9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've also never tried the original, so I have no frame of reference, but this is the most disgusting dip I've ever eaten! Even my husband, who likes absolutely everything, couldn't eat it. I have no clue how this has five stars. This dip went in the trash!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShugrGrl55 July 10, 2011

I have not had the original but it sounded like something I would like. But I found the spices really over powering and just with a bit of it I couldn't taste what I was eating. I added about 50 g of cream cheese to calm it down and it was then good, but not great. If I try it again, I would cut the spices in half or maybe even a quarter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl November 26, 2011

I too, have no frame of reference for this dip. It is tasty, but a little salty. Beware it is not pretty once you get all those ingredients in!! I think it might be good either cutting the ingredients in half, or mixing with 16oz. dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honey Bee T April 13, 2010

I have absolutely no frame of reference for this dip,as I have never had the pleasure of tasting the original,but I'm glad that I've had the chance to try this! The ingredient list is intriguing to say the least,but the flavour that those ingredients produce when blended together was amazing. We used it to dip wedges and chicken fingers into,it worked really well. I took the tip from another review and saved some to use in quesadillas-delicious-I'll certainly be doing that again! Made for Comfort Cafe Jan '09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo January 07, 2009

I have never tasted the "real" dip, but this was awesome. I used all the ingredients except for onion powder since I didn't have it and it was delicious! I paired it with Bacon Wrapped Taters http://www.recipezaar.com/Bacon-Wrapped-Taters-215902 and the combination was lovely! There were none left at the party I took them to. The ingredients seemed stranged, but they work together perfectly and it is excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leahcooks November 08, 2008

I've been looking for this recipe everywhere! The loaded fries at Lone Star are our favorites (topped with melted cheese & bacon) and we LOVE the spicy dressing. I wanted to make some for an at-home dip for popcorn chicken and can't wait to give it a whirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terirose22 March 27, 2008

After reading LuckyMomof3's review, I decided to take it one step further! I spread this dip on one side of a whole wheat tortilla before I added my quesadilla filling. The dip mixed with the melted cheeses...it was heavenly! Thank you, Miller, for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieLynne April 26, 2007

Fab-u-lous! Had quesadillas at a friend's house one night and they had a store bought spicy ranch to dip them in. Wanted to have it again but the store bought dip came with chicken quesadilla kit (blech) homemade is my motto. So naturally I turned to Zaar and low and behold our dearly departed Miller had nailed. It tasted identical to the dip they had and it tastes great with quesadillas. Never had it on fries but am looking forward to trying. Bless you Miller.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyMomof3 November 24, 2006

Made this for the cookathon in memory of Miller. This recipe really caught my attention since it called for coccoa powder. It was very good. Left out the salt and cayenne pepper as it seemed to have enough spice and salt without them. I believe the McCormick's lemon pepper seasoning I used contained alot of salt so next time I would cut back on that or use a different brand. Also, left out the cornstarch as the consistency seemed to be just right for our taste. We ate ours with Tostada chips but I can't wait to try it with french fries as Miller suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia Bella April 23, 2005
Lone Star Steakhouse Spicy Ranch Dip Copycat