25 Reviews

Came out awesome! Hubby says "best thing you've cooked so far"! Love to hear and makes me want to up my cooking game. This recipe was really easy to follow. Only suggestion is to let meat marinate longer than an hour to get all those great flavors.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DaJenster October 08, 2013

Very good! I omitted the jalapenos, but it didn't miss a beat. I used half a bag of frozen fries (oven cooked) to help out. I mixed the fries in at the end. I'm glad someone mentioned to drain the tomatoes. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickiva October 17, 2009

Delicious! We've enjoyed this dish in Peruvian restaurants, now I can make it at home! The flavors are amazing in this dish. I didn't use cilantro or jalapenos as we do not care for them. Instead, I added a bit of cayenne pepper. I also used small red potatoes cut into wedges and prepared per Zesty Oven Baked Fries, Zesty Oven Baked Fries, for the potatoes. I also added some fresh corn kernels and red/green/yellow pepper strips as I happened to have some on hand. Served over white rice. This is going into the favorites file! Made for ZWT4. Edited to add: I have made this recipe many times, it is one of the best recipes I have tried from 'Zaar! For the amount of meat and red onions call for, I triple the marinade recipe, but only use 1/2 the amount of oil called for. You can use strips of cooked meat in this recipe as well and it is also good with chicken. I also use 1/2 a bag of frozen french fries, cooked, for the potatoes and add a bag of southwest blend veggies, which includes corn, black beans roasted peppers, onions and chiles. I leave out the cilantro and jalapenos and add cayenne pepper instead. The marinade smells amazing!! An absolutely fabulous recipe that we adore!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig August 02, 2009

I just returned from a two-week birding trip to Peru, where we were served Lomo Saltado a number of times--once it was even prepared on a portable grill by the side of the road when we were too far from a restaurant for lunch! I'm intrigued by the Peruvians' incorporation of Chinese techniques and ingredients in their cooking--seems like a strange combo, but the results are delicious, even though I never got used to having several starches in one meal. The first time we had Lomo Saltado, I thought french fries from someone else's meal had accidentally fallen into my dinner! When I prepared this recipe, I changed it up a little. I used an elk tenderloin from my freezer instead of beef; Hungarian yellow peppers as a sub for Peruvian aji amarillo peppers or jalapenos; I seared the meat first in my wok, removed it, then did the peppers and onion mixture, then added the tomatoes, and finally returned the meat just to reheat it. The elk was so fine, I definitely did not want to overcook it. I served the Lomo Saltado over brown rice and just omitted the potato in order to avoid excess starch. The results were fantastic--even tastier than the versions I had in Peru, because those seemed a little less garlicky. Great recipe! Too bad I have so many vegetarian friends I can't fix this for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
penstar12 July 13, 2016

I doubled the marinade, because I like mine saucy. I don't know how on God's green Earth that the marinade in the recipe would cover that much meat and onions! Overall though I think the taste was very good, I now have a good base recipe I will just add my own little twists here and there. Also my boyfriend and sister loved it. Even my picky daughter ate it. I only gave it a 4 star because while I think the flavor was very good, I just think it had too much vinegar so I will change that next time and give it a whirl. THATS JUST MY OPINION. Follow the recipe if it's your first time making it and then make changes! Also, 4 stars because it takes 2 skillets and a rice cooker so that's 3 pots right there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole W. July 31, 2015

Didn't add any jalapeños because the rest of my family doesn't enjoy spice, however this recipe came out great! One thing I would change is the amount of coriander I used it was a bit over what was stated in the recipe I think and sort of overpowered the other flavours a bit but still tasted great! Just don't add too much corriander!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cameron C. July 09, 2015

Growing up in San Diego, I've had a chance to sample Lomo Saltado at a restaurant that specializes in authentic Puerto Rican and Latin American cuisine. Lomo Saltado is the only dish I order there because it is my favorite and why mess with a good thing?! Naturally, I wanted to recreate the dish at home. I experimented with several other recipes before settling on this one and I'm so glad I've found this recipe! This dish is so easy to prepare and the flavors are amazing. My husband said this is his new favorite dish! I will be making this often! Thanks for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
v8time81 June 15, 2015

Excellent dish! Our family frequently goes to El Pollo Inka for dinner. This item is on their menu. My husband and son really enjoyed this. I made enough for six people. Between the three of us, I only got to have one helping because the other two scarfed most of it down. I served this with Aquadito as a starter. Thanks so much for sharing Nasseh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle September 09, 2014

I try not to simply think in "1's" and "5's", but this was really good despite my frantic attempts to get everything done for my girlfriend and I before it got too late after work. The recipe has quite a bit of heat with the jalapenos, but that is a great thing. I was only able to marinate for about 20-30 minutes, yet this still resulted in a great flavor. Next time, I will be devoting the time and thought needed to preparing this correctly. All in all, though, it was still really good and will be finding a place in our meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrmngphlsphr April 13, 2014

This was my first attempt at Lomo Saltado but I wanted to make a dish that I know my wife enjoys. Having only eaten it once or twice before, I was nervous that it would not live up to her expectations. I followed the recipe almost to the T and the outcome was delicious! I look forward to customizing further!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JerseyJeeper February 05, 2014
Lomo Saltado, Peruvian Stir-Fry