Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Los Barrios Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Los Barrios Caldo De Res (Beef Soup)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2011

      Great recipe! Quite accurate, while most Mexican people don't add tomatoes to their caldo, there are some people out there who do. It really depends what region from Mexico you're from. I would suggest some minor changes to improve the flavor, like instead of using garlic powder, try some fresh minced garlic. I also mince my onion instead of quarters, that's purely to trick the people in my household who don't like onions. I add them early along with a handful of fresh cilantro in order to flavor the broth. I don't use celery, mainly because I don't like it :P I guess I could always mince it but I rather not, heh heh heh. I use chayote squash, if you can find it where you live and use small potatoes whole, instead of cutting the big potatoes to avoid a starchy soup. I don't like cabbage either. In some Mexican regions, people add plantain bananas to the soup also. It's really a very versatile soup, for you to add your veggies that are about to go expire. I sometimes add mushrooms too, just personal preference, nothing authentic about that. If you like the flavor, garnish with diced onions and fresh cilantro. Thanks for the recipe, I was just looking for the amount of heat I should been cooking in, but I thought I would rate your recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Awesome recipe. To make the soup lower in fat, I used lean stew meat instead of beef bones. I also used fresh garlic instead of powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Sorry but the real caldo de res you don%u2019t put tomatoes, garlic and bell peppers ok and when you are going to add the vegetables after the meat is done you add them all at one time and just make sure that you don%u2019t overcook them.
      Replacing the celery with cilantro and your soup will taste a lot better if you like cilantro I do it gives it a better taste than with celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      This recipe will make that some vegetables (carrots, zucchini, and celery) be overcooked and soup be lesser flavored. A more evenly cooked veggies and flavorful soup will result if the potato, corn, and cabbage are added first (cook for 15 minutes); the carrots, celery, and zucchini are added next (cook 5 more minutes); and the tomato, onion and green bell pepper, and lemon are added last (cook 5 more minutes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I love this soup! It reminds me of when I lived in Mexico. Please not that in Mexico "limon" does not mean lemon, it meas lime. I suggest you use the lime. T.J.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      First, this soup is worth every bit of effort. Second, this will make a ton, so you might want to have a few friends over to help you enjoy this when it's nice and fresh. Don't neglect the lemon, it's wonderful. I didn't have the corn, so that's the only thing I omitted. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      Hope you don't mind that I made some significant adjustments with veggies and cooking method. I have had this soup many times when eating out but never made it at home. I used lean stew meat which was browned in my French Oven with the onion and a clove or 2 of garlic. To the pot I added the celery, carrots, and cabbage. I covered the pot and placed it in my oven and slow cooked it overnight. On Christmas morning, I brought the soup to a boil tossed in 2 ears of corn that had been cut in thirds allowed this to cook for 15 minutes then added the cut squash. I realized after the fact that I had left out the tomatoes but we didn't miss them. At the end I added a touch of cayenne pepper along with salt and pepper. This was served with Vicki's Spanish Rice and lime wedges for squeezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I used a rump roast for meat and I also used Rotel for a nice little kick. Excellent on a cold winter day, r anytime you need the extra vitamins to help fend off winter diseases. ***** five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      It was a great soup. It had a wonderful clean taste, I used shank bones and sirloin steaks. The beef was so tender and the broth was flavorful. Instead of garlic powder, I added a few cloves of garlic. This recipe easily made eight to ten servings though. I am sure that everyone already knows this, but I skimmed the soup before I simmered and added all of the yummy tender veggies. I also added some cilantro. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Excellent chunky soup, flavored primarily by the beef broth and vegetables. I did add a jalapeno pepper, and a little beef base to make it richer. I served it with picante sauce for a little kick. DH said it should be rated at least a 7, so I'll add a couple extra stars here **. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Los Barrios Caldo De Res (Beef Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (787 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 973.8
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    94%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 91.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 215.2 g
    71%
    Dietary Fiber 14.0 g
    56%
    Sugars 15.6 g
    62%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef bones

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes