9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was not thrilled with the end result. The sauce was not that tasty and was very watery. I would definitely not waste my time making this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cthebird June 07, 2010

Perhaps it was the top round the store sold me as being for London Broil, but my meat was as tough as shoe leather and I cut it thin against the grain. We ate it, but we wouldn't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjenjenp November 01, 2009

Just fantastic. This is, hands down, the best London Broil recipe I've ever used. Tender, flavorful, absolutely delicious. The mushroom, garlic and wine flavors work together and fully develop during marinating, making for an extraordinarily succulent cut of beef. The reduced sauce is perfect over not only the beef, but also mashed potatoes or rice. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lparmoc December 07, 2008

It was raining so this recipe was perfect! I didn't have a full 2 cups of red wine so I added beef stock to the marinade. This was so excellent with steamed basmatic rice & steamed asparagus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L1nah June 07, 2008

I don't know why this recipe doesn't have more reviews it's FANTASTIC! I had to adjust a few things because I didn't have some things in the fridge and didn't have time to go out and buy. I used dry parsley, tomato paste and button muchrooms. I wasn't very sure of the flavors while marinating but after the sauce was reduced I was impressed! My family loved this one and asked me to make it again! I only had a taste because I'm on a strict diet but it was so full of flavor! It's great served with homemade mashed potatoes and to pour the sauce over them! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vilmaris May 07, 2008

Made it for a romantic night at home and we love it. The leftovers made great lunched the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blond one January 15, 2008

I made this dish last evening for my family. It was very good. I have saved it to my cookbook and will prepare it again. I think in the summer, on the grill the London Broil will be stupendous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandalou January 06, 2007

A great, robust flavor. Didn\\\'t have Portabello mushrooms handy, used grey buttons with a splash of good sherry, and marinated for about 4 hours. After simmering marinate, thickened for use as a gravy. This is a dish that I\\\'ll make again (and again).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baer August 20, 2004

This was a great company meal! I really enjoyed the wine and rosemary. I used only 6 oz. of mushrooms in order to cut costs, but I don't recommend that change. Not enough of the liquid was absorbed, which really increased my cooking time, trying to thicken the sauce. The wine flavor is quite strong, but it balances pretty well. I used a can of drained diced tomatoes, which worked fine, but fresh would have retained a better texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch August 16, 2004
London Broil with Mushroom Sauce