Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lofthouse Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lofthouse Cookies

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2002

      Very bready cookie. Too much flour and not enough sweetness to make it taste anyghing like a Loft House sugar cookie. I'm still on the look out. They don't sell anything like the loft house cookies here in Canada, so if anyone has a tried and true recipe I'd be ever so grateful if you'd share. I'm addicted to these cookies and I only get to get across the border for shopping about 4 times a year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      These are pretty darn close to the store-bought Lofthouse cookies. What I would like to reiterate (a previous reviewer said it too) is that the cookies themselves are NOT overly sweet, and are supposed to be flour-y and cakey. It is in the frosting that they get that melt-in-your-mouth quality (coupled of course with the loftiness of the cookies). I did add almond flavoring myself, which made them great. One last piece of advice: these cookies are better and taste more authentic if you cover them and let them sit for a day. It makes sense, since the cookies you buy at the store are never fresh out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      well i did like this but i do think it should be sweeter but its still a good cookie just not exactly a lofthouse if anyone finds anything any closer please let me know alcapone68702000@aol.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Well it was an interesting experiment, but I won't be repeating it. I probably ended up with nearly 7 cups of flour before the dough was anywhere near workable. Even then it was a very sticky dough to work with. I ended up chilling the rolling pin and a cutting board in the freezer along with small batches of the dough to get the dough rolled out. I'll be going back to my traditional sugar cookie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your cookies. No on special occasions it's not necessary to make my grandmothers' buttermilk cookies which of course are rolled out and frosted. As far as I'm concerned the St. Patricks,green and white, ones are the best. Do sometimes wish the frosting was a little less but I just scrape some off. Yummie Good!

      Cindy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      Better than the "real" Lofthouse cookies! Excellent recipe. Delicious, light, cakey cookie, and the frosting adds the sweetness. I omitted the red food coloring in the frosting and just made white frosting and added a few colored sprinkles. This is my new favorite cookie recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      The only thing that you are missing is the powdered sugar that is sifted into the flower. That gives it a bit more sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I made these yesterday. They are extremely close to "Lofthouse". I give them a 9 out of 10. Only a few comments. This recipe makes closer to 8 dozen if you make cookies 2 1/2 inches. And if people haven't eaten these cookies from the store, they certainly don't realize that these are not sweet cookies. The icing is the sweet part. I doubled the recipe for the icing and used butter because I had no shortening. (butter is better). Also add the vanilla into the dough before the dry ingredients.(that was not stated in the directions). I will add a touch more vanilla and maybe a little almond into the dough next time. Almost like the real thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Highly addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I've been searching for a Lofthouse cookie recipe and almost all of my results have been this one. I think it's pretty close except the cookie consistancy is too airy it's not tender enough. I reduced my oven temperature to 400 and still baked thm for 8 minutes. I frosted them with store bought buttercream frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I was really looking forward to making these myself, only when I did, I was very disappointed. They came out cakey which I don't like. The ones you buy in the store are firm but not hard, a little chewy, and I was hoping for that. The ones in this recipe are not. I only made about 1/2 the recipe after I saw how they came out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2004

      I mean, you know that the recipe isn't going to be correct, considering it doesn't even include some of the things on the ingredient list (powdered sugar, corn starch). I'd guess that experimenting with some of those ingredients might help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2004

      I just baked these, hoping for a true Lofthouse. They weren't. Not the right density and not sweet enough. This is the only recipe I've found anywhere (all the searches reveled the same recipe). So I assume no one has come up with the exact copy yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I like the recipe as it is for a richer tasting cookie. However, to be truer to the Lofthouse store-bought brand, I feel that it is best to reduce the sour cream to 1/2 cup and to use the full 6 cups of flour. I have also found that a plain vanilla icing tastes more similar to the icing used on the original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      I love this recipe! It makes the best cookie dough AND great cookies as well! Its a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      I have made this a couple of times now. This is a very soft cookie and has an excellent taste when frosted with sour cream frosting. It may not be a true "lofthouse" but it will become a family favorite in our house. I used about 5 cups of flour and I rolled the dough in wax paper and cut them into slices instead of the cut out method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lofthouse Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1761 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.2
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    38%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 25.5 mg
    8%
    Sodium 78.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes