49 Reviews

Easy to make, very easy to follow recipe, rich and delicious flavor. Double check to amount of Cayenne pepper, for some of my guests it was a bit of a kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southdavis December 14, 2014

I'm not very familiar with eating bisque, let alone cooking it, but I love shellfish! I used unsalted real butter because that is what I had (added kosher salt as needed for taste), and I used 1/2 and 1/2 in replace of cream. I used very expensive "good" cayenne pepper which made the soup have a strong kick which everyone RAVED about (I prefer mine a little less potent). <br/><br/>Also, I saw that one of the reviews said it was too thick, so when I saw that happening, I added more chicken broth (had a carton that was 13 ounces and used all of it. <br/><br/>Crab used was waterfront fresh crab claw.. and it worked just fine ($8 for half lb vs. $15 for lump crab). Fresh chives are good with it. Bravo! I'd most certainly make this again (with slightly less cayenne to taste.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NNChick September 05, 2014

Would give 4.5 stars if I could. I have made this three times now. I eliminated the carrots because of personal preference. I added three to four large cloves of pressed garlic, a chopped medium tomato, and about 1/2 cup of chopped zucchini. I added an additional 1/3 cup of sherry because I like the strong taste and kept the cayenne as written. I adore this recipe! I double the recipe and then eat it as lunch at work for three days, along with some crusty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelley M. July 27, 2014

Don't make this. It isn't Crab Bisque. Carrots? I made this tonight, followed recipe exactly. Being from California my husband said it perfectly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L W. April 04, 2014

Great recipe! My family loved it. I followed the advice of the previous reviewer and cut back the sherry to 1/3 cup and added about 1/2 cup of milk. Good advice as the sherry gives a strong flavor. I would also use less cayenne pepper next time. It was just a little too spicy! All in all a great recipe. Will definitely make again! Oh, I also substituted the flour for gluten free flour because I have celiac and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole D. November 20, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! My family raved about it the whole time they were eating. I did make a few modifications. There was no sherry in the panty so I added an extra half cup of heavy cream. I reduced the cayenne pepper to 1/8th of a tsp since my 4 year old isn't too fond of spicy food. Oh, and I added 1/2 cup of celery and reduced the carrots to 1/2 cup. This recipe is a keeper! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjory P. October 17, 2013

I love this. I read the advice about the onion being potentially overpowering and I was looking for something to do with a beautiful leek and a small shallot, so I used those instead of an onion. I also added some paprika for color and used an immersion blender before adding the final ingredients to make a smoother bisque, but I did leave some small pieces of carrot. Speaking of carrot, I shredded the carrot (not minced). I used fat free half and half and I had an ear of corn I had roasted on the grill so I added those kernels as well. Oh yeah, I also used a lobster stock. Finally, my husband had just come home from traveling to Maryland and we had picked some blue crab so I was out on the web searching for something to do with it.<br/><br/>I always use recipes as a guide and for inspiration - vs following them to a T - and this bisque is out of this world.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefInVermont September 21, 2013

I just whipped up a pot of this using Blue Crab claw meat and following the recipe pretty much as written and am very pleased with the results. It?s very similar to the crab bisques I remember from youth in Southern Maryland. I ended up adding a pinch more cayenne than called for and a few cranks of the pepper mill to suite my own tastes. But really, the recipe needs little embellishment. I?m definitely going to try it again with lobster.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joeygoose August 04, 2013

It was very good, full of flavour. I used fresh crab.<br/>My only recipe deviation was that rather than mince the carrot I shredded it finely which I think helped give the soup a nice golden colour

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ce_nedra32 July 24, 2013
Lobster or Crab Bisque