13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This broil is amazing!! I use to just use some random spices, but decided to find a recipe instean, and I'm sure glad that I did. The spices are amazing. I like to put the paste on the meat and let it sit for AT LEAST an hour before cooking it in the broiler, it comes out to perfection. I have to double the recipe because my broil is normally twice the size, but it's still amazing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandydavis08 May 16, 2009

(Original review 4/16/05) Even my spice haters didn't complain about this level of heat (it does have a kick). In fact, every bite was devoured. I used soy sauce because I was out of Worcestershire, but I think the additional depth of flavor would be good, so I will use the W. next time. (Additional notes) I made this on the grill and the spices burned before the meat was cooked. I might stick to the broiler when I make this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch March 25, 2009

Wasn't too spicy for us. What I liked about the marinade was that it wasn't runny like others but to make the spice rub uniformly coat the meat I added 1 tb. lemon jz. and 1/2 tb. worcester sauce and I shook the tupperware containing the meat. Other additions/ substitutions: pinch curry pwd., dash margoram, and cilantro instead of parsley. This is def. a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarlaDoom January 22, 2009

Let me first say that I usually go nuts for this sort of thing- in fact my brother once did a similiar on a dry rub for a thanksgiving turkey and barbequed it- to die for! But as a helpful note to the rest of you, do not attempt this on a george foreman grill and expect anything more than a dry tough piece of meat that needs barbeque sauce. I can only imagine how good it would be if it were grilled as intended and with a more tender piece of meat. Enough said.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetmomof5 August 05, 2008

Loved it! Thanks for sharing a great recipe. I decreased the chili powder by half because I have young children, but it was still wonderful. I probably won't add the fresh parsley next time because it didn't "mesh" well with the rest of the ingredients and I didn't notice a huge benefit from it. Will try it again! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurplePen May 03, 2008

I must have done something wrong because this steak was soooo hot we could not eat it. The taste was not enjoyable. I did marinate the steak in a plastic bag with the seasonings for several hours. Maybe that is why the heat was so intense.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCC January 25, 2008

Amazing! I made it for my extremely picky children. They loved it! I reduced the amount of chili powder to 1 tsp due to my chili powder being really hot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aislindeva June 14, 2007

I liked the amount of seasonings. I had a london broil and had no idea what to do with it, this was a great quick and easy recipe. the next night we cooked up the leftovers in fajitas. very nice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
azsweetz April 16, 2007

This is a good quick london broil recipe. The seasoning makes a very spicy coating on the meat. I love spicy food but felt it tasted too much like chili powder. The flavors of the other seasonings were masked by the chili powder. Good for a quick meal. Thanks ChrisMc

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper September 03, 2006

This recipe is wonderful! Simple and full of such delicious flavors. My husband and I loved it, and I can't wait to make it again. I left out the parsley and put a shake rather than a pinch of cayenne pepper. I broiled 7 minutes per side. Superb. Thanks ChrisMc!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dreamcookie August 28, 2006
London Broil With Chili Seasonings