Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Long John Silver's Fish Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Long John Silver's Fish Batter

    Average Rating:

    192 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 192

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2002

      This batter was excellent! A must-try the next time you want something fried with a very crisp, not too thick coating. Excellent taste as well. I did some chicken tenders, then some fresh flounder fillets, then some shrimp. It was all incredible! Next time I will make some hush puppies, and it will be just like eating at the restaurant! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      I made this batter for fish, turned out really good, nice and crunchy. I did not deep fry the fish, I shallow fried and was surprised the batter stayed on the fish. Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      I thought the batter was terrific. I used it on scallops, chiken and Fish. They all turned out excellent. My family really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      Fantastic. Easy to make, and the batter stay on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This will be my only recipe for fish or onion rings. This made the prettiest fried fish I have ever made, not to mention it tasted great. I made two batches, one for fish ( I did add just a bit of Old Bay Seasoning to the batter) and the other batch I added nothing extra, and made onion rings. PERFECTION!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      You people obviously never ate at Long John Silver's. This recipe is NOTHING like theirs. They also use corn flour in their batter. It's also missing a spice that I can't seem to figure out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I rated this recipe with 5 stars, not because it tasted like LJS ( I altered it so I couldn't say how close it would've been.) although, the texture of it, once cooked was so close, if not spot on, but because it was incredibly easy to make, it coated the fish perfectly, and the cracklin's that were produced with the leftover batter were out of this world delicious.
      After reading several reviews, I opted to alter the recipe slightly. I doubled the recipe and added another teaspoon of salt, about 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and the zest from half of a medium-large lemon, using a rasp type zester. I also used half water and half whole buttermilk.
      As I am typing, my better half is moaning with delight while continually uttering, "Oh, that was good!" We put our plates up about 30 minutes ago and he's been back for more of those cracklin's twice already.
      I'm thinking of all the things I'll be using this batter for, altering the seasonings for various things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      the basic recipe is almost stand alone for any food to batter and I must say it's almost perfect by itself. I would add that I always start the oil at 375 degrees and never let it drop below 350. As some others have said a little garlic powder and onion salt do make a good addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      I tried this on onion rings and I took some sweet banana peppers and split them and removed the seeds and battered them and fried to a golden brown, excellent. I think you could batter any thing with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      This really was an excellent batter. I made it up an hour before I used it as I have heard that this makes batter 'stick' better to whatever you're frying. Anyway, it stuck. Light, crisp and not greasy - exactly what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I thought the batter was rather bland. It did have a nice thin, crispy texture, though it is not anything like LJS batter. I'll stick to another (beer) batter recipe I found on here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      A few mentioned it here, and I totally agree. It tastes okay, but not like LJS batter. There could be here a reason that it seems most recipes miss. The flavor of anything fried, has a lot to do with what type of oil they fry it in. People seem to rave about the egg rolls that I make, and the real reason is that I fry them in Wesson Corn Oil. Many people try to be healthy and fry everything in oils such as olive oil, which is a totally different flavor. Unless we know what LJS uses to fry their battered foods, we have no hope of duplicating the flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I do not see the LJS connection, but it has been a long time since I have eaten there. However, this is an excellent recipe for battering probably anything! I tried it on shrimp first and fish the second time. Both times was great. The food was well coated and crispy with very little effort on my part. My only change was substituting the salt for 1/2 tsp seasoning salt. I do want to play with flavor a bit so I will likely try some different spices again in the near future. Thanks a lot for an easy batter with common ingredients. I will NEVER buy tempura mix again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      This is the best batter EVER!!! I don't like fish so I used on chicken and it was wonderful. I love how it coats and makes a lovely coating. It covers so well and it is like it swells up over the food as it cooks. I will use for veggies next time too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Tried this tonight with 1 lb. chicken tenders, and used about 1/2" oil in a cast iron skillet. Did two batches...kept 1st half in a 150 deg. oven while frying the other half. It tasted great!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2003

      We tried this recipe with some sole. We'd estimated the amount we'd need, and put the rest in the freezer. After the first batch had been cooked (we cooked in a large frying pan with some oil) we added some extra spices and quick thawed the remaining fish. No dessert for us that night, we had an extra serving of fish instead. This recipe would be good to batter anything....veggies, chicken, fish, apple rings, mini chocolate bars, etc. Just vary the spices to whatever flavour you want and go to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      My review will be redundant, but everyone was right: this batter is good!!! The batter is light, airy and crunchy. I added garlic salt and a little lemon pepper to the batter, and because I used wheat flour, it needed more water. I pan fried it in peanut oil about 2 minutes on each side. The batter stayed in place...turned out almost like tempura. Keep the pan hot and the fish aren't oily at all. I used it to cook up Pompano and Whiting the DH brought home from the beach.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      This recipe is so FREAKIN' AWESOME!! It was a little flat/bland for our taste, but that's why you make a recipe as is first, and doctor it the second time! I do agree that it needs more salt and something else, just not sure what. But DANG! This fried up so beautifully!! The batter stuck to the fish (like everybody said it would) and was so light (non-dense) it was really great!! I was so proud of myself when I showed my husband how good it looked!! 8~) I don't eat fried stuff very often, but I am looking forward to the day when I can make it again. Thanks so much for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      We really enjoyed this recipe. The batter was crisp and really complimented the fish. We have made this recipe many times, and I have both deep fried and pan fried with great success. The batter sticks to the fish well. We have even used this batter on chicken, mozzarella sticks, and veggies (zucchini, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, onions, cauliflower, etc). Thanks for a great recipe - a definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This recipe caught my eye on google, immediately I noticed there were no spices involved so I increased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon, and add 1/4 teaspoon lemon pepper and garlic powder. Also for people using a deep fryer with a basket, after you let the excess batter drip off and lay your fish in the basket, tap or shake your basket against the edge to release the air bubbles in the batter into the oil and your fish won't stick. This fish got inhaled by everyone in the house, great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Long John Silver's Fish Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.7
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    55%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 248.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes