16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very bready cookie. Too much flour and not enough sweetness to make it taste anyghing like a Loft House sugar cookie. I'm still on the look out. They don't sell anything like the loft house cookies here in Canada, so if anyone has a tried and true recipe I'd be ever so grateful if you'd share. I'm addicted to these cookies and I only get to get across the border for shopping about 4 times a year.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Olson July 09, 2002

These are pretty darn close to the store-bought Lofthouse cookies. What I would like to reiterate (a previous reviewer said it too) is that the cookies themselves are NOT overly sweet, and are supposed to be flour-y and cakey. It is in the frosting that they get that melt-in-your-mouth quality (coupled of course with the loftiness of the cookies). I did add almond flavoring myself, which made them great. One last piece of advice: these cookies are better and taste more authentic if you cover them and let them sit for a day. It makes sense, since the cookies you buy at the store are never fresh out of the oven.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom-taught August 27, 2009

well i did like this but i do think it should be sweeter but its still a good cookie just not exactly a lofthouse if anyone finds anything any closer please let me know alcapone68702000@aol.com

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurie drake March 29, 2004

Well it was an interesting experiment, but I won't be repeating it. I probably ended up with nearly 7 cups of flour before the dough was anywhere near workable. Even then it was a very sticky dough to work with. I ended up chilling the rolling pin and a cutting board in the freezer along with small batches of the dough to get the dough rolled out. I'll be going back to my traditional sugar cookie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boddicea December 13, 2011

I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your cookies. No on special occasions it's not necessary to make my grandmothers' buttermilk cookies which of course are rolled out and frosted. As far as I'm concerned the St. Patricks,green and white, ones are the best. Do sometimes wish the frosting was a little less but I just scrape some off. Yummie Good!

Cindy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymtk February 20, 2011

Better than the "real" Lofthouse cookies! Excellent recipe. Delicious, light, cakey cookie, and the frosting adds the sweetness. I omitted the red food coloring in the frosting and just made white frosting and added a few colored sprinkles. This is my new favorite cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchen01 December 20, 2010

The only thing that you are missing is the powdered sugar that is sifted into the flower. That gives it a bit more sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaylajo335 June 02, 2010

I made these yesterday. They are extremely close to "Lofthouse". I give them a 9 out of 10. Only a few comments. This recipe makes closer to 8 dozen if you make cookies 2 1/2 inches. And if people haven't eaten these cookies from the store, they certainly don't realize that these are not sweet cookies. The icing is the sweet part. I doubled the recipe for the icing and used butter because I had no shortening. (butter is better). Also add the vanilla into the dough before the dry ingredients.(that was not stated in the directions). I will add a touch more vanilla and maybe a little almond into the dough next time. Almost like the real thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Hal #2 October 27, 2008

Highly addictive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian Bonnell June 01, 2008

I've been searching for a Lofthouse cookie recipe and almost all of my results have been this one. I think it's pretty close except the cookie consistancy is too airy it's not tender enough. I reduced my oven temperature to 400 and still baked thm for 8 minutes. I frosted them with store bought buttercream frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapbook cook March 04, 2008
Lofthouse Cookies