I'm not sure what to call it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I made this to try and gave some small samples to others. Everyone likes it. One friend has made it herself. The only change I made (which made it a litte more expensive) was to use vitamin e oil. That was all I could find at the time. This is good stuff. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      Can't say enough good things about this recipe babygirl. I made a half recipe to try it and it's great. Couldn't find Vitamin E lotion (I'm from a very small town) but got it in the vitamin aisle and then punctured the gel caps and drained them in the mixture. Also added lavender essential oil as that's a favorite of mine. End result was soft, supple skin and I use it every day. Will be adding small containers of this to my Christmas baskets for sure. Was just looking for my phota and can't find it. Will have to post that at a later time. Thanks for sharing such an easy and wonderful recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I can't say enough good things about this lotion. I've been using it several months and my skin has never been softer. I have NO MORE cracked heels, hang nails, dry elbows, etc. My fingers used to catch on fabric, but not anymore, and my skin is fabulously soft now. I used to put on hand lotion several times a day, and had a stash in my purse, the car, at every sitting place in the house, etc. Now I just use this morning and night, and only occasionally do I need another use during the day. We call it Miracle Cream around here. I love it! I use vitamin E cream instead of lotion because it's easier to find, and an 8-oz container of petroleum jelly. I do soften it a bit in the microwave first and then smoosh it all up in a Ziploc bag as another reviewer suggested. Thank you so much for this recipe - it has changed my life! (That sounds corny but it's true.) :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I have been using this lotion now for about a year after receiving it from my ARNP. It is far superior to any product I have ever purchased at a specialty store. What a great lotion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      THE BEST, bar none! I used vitamin E cream, approx 4 oz vaseline and Johnson's baby lotion. Also used the microwave & ziplock baggie method: very easy. Makes alot but everyone at work is dipping into MY lotion! I've given the recipe to all of them, but a FYI.....one gal used $1 store baby lotion and her product didnt turn out as nice as mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I made this for Christmas gifts and put into small pump bottles--and kept some for myself too. It is the best! My husband, who has REALLY dry hands, uses it all the time now. It is the only lotion that doesn't "turn into water" on his hands. I used a large vitamin e lotion jar from Walgreens rather than 2 small ones and I am keeping the jars to refill with the prepared lotion, because they are nice, large pumps and the entire top comes off for filling. I will be using this lotion at home and at work. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      Oh my god, this was awesome! I made it with Burts Bees baby lotion because I love the smell of it and don't like traditional baby lotion smells and added 4 oz of petroleum jelly. I also used vit e cream instead of lotion because that's what I had on hand, but it worked out great! I tried it on my feet first because those are the worst and they are in HEAVEN! My hands are also very happy now too. This is going to be my lotion of choice from now on. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Love this stuff. I made this for PAC fall 2006. I made it just as posted although there was no amount for the petrolium jelly. I used about 3 1/2 ounces. My hands are happy and soft :) I didn't take a picture this time..hard to photograph. Barbara

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This works very well...DH washes his hands alot during the day and always needs lotion. Great money saver & feels sooooo soft. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This is THE BEST! They didn't have the Vitamin E cream where I bought my ingredients, so I bought the Vit. E gel instead and it was still awesome! I only made a half batch (which is plenty!), My dry cracked heels looked almost completely rehydrated in only 1 day! This will be my lotion of choice from now on! Thank you so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lotion for Dry Skin

    Serving Size: 1 (850 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites