16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading the reviews I thought that this would be a good recipe - but I was disappointed. I made my raviolis using wonton skins and they turned out very good, but the Tomato Vodka Sauce was very disapointing. The listing of the ingredients says 10 garlic cloved, peeled and crushed - that is what I did. Then later in the recipe it says to remove the garlic cloves - somehow I missed that when I first read the recipe. I took that to mean that the garlic should be put through a garlic press. I think the recipe meant to say "smashed" which I believe would be to take a knife smash the garlic - not crushed. So I found that the garlic was too much for me and I love garlic. The wonton skin Raviolis turned out great - not sure I would try to make the sauce again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eac0722 May 30, 2011

Great recipe with a little tweaking. Made a good accompaniment to my jumbo lobster ravioli. Red pepper flakes add just the right spiciness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
implete April 28, 2012

Just amazing!! I made this recipe for Valentine's Day -- it was a hit! Served it to my in-laws and they were very impressed! We will try this sauce soon over baked chicken or fish. Thank you for sharing this recipe with everyone to enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdrock14 June 06, 2011

I'm making it for the second time. Its great. I did change it a little though. I drained my tomatoes, and added a 1/2 cup cream instead of 1/4 Made alot! It was fine leftover the next day also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nowayellen March 14, 2009

The sauce itself is good although I only put in half the amount of tomatoes. The recipe is confusing if you are not used to cooking. Nowhere does it say to add the cream (I added it step 9) and also the garlic is supposed to be crushed yet it says you can remove the garlic - how do you remove crushed garlic?? Also, the recipe calls to simmer for 6 minutes until the ravioli is done, yet you don't actually put the ravioli in until two steps after that, after simmering is done. The taste is good but the recipe needs to be rewritten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outdoorsy February 16, 2009

This was a big hit at Xmas Eve. It was both elegant and tasted wonderful. I found the lobster ravioli at Sams.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc December 26, 2008

Just made this delicious sauce tonight! And what a treat it was! I made some fresh crab ravioli's (won-ton's filled with a mixture of ricotta cheese, the crab, fresh basil, all pinched together using a egg wash and making into a triangle) but needed a wonderful, light sauce to compliment this and it did perfectly. I followed this exactly, except used my own frozen tomatoes from the summer harvest, and halved the garlic, as I also halved the recipe easily. The fresh basil really sprang to the top with freshness and such goodness that I could of taken the pot and eaten it with a spoon. Oh yummy! Thank you so much for sharing this and was just perfect for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm October 23, 2008

Fantastic Sauce! I added the cream at Stage 11 also, and the result was brilliant with lobster ravioli!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
williamofvictoria July 23, 2008

mmm very good! lobster raviolis are very heavy and u need a light saunce for them, this is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Court13 April 25, 2008

This sauce definetly could go with any pasta dish. It's so easy to make, it's perfect for a weeknight dinner. I served this with lobster ravioli and it was a hit, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina March 27, 2008
Lobster Ravioli With a Light Tomato Vodka Sauce