Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lola's Horchata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lola's Horchata

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2009

      Great recipe, and if you are in a pinch for time of just lazy you can use ricedream rice milk instead of making your own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      I looooove this recipe. It is easy and fun to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Once again, Recipezaar comes to the rescue. My daughter needed a traditional recipe with a "history" for her Spanish class. I'm not sure what the history of Horchata is, but I was glad to find this easy recipe that was delicious! My rice didn't "break up" much in the blender after one minute, but the rice water was a cloudy color with a sediment at the bottom, so I guess I did that right. In any case, we enjoyed this and I'm sure it will be a big hit tomorrow! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I made a healthier version of this recipe: Used brown rice Filtered water Instead of sugar, used 2/3 tspn of stevia, which is a plant derivative and sweeter than sugar Everything else is the same. What a great recipe! Delicious and now I have to make it all the time for the hubby. He uses this instead of milk for his protein shake. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      A wonderful first experience with horchata for me!! I actually had it warmed, as a bedtime drink- MMmmm! I halved the sugar and that was perfectly sweet. It was so easy and you can be sure I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I have not try this berverage but will. Real horchata is made out of chufa bean (is typical in Valencia, Spain where its the traditional drink in summertime the nut came originally from Egypt) and difficult to do....so this one looks like a good option, as soon as I try it I will let you know in comparison to horchata how is tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      YES! I LOVE horchata and this is such an easy way to make it and it turns out just like I like it! I used 1 percent milk. I also used Splenda and am so happy to be able to have "diet" sugar-free horchata! I let mine stand overnight and stirred it a few times. I love cinnamon so ended up using extra. Thanks for this keeper recipe cookiedog! Made for Beverage tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I like rice beverage and this is a way to do it and less expensive. Next time I will try with less cinnamon. Maybe a little bit less milk. I used Splenda. Thanks Cookiedog :) Made for the Market tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      Horchata has to be one of the best drinks in the world! I had this at a local community lunch along with some tamales and flan, and I could have kept the horchata all to myself! It is refreshing, slightly sweet and healthy-yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Ooh, I like this stuff! I made a batch of this for DH, but ended up stealing half of it for me. I liked that it was so easy to make (a little time consuming because of the standing time for the rice water, but super-easy because the hands-on work is next to nothing). We'll definitely be enjoying this one again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lola's Horchata

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.3
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    99%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes