Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lori's Kale Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lori's Kale Slaw

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2009

      I had the bright idea to make this slaw a day ahead, and it was horrible! The kale was really bitter and we had to eventually throw it all out. I hope that others will not make the same mistake I did. No stars given because I did not follow the directions of chilling for only 1 hour. The taste test right after making it was good, and I bet after the 1 hour of chilling time it would have been really good. I am sorry I let mine sit overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      UH-mazing! I am so happy to find a recipe that makes raw kale delicious. I made exactly as written except for...now that I think about it I did change a few things. First of all, cut way back on cayenne (just a pinch and I still could taste it. And I like spicy!), swapping almonds for the walnuts because I prefer them, and cranberries and chopped apple. YUM! Husband and I agreed adding some salty chunks of broiled chicken would make this a delicious meal on it's own. And how else could you make these uber healthy greens taste like a treat?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      I thought this was really good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I also added some spinach leaves to the mix. While I was eating it, I thought that apple would go well, so I am going to try that with the leftovers. Next time I will cut back a little bit on the cayenne. UPDATE: The leftovers were really good with some apple!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      With all those spices and raw kale, I wasn't sure what to expect from this one, but it was great! Due to allergies, I subbed toasted almonds for the walnuts, which worked fine. Give this on a try. You won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I like lots of spice - the hotter the better, so I loved Lori's Kale Slaw. I quadrupled the spices, blended together in a ziplock baggie and dipped out approx. 5 teaspoons of the spice blend for each two servings of the slaw. It was a little too sweet for my taste so I cut back and amount if sugar in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I have to say that I am baffled by the great reviews because I followed the recipe (for the spice mixture) and it was just overpoweringly spicy. I ate a serving, but the rest of my family ate one or two bites and could not eat more. I did use 1/2 and 1/2 mayo & greek yogurt and I increased the carrots. Also tossed in some dried cranberries, as someone suggested. But you couldn't really tasted any of that over the spices. I will try making this again, but decrease most of the spices to half the suggested amounts, or possibly even less in some cases (like cayenne pepper). It was disappointing, since I used the kale from this week's CSA basket to try this new recipe, and I was so looking forward to something I thought the entire family would enjoy as a change of pace from my usual sauted kale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Not a big "slaw" fan, but I had a lot of kale and wanted to enjoy it uncooked for a change. This is super yummy and was very easy to make. I used Apple cider vinegar and it tasted fine. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This is really good! I used Greek yogurt instead of mayo and used 1/4c instead of 1/2c of walnuts (chopped small) to save calories. Next time I will use less cayenne...it's just a bit too spicy for me. Dried cranberries or raisins would be awesome in it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Delicious and very easy to make. I added dried cranberries which gave a nice texture and sweet contrast to the spice. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Kaboom! What a taste explosion! I was a little wary of trying raw kale, but this is really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I mix dressing and add it ss needed to salad is always "fresh and crunchy" prefer it that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Wow, talk about a workout for the spice cabinet! Great recipe, plenty of room for tweaking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      I really liked this. But it had too much mayo for my taste. I added some extra vinegar and that made it much better. I don't particularly like mayonnaise, so I should have known that 1/2 cup would be too much for my tastes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Loved this! I would reccomend using veganaise instead of mayo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      This was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This is a delicious way to eat kale! Made this last night and everyone really loved it. If you dont like your food spicy you might want to cut the cayenne in half because it is really spicy. Will make this over and over again. Thanks Lori for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe. We used lacinato kale.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was ridiculously good. I am making it for the second time this week. All my diner party guests agreed it is a winner. Even though I didn't think I would like it even after it was done, it smelled weird. But it is truly great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Fantastic use of fresh kale! I ate the whole thing by myself for dinner and lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2014

      Love it. An explosion of flavor! I substituted greek yogurt for mayo for a healthier version. Came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lori's Kale Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.1
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    64%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 389.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites