Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lori's Beef and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lori's Beef and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2011

      I made the whole recipe with specific intentions for a second meal. I served this Friday night over noodles. The beef was fork tender and the gravy was excellent. Yesterday I boiled some cubes of potato, mixed them with beef and a can of peas and carrots; put them in a pie crust, baked, and sliced served with more gravy on top. This is the kind of food I grew up on! YUM! Thanks for posting Lori. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Loved it! Wonderful flavor - this is comfort food indeed! I loved the fresh nutmeg with the beef. The only problem I had was that the gravy wasn't thick enough, but I think that was my fault for using a whole large onion which must have added more liquid. I served it over brown rice in bowls and that worked perfectly. Since I'm an onion lover, next time I will increase the flour to equal the butter. This is a definite keeper, thanks Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Fabulous quick and easy dinner meal for our family! I used a vidalia onion and beef granulars in place of the cube (what I had on hand tonight). This turned out perfectly! I served it over brown rice and had my recipe for broccoli casserole as a side dish. Absolutely wonderful !! Thanks Lori for sharing! Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag Game. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      just what i needed on a snowy night with a sore tooth. Next time i will add a little red wine to it for body :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Made for PAC Spring 08 SUPER simple and homemade goodness! I would definitely add some mushrooms next time.The only suggestion I have is add a step to skim off the foam that the beef produces once it comes to a boil... Thanks Baby Lori!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      This should be a 5 star on flavor, but its so thin and runny its more soup than gravy. I had to quadruple the flour (shaking it up with a little milk to add to the hot mixture once I realized that it was not going to thicken), and it was still on the thin side for our tastes. But the taste was utterly amazing. Just as rich and beefy as could possibly be wanted. I used Tones Soup Base for stock instead of the bullion cubes and browned the beef in a little oil before the first simmering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Yum! This recipe produced a perfect gravy. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Wow what a nice flavourful dish. We loved the beef gravy over mashed potatoes. The ultimate comfort food, and so quick and easy to make. Thanks for sharing Lori.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      We really enjoyed this comfort-food last night. I had some fresh pasta and wanted something with gravy on it and this did the job. I was skeptical about putting the beef in the water with boulion cubes for the first step, but after about 30 minutes, it started to smell and look wonderful. I followed the next step, with the onions, but also added some fresh mushrooms I had on hand. With the 6 cups of water this calls for, you get a really nice amount of gravy. (it doesn't show very well in my photo, but it's there floating in the bottom of the dish). Thanks for the great recipe. Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      This was wonderful, the meat was very tender and it went perfectly over homemade noodles. We will definately make this often Lori, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lori's Beef and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (417 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.4
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    76%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 58.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites