54 Reviews

This was a great recipe! I did add a Tbs of tomato paste and 1 cup of milk--and would definitely add all of the sherry. Thank you for a great use of leftover crab!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie March 31, 2016

I have never written a review on a recipe before, that's how awesome this recipe is. I know a fair amount about good bisque. After finding an incredibly extensive recipe that involved sautéing the shells (!) I settled on this one to use around 1/2 pound of leftover grilled lobster. I didn't really change anything, just used a tad less lemon juice as I actually am not a lemon fan, but I did use Better that Bouillon Lobster stock (22 ounces water with 1 1/2 tablespoon of Lobster BTB) instead of chicken stock. I was actually shocked when I tasted the finished product. I didn't say anything; wanted to get the other half's opinion in case I was overrating myself. He took 2 or 3 spoonfuls and declared that it was the best bisque he had ever had. So we agreed! I just can't say enough about how good this was. We have had many lobster bisques in some expensive restaurants. And we are lazy and we can't wait to make this again, and both agreed next time we are going to puree it after it's done (as many high-end restaurants do) to see if we could make it even better! We are also going to try it with Port Canaveral, FL "royal red" shrimp; we think it will be equally delicious! Thank you so much for this recipe. It is definitely already in the recipe file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bruckner.ll October 29, 2015

We had some leftover king crab from a "crabfest", so I decided to make crab bisque. This was a stunningly delightful recipe. I've had lobster bisque at several fancy restaurants, and this beat them all. Here are some comments from my attempt. First, we're GF, so we made a GF roux by simply exchanging sweet-white-rice flour for the wheat flour and proceeding normally (it worked perfectly!). Second, I left out the carrots because who really needs carrots in a crab bisque (the onions were barely noticeable, so no harm in leaving them in)? Third, I used a ratio of 3/4 chicken broth and 1/4 clam juice. Finally, I was a little concerned about the sherry since some reviewers didn't use it or like it. I had never cooked with it, so I used it hesitatingly. But my fear was quickly put to rest. You *NEED* to add the sherry! It's the sherry that gives it the 'bisque' flavor. If you don't add sherry, then it's just 'soup'. I just used cooking sherry from the grocery store. Wow, the bisque tasted SO GOOD!! I'm putting this on a regular meal rotation now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vhuffaker May 14, 2015

My husband and I had tried the sherry crab bisque at a restaurant called Atria's and really enjoyed it. We decided to try making it for ourselves, I have to say I was extremely impressed with this recipe. It definitely has a kick. I used a sweet onion and omitted the carrots(we do not like them). Some people said the onion was over powering? I really like onions, but I could barely taste them. So I guess I would suggest used a sweet onion if you aren't a fan of a super strong onion tastes. The only thing I will do differently next time is cut the cayenne pepper back by half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k.c.chermer January 17, 2015

Very rich and creamy. Added canned crab and it was very tasty. did not really need salt - did not have sherry so substituted apple cider vinegar and water and it had a nice kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Dillon December 25, 2014

Easy to make, very easy to follow recipe, rich and delicious flavor. Double check to amount of Cayenne pepper, for some of my guests it was a bit of a kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southdavis December 14, 2014

I'm not very familiar with eating bisque, let alone cooking it, but I love shellfish! I used unsalted real butter because that is what I had (added kosher salt as needed for taste), and I used 1/2 and 1/2 in replace of cream. I used very expensive "good" cayenne pepper which made the soup have a strong kick which everyone RAVED about (I prefer mine a little less potent). <br/><br/>Also, I saw that one of the reviews said it was too thick, so when I saw that happening, I added more chicken broth (had a carton that was 13 ounces and used all of it. <br/><br/>Crab used was waterfront fresh crab claw.. and it worked just fine ($8 for half lb vs. $15 for lump crab). Fresh chives are good with it. Bravo! I'd most certainly make this again (with slightly less cayenne to taste.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NNChick September 05, 2014

Would give 4.5 stars if I could. I have made this three times now. I eliminated the carrots because of personal preference. I added three to four large cloves of pressed garlic, a chopped medium tomato, and about 1/2 cup of chopped zucchini. I added an additional 1/3 cup of sherry because I like the strong taste and kept the cayenne as written. I adore this recipe! I double the recipe and then eat it as lunch at work for three days, along with some crusty bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelley M. July 27, 2014

Don't make this. It isn't Crab Bisque. Carrots? I made this tonight, followed recipe exactly. Being from California my husband said it perfectly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L W. April 03, 2014
Lobster or Crab Bisque