10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! Quite accurate, while most Mexican people don't add tomatoes to their caldo, there are some people out there who do. It really depends what region from Mexico you're from. I would suggest some minor changes to improve the flavor, like instead of using garlic powder, try some fresh minced garlic. I also mince my onion instead of quarters, that's purely to trick the people in my household who don't like onions. I add them early along with a handful of fresh cilantro in order to flavor the broth. I don't use celery, mainly because I don't like it :P I guess I could always mince it but I rather not, heh heh heh. I use chayote squash, if you can find it where you live and use small potatoes whole, instead of cutting the big potatoes to avoid a starchy soup. I don't like cabbage either. In some Mexican regions, people add plantain bananas to the soup also. It's really a very versatile soup, for you to add your veggies that are about to go expire. I sometimes add mushrooms too, just personal preference, nothing authentic about that. If you like the flavor, garnish with diced onions and fresh cilantro. Thanks for the recipe, I was just looking for the amount of heat I should been cooking in, but I thought I would rate your recipe, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby B April 14, 2011

Awesome recipe. To make the soup lower in fat, I used lean stew meat instead of beef bones. I also used fresh garlic instead of powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmhaan December 30, 2011

Sorry but the real caldo de res you don%u2019t put tomatoes, garlic and bell peppers ok and when you are going to add the vegetables after the meat is done you add them all at one time and just make sure that you don%u2019t overcook them.
Replacing the celery with cilantro and your soup will taste a lot better if you like cilantro I do it gives it a better taste than with celery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rubenjoe November 23, 2010

This recipe will make that some vegetables (carrots, zucchini, and celery) be overcooked and soup be lesser flavored. A more evenly cooked veggies and flavorful soup will result if the potato, corn, and cabbage are added first (cook for 15 minutes); the carrots, celery, and zucchini are added next (cook 5 more minutes); and the tomato, onion and green bell pepper, and lemon are added last (cook 5 more minutes).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodrigums August 13, 2007

I love this soup! It reminds me of when I lived in Mexico. Please not that in Mexico "limon" does not mean lemon, it meas lime. I suggest you use the lime. T.J.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davinandkennard July 19, 2007

First, this soup is worth every bit of effort. Second, this will make a ton, so you might want to have a few friends over to help you enjoy this when it's nice and fresh. Don't neglect the lemon, it's wonderful. I didn't have the corn, so that's the only thing I omitted. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy July 05, 2007

Hope you don't mind that I made some significant adjustments with veggies and cooking method. I have had this soup many times when eating out but never made it at home. I used lean stew meat which was browned in my French Oven with the onion and a clove or 2 of garlic. To the pot I added the celery, carrots, and cabbage. I covered the pot and placed it in my oven and slow cooked it overnight. On Christmas morning, I brought the soup to a boil tossed in 2 ears of corn that had been cut in thirds allowed this to cook for 15 minutes then added the cut squash. I realized after the fact that I had left out the tomatoes but we didn't miss them. At the end I added a touch of cayenne pepper along with salt and pepper. This was served with Vicki's Spanish Rice and lime wedges for squeezing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 26, 2006

I used a rump roast for meat and I also used Rotel for a nice little kick. Excellent on a cold winter day, r anytime you need the extra vitamins to help fend off winter diseases. ***** five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlimChezD,ElginTx December 03, 2006

It was a great soup. It had a wonderful clean taste, I used shank bones and sirloin steaks. The beef was so tender and the broth was flavorful. Instead of garlic powder, I added a few cloves of garlic. This recipe easily made eight to ten servings though. I am sure that everyone already knows this, but I skimmed the soup before I simmered and added all of the yummy tender veggies. I also added some cilantro. Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadokaRN November 14, 2006

Excellent chunky soup, flavored primarily by the beef broth and vegetables. I did add a jalapeno pepper, and a little beef base to make it richer. I served it with picante sauce for a little kick. DH said it should be rated at least a 7, so I'll add a couple extra stars here **. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan March 27, 2006
Los Barrios Caldo De Res (Beef Soup)