Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lotion for Dry Skin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lotion for Dry Skin

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2006

      Mine turned out so fluffy! I used 1 15-oz. bottle of store brand baby lotion, 2 jars of vitamin e cream and a 3.75 oz. container of vaseline. I found a less messy way to mix this up. I lined a large margarine tub with a gallon size zip top freezer bag, put all the ingredients in the bag, zipped it while trying to get as much air out as possible, then worked it with my hands to mix it up. then just snip (very small snip) a corner and "pipe" the lotion into whatever type container you will be storing this in. Like another reviewer, I also microwaved the vaseline to soften, plus I put the baby lotion upside down in some very hot water to make it easier to get out of the bottle. Hope this helps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Ooohhh laaa laaa! I used all the lotion like the recipe calls for, but added a 2 ounce bottle of Vitamin E Oil to the mix. I also used 4 oz. of the whipped petroleum jelly that comes in a tube. I did put the petroleum jelly in the microwave for just a few seconds to soften it up to help with mixing. This stuff is fantastic! My sister has very dry skin in the winter and normally it will take 4 to 5 applications of Eucerin before she sees an improvement. She was at my house the day I mixed this up and she took some with her. Next morning she called me to report that with just one application her dry skin was almost gone. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This is wonderful and such a great value - especially if you buy your ingredients from the Dollar store. I use it every day fresh out of the shower and sometimes mix a little "smelly" lotion with it depending on my mood of the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Between cooking and gardening, I'm always washing my hands. This lotion is great. I also zapped the petroleum jelly, also with vitamin E, and then put everything in my Kitchen Aid and whipped it until it was fluffy. I got more than a large Mason jar from the mixture. Both my Husband and I are using this mixture. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Love it, kinda been a family use for years lol, little tip for your feet, smother them in this, cover them in plastic wrap and put on your socks, leave it as long as you can stand (I sleep with them on) and then rinse, it really infuses it into hurting feet you will feel so refreshed. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This deserves 25 stars!!!! I itch so much that I tear my skin scratching. I made this recipe on Monday and within TWO days my skin is healing and is soft. I can't even begin to count the number of different lotions and creams that I've tried only to be disappointed in them all. This is truly a miracle for my skin. It lasts all day and the itching has gone away. Babygirl, I can't thank you enough for sharing this formula with the world!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      How cool is this? I'm not getting any younger- needless to say.. and am always slathering something on my "active lifestyle and unprotected" hands..and."working" on my feet with a pumice stone and creams.. Looking for the latest and greatest cheap facial cream.. so here I find this "recipe" on my morning saunter on Food.com.. <br/>I think this is subject to what you have and can find...This second version is Shea Butter and cocoa butter Johnson's creamy baby oil (tan tube)...Vaseline deep moisture creamy petroleum jelly... whatever skin lotion I have to use up.. and a bit of Safflower oil...(have on hand as a good facial oil)....I plopped in all in a screw top container and mixed it with a knife... Somehow to me it smells like bourbon... but only in the container.. not on me.. I have been using it for over a week and if anyone was to shake hands with me.. they wouldn't recognize me!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      I made it with the knock-off shea and cocoa butter baby lotion and it smells great. I like the addition of vaseline, by itself it would clog my pores. I took another reviewers suggestion and squished it in a bag, it worked but there was chunks, so next time in the blender it will go. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Love this lotion! I have made it with creamy petroleum jelly and it changes the consistancy a little bit but it is still a great lotion. Gave as Christmas presents 2011 and people still talking about it Christmas 2012. Great stuff!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      My mom got this recipe a few years ago from a friend (Tish) who is a retired physical therapist. Health care workers wash their hands many times a day and their skin gets so dry. This lotion is fabulous; not too greasy and smells wonderful! Mom can go through at least a quart of it a year. She's almost out, so guess what she's getting for Mother's Day?! BTW, we call it "Tish Creme".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I put this together about a year ago and have been using it on my face and hands. Wonderful. Making more today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I made a 1/2 batch of this and had to use Vitamin e oil because I couldn't find the lotion and maybe that's the reason this is a little greasy. I don't like it on my hands but it's great for feet and legs! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      Very good lotion, but the petroleum jelly didn't mix up well. Also, no amount given for the jelly. I put in small jars and gave as gifts, everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Sounds wonderful, cant wait to try it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      i dnt believe i havnt reviewd this yet i have whipped this up thrice now n its really wonderful .My skin is so dry n this stuff is gold i just love it and i just cant do without it i used a pink coloured baby lotion n few drops essential oil and i had a beautiful baby pink coloured lovely smelling concotion i highly recommend this !!! thank you so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      ok ladies i changed this up a bit: - 1 16oz bottle of Trader Joe's Refresh Citrus Body Lotion - 1 3.75 oz of vaseline - 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil put in glass jar and mix with a spoon. works great! thank you babygirl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Amazing!! I made this for my grandma before her first chemo treatment and couldn't be happier! It made a lot more than I'd planned on and isn't like most lotions that just dry up instantly so we'll have some around for quite awhile. Thanks a ton!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Love it! So nice and creamy and fluffy. I've been using it for 4 days now. It's great to slather over dry arms and legs after stepping out of the shower. It really keeps my skin soft. This will make lovely gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Wonder lotion! I originally planned to make this recipe for my DH who has dry/cracked hands. I have had a huge patch of very thick calloused (sp) skin on one of my elbows. I had been using Lubriderm-which didn't even touch it. I have been trying to apply this 2x a day-a.m. and before I go to bed. After the second day the area was actually getting sore-no I don't mean that being negative, the area that was under layers of thick skin was Finally getting air. This lotion penetrates! I am on my 5th day using this and the area that covered my whole elbow has been drastically shrunk, I only have a tiny area and I'm sure if I posted this on my 7th day the area will be gone. I halved this recipe. I used 2 1/4 oz. liquid vitamin E, 9 oz. baby lotion and 4 oz vaseline. Using liquid Vitamin E does pull away from the lotion and vaseline so I just shake the container.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      After chemo (3 FEC, 3 Taxotere) and radiation (x33) the area skin has become so tough. New allergies have developed and I am walking around with severe itching. Nothing would even reduce the itching so I decided to try this lotion. I'm ecstatic to report that the itching is almost gone and that, overnight, the tissue that was radiated is noticeably smoother. I did use (store) name brand items as the dollar store items are made in China (and I do not trust the ingredients), so this wasn't super cheap. It was very effective and that is what I want. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lotion for Dry Skin

    Serving Size: 1 (850 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites