10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm thinking the problem with this recipe is that they should be a WHITE cake mix, rather than vanilla or yellow cake mix to start with. Will try and let you know!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 July 21, 2011

These were excellent Will be making these again thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stiles June 27, 2011

I work at an assisted living for the elderly and we have a number of diabetics. Pillsbury now has a sugar-free yellow cake mix and frosting with Splenda as the sweetener. I made these cookies for them and they loved them. So did the employees. I made them very large so my batch only made 12. Next time I will make them smaller, but for today it was a special St. Patrick's Day treat and they felt special too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathleenzonts March 17, 2011

I loved the recipe. It taste like the weis kind of sugar cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover01 July 11, 2010

Very easy to make. I don't think they taste like "lofthouse" cookies, but they do taste like good cake mix cookies. I used canned frosting to frost them. My teen boys devoured them and wanted more. Thanks for posting! Made for Tic Tac Toe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom November 14, 2008

Buddha's 2 kids and us really enjoyed these cookies. Only Chef #575933, his daughter, has ever had Lofthouse cookies, and said they tasted exactly like them. Rather than rolling the dough, I just dropped teaspoon-sized batter onto parchment paper, then tapped out the remaining oil from the measuring cup onto a clean counter area. I then smeared the bottom of the cup into it and used it to easily flatten the cookies and have less cleanup. Since there was no recipe for the frosting, I just added some blue (our favorite color) sugar sprinkles on top of each cookie before baking. I made a half batch and got 1 dozen cookies that took 10 minutes to fully bake. Thanks for posting this super simple recipe that we all enjoyed very much. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu September 27, 2008

My daughter loves lofthouse cookies and I have it on her authority that these taste just like the real thing! I used Betty Crocker *vanilla* cake mix and broke up all the lumps before adding the other ingredients. I rolled mine into balls a little bigger than 1" and flattened to just a little more than 1/4". They baked up perfectly after 8 minutes; I frosted while still a little warm and they came out perfectly. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 03, 2008

These get 4 stars for ease alone. I have made cake mix cookies before so I don't know why but the texture of these is a bit odd, but they are quite flavorful. Not really at all like lofthouse tho. I had the same problem as scrapbook cook with them still being doughy after 9 minutes so for the last batch I reduced the temp to 350 and baked them for 12 minutes and that took care of the problem. All in all they are simple and tasty so I will make them again I am sure. Made for PRMR Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Lou Who August 27, 2008

I baked mine for 7 minutes and they turned out wonderful. My boys used some leftover sprinkles on top of these cookies. They were soft and very good. I liked the ease of preparation. 3 ingredients!! What a great time saved. Made for 1-2-3 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff August 17, 2008

not at all like a Lofthouse cookie. They came out still raw in the middle even after baking for 9 minutes. The search for a Lofthose cookie recipe continues. By the way, I used a cookie scoop and got 18 cookies from one batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapbook cook March 01, 2008
"lofthouse" Sugar Cookies