46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had the bright idea to make this slaw a day ahead, and it was horrible! The kale was really bitter and we had to eventually throw it all out. I hope that others will not make the same mistake I did. No stars given because I did not follow the directions of chilling for only 1 hour. The taste test right after making it was good, and I bet after the 1 hour of chilling time it would have been really good. I am sorry I let mine sit overnight.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie June 02, 2009

UH-mazing! I am so happy to find a recipe that makes raw kale delicious. I made exactly as written except for...now that I think about it I did change a few things. First of all, cut way back on cayenne (just a pinch and I still could taste it. And I like spicy!), swapping almonds for the walnuts because I prefer them, and cranberries and chopped apple. YUM! Husband and I agreed adding some salty chunks of broiled chicken would make this a delicious meal on it's own. And how else could you make these uber healthy greens taste like a treat?

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noejas January 25, 2012

I thought this was really good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I also added some spinach leaves to the mix. While I was eating it, I thought that apple would go well, so I am going to try that with the leftovers. Next time I will cut back a little bit on the cayenne. UPDATE: The leftovers were really good with some apple!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 December 07, 2011

With all those spices and raw kale, I wasn't sure what to expect from this one, but it was great! Due to allergies, I subbed toasted almonds for the walnuts, which worked fine. Give this on a try. You won't be sorry.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle November 30, 2011

I like lots of spice - the hotter the better, so I loved Lori's Kale Slaw. I quadrupled the spices, blended together in a ziplock baggie and dipped out approx. 5 teaspoons of the spice blend for each two servings of the slaw. It was a little too sweet for my taste so I cut back and amount if sugar in half.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rootster June 29, 2010

I have to say that I am baffled by the great reviews because I followed the recipe (for the spice mixture) and it was just overpoweringly spicy. I ate a serving, but the rest of my family ate one or two bites and could not eat more. I did use 1/2 and 1/2 mayo & greek yogurt and I increased the carrots. Also tossed in some dried cranberries, as someone suggested. But you couldn't really tasted any of that over the spices. I will try making this again, but decrease most of the spices to half the suggested amounts, or possibly even less in some cases (like cayenne pepper). It was disappointing, since I used the kale from this week's CSA basket to try this new recipe, and I was so looking forward to something I thought the entire family would enjoy as a change of pace from my usual sauted kale.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif February 18, 2010

Not a big "slaw" fan, but I had a lot of kale and wanted to enjoy it uncooked for a change. This is super yummy and was very easy to make. I used Apple cider vinegar and it tasted fine. Thank you for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KiDharma January 17, 2010

This is really good! I used Greek yogurt instead of mayo and used 1/4c instead of 1/2c of walnuts (chopped small) to save calories. Next time I will use less cayenne...it's just a bit too spicy for me. Dried cranberries or raisins would be awesome in it as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbendett September 07, 2009

Delicious and very easy to make. I added dried cranberries which gave a nice texture and sweet contrast to the spice. I will definitely be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Orinacay April 27, 2009

Kaboom! What a taste explosion! I was a little wary of trying raw kale, but this is really good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bowhows March 19, 2009
Lori's Kale Slaw