210 Reviews

This batter was excellent! A must-try the next time you want something fried with a very crisp, not too thick coating. Excellent taste as well. I did some chicken tenders, then some fresh flounder fillets, then some shrimp. It was all incredible! Next time I will make some hush puppies, and it will be just like eating at the restaurant! Thanks for posting. :)

46 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilladyc October 15, 2002

I made this batter for fish, turned out really good, nice and crunchy. I did not deep fry the fish, I shallow fried and was surprised the batter stayed on the fish. Excellent!!

43 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
** Poppy ** April 13, 2003

I thought the batter was terrific. I used it on scallops, chiken and Fish. They all turned out excellent. My family really enjoyed it.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spunkymama November 24, 2002

Fantastic. Easy to make, and the batter stay on.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gallaleo April 18, 2003

You people obviously never ate at Long John Silver's. This recipe is NOTHING like theirs. They also use corn flour in their batter. It's also missing a spice that I can't seem to figure out.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Stomach January 17, 2011

This will be my only recipe for fish or onion rings. This made the prettiest fried fish I have ever made, not to mention it tasted great. I made two batches, one for fish ( I did add just a bit of Old Bay Seasoning to the batter) and the other batch I added nothing extra, and made onion rings. PERFECTION!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajane0007 June 13, 2010

I rated this recipe with 5 stars, not because it tasted like LJS ( I altered it so I couldn't say how close it would've been.) although, the texture of it, once cooked was so close, if not spot on, but because it was incredibly easy to make, it coated the fish perfectly, and the cracklin's that were produced with the leftover batter were out of this world delicious.
After reading several reviews, I opted to alter the recipe slightly. I doubled the recipe and added another teaspoon of salt, about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and the zest from half of a medium-large lemon, using a rasp type zester. I also used half water and half whole buttermilk.
As I am typing, my better half is moaning with delight while continually uttering, "Oh, that was good!" We put our plates up about 30 minutes ago and he's been back for more of those cracklin's twice already.
I'm thinking of all the things I'll be using this batter for, altering the seasonings for various things.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Savoring Life May 28, 2011

I thought the batter was rather bland. It did have a nice thin, crispy texture, though it is not anything like LJS batter. I'll stick to another (beer) batter recipe I found on here.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ September 22, 2010

the basic recipe is almost stand alone for any food to batter and I must say it's almost perfect by itself. I would add that I always start the oil at 375 degrees and never let it drop below 350. As some others have said a little garlic powder and onion salt do make a good addition.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwc4242 January 31, 2011

I tried this on onion rings and I took some sweet banana peppers and split them and removed the seeds and battered them and fried to a golden brown, excellent. I think you could batter any thing with this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimB427 October 03, 2003
Long John Silver's Fish Batter