Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lomo Saltado, Peruvian Stir-Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lomo Saltado, Peruvian Stir-Fry

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2013

      Came out awesome! Hubby says "best thing you've cooked so far"! Love to hear and makes me want to up my cooking game. This recipe was really easy to follow. Only suggestion is to let meat marinate longer than an hour to get all those great flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Very good! I omitted the jalapenos, but it didn't miss a beat. I used half a bag of frozen fries (oven cooked) to help out. I mixed the fries in at the end. I'm glad someone mentioned to drain the tomatoes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Delicious! We've enjoyed this dish in Peruvian restaurants, now I can make it at home! The flavors are amazing in this dish. I didn't use cilantro or jalapenos as we do not care for them. Instead, I added a bit of cayenne pepper. I also used small red potatoes cut into wedges and prepared per Zesty Oven Baked Fries, Zesty Oven Baked Fries, for the potatoes. I also added some fresh corn kernels and red/green/yellow pepper strips as I happened to have some on hand. Served over white rice. This is going into the favorites file! Made for ZWT4. Edited to add: I have made this recipe many times, it is one of the best recipes I have tried from 'Zaar! For the amount of meat and red onions call for, I triple the marinade recipe, but only use 1/2 the amount of oil called for. You can use strips of cooked meat in this recipe as well and it is also good with chicken. I also use 1/2 a bag of frozen french fries, cooked, for the potatoes and add a bag of southwest blend veggies, which includes corn, black beans roasted peppers, onions and chiles. I leave out the cilantro and jalapenos and add cayenne pepper instead. The marinade smells amazing!! An absolutely fabulous recipe that we adore!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      Excellent dish! Our family frequently goes to El Pollo Inka for dinner. This item is on their menu. My husband and son really enjoyed this. I made enough for six people. Between the three of us, I only got to have one helping because the other two scarfed most of it down. I served this with Aquadito as a starter. Thanks so much for sharing Nasseh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2014

      I try not to simply think in "1's" and "5's", but this was really good despite my frantic attempts to get everything done for my girlfriend and I before it got too late after work. The recipe has quite a bit of heat with the jalapenos, but that is a great thing. I was only able to marinate for about 20-30 minutes, yet this still resulted in a great flavor. Next time, I will be devoting the time and thought needed to preparing this correctly. All in all, though, it was still really good and will be finding a place in our meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      This was my first attempt at Lomo Saltado but I wanted to make a dish that I know my wife enjoys. Having only eaten it once or twice before, I was nervous that it would not live up to her expectations. I followed the recipe almost to the T and the outcome was delicious! I look forward to customizing further!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      Loved all the flavors. Did make fresh deep fried fries but didn't put into the dish just served on the side and used some of the sauce..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      So tasty!, brought me back to my latin roots.
      I omitted the tomatoes/cilantro since I did not have, and used indian chilli powder in lieu of the jalapeno. I added some ground coriander to the marinade. As another revier mentioned I fried the onions first (did not bother marinating those, no time), and after the meat was cooked added 2/3rd cup of water and let it simmer till very tender.
      We served it with mashed potatoes and salad. It was fantastic meal for my husband's birthday :)
      Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      I tried lomo saltado last week on a vacation in Peru. When I got home I couldn't wait to make it for myself. This recipe is excellent and tastes just like the stuff I had in Lima. The only change I made was adding a red pepper cut in strips. I also skipped the french fries to make it healtier, but in Peru they always come with this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This was really good. I subbed pork for steak and used less oil and black pepper. I also took one reviewer's advice and used smoked paprika. I think I should have cooked the onions first, since the meat was overcooked by the time the onions were done. Portions are huge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Great!! I just used olive oil, loin steak, and used the frozen fries trick and it turns out great and smells absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

    • on August 04, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful recipe! I used to have this dish at my favorite Peruvian restaurant, but I just LOVED this home version. I made a mistake and forgot to drain the tomatoes, but it worked out just fine. Thanks so much for posting this! My whole family, including my 4 year old and 1 year old loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Wonderful flavor!! I used one jalapeno, seeded, and instead of rice vinegar used red white vinegar (all I had). We decided that there was enough starch from the potato, so we didn't bother putting it over rice. I'm sure that would be tasty, though. :) Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      A nice alternative to stew or fajitas. The marinade is great for tenderizing- (I used flank steak rather than tenderloin. This worked well in smaller portions - once the meat is marinated, it's quick to take out and prepare what you need. I used fresh tomatoes, a little more than the recipe calls for, unmarinated onions, and yams rather than potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      We enjoyed this very much, the only thing I did differently was to parboil the potatoes (we have late season ones at the moment so they don't fry up as quickly as new potatoes) before frying. The flavours were very tasty, it was very easy to prepare the marinade & meat in the morning before work, leave it in the fridge, then take it out to bring it to temperature before cooking. Thanks for posting, made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      This was a different sort of dish for us. It has a nice mellow flavour. For our taste preferences, I think next time I'll leave out the potatoes completely and add a smokey paprika to the marinade. Add some veggies like asparagus & cauliflower for colour and crispness and serve over rice. Would also double the jalapeno and add some cayenne as we like a bit more heat. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      A new and different take on stir-fry. DH especially loved it, being my meat&potatoes man. I used 3/4 lb stirf fry beef and 1 jalapeno. The spice was perfect! We will definitely do this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      We loved this. It's just a little spicy, and very fresh. The potatoes are still a little firm, but the beef is tender, and the onions are lovely and sweet. And it was so easy, I'm sure I'll make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      My son says "more jalapeños" but overall this was a 5 star dish for us. I followed the ingredients exactly, using fresh cilantro. My boys gave this 5 stars and want me to make it again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lomo Saltado, Peruvian Stir-Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (382 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 470.2
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    49%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 96.3 mg
    32%
    Sodium 601.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes