Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lobster or Crab Bisque Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lobster or Crab Bisque

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2013

      Why do the ratings vary so much? Now I'm scared to make it! (I'm a total rookie)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      WOW! What a great tasting soup! Very rich and creamy!
      I actually added more onions than called for and a little more cayenne pepper...we like it hot. I did add 1 teaspoon of Old Bay Seasoning as well and cut the sherry down to 1/4 cup. Thanks for posting... i will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Nice , easy recipe, but the next time I will omit the sherry. Also I will double it and use a more lobster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      I thought that this was a very good recipe. My version was the crab bisque. I like a more orange color with my bisque, and I probably could have added more butter/red ingredients to create that blend. Some additions that really helped the overall flavor were bay leaf, garlic powder and a pinch of paprika. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. I didn't have carrots, but didn't really need them. The dish was creamy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I'm not submitting a star rating, since I changed the recipe a little. I used three cans of canned crab meat, omitted the carrots, and added about 1/4 cup of white wine (I reduced the amount of chicken stock by that amount). I found that this soup was pretty thin; I was expecting it to be more thick and creamy. The taste was just OK for me - the sherry and cayenne were pretty strong. Thanks for posting an easy recipe that was nice to try. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I followed the basic recipe, and it was awful. A waste of perfectly good crab meat. None of the flavors worked together, the onions were overwhelming, there was too much cayenne, and the base itself wasn't creamy and thick enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      I cut down on the Sherry to 1/4 cup simply because I am not used to cooking with it and the flavor tends to be too overwhelming for me.

      I can't say this was bad, but there really wasn't anything special about the flavor. No one in my house raved about it. It was kind of bland. I recommend spicing it up and serving with garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      This was good, very rich. I used imitation crab as usual for budget reasons. I also cut the cayenne to 1/4 tsp which was plenty for us. I only cooked the carrots/onions in roux/broth for 10-15 minutes because it was getting pretty thick. Lots of flavors dancing on the palate. Made with #219522 Chive and Cheddar Biscuits. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      I made this twice within a month. There is not 1 thing I would change about this recipe. Just made it this morning craving it all night long. I am also glad my husband cannot eat crab, just more for me. thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      I'm still a novice at cooking I suppose, but this recipe was not only easy to make, but tasted awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Awesome recipe! I used the imitation crab meat & it was an instant hit in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      This recipe was mediocre at best as it turns out to be more of an onion and crab/lobster bisque (I wasn't looking for an onion bisque recipe). This recipe calls for way too much onion (1 cup minced). It is overpowering and distracts from the essence of the bisque. I recommend cutting down the onion to 1/4 to 1/3 cup at most. I also think the carrot is a bit much and would recommend 3/4 cup minced carrots. I also added another 4 oz. of crab to help overcome the overpowering onion. I would give the recipe 2.5 stars if able (as written). Sorry...this one missed the mark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Very simple and easy to make. My husband loved it, but next time I will cut way back on the Sherry. I used Harvey's Bristol Creme as opposed to regular cooking Sherry. I am not certain if it made a difference, but I found the taste and smell of the Sherry overwhelming. I certainly have nothing against alcohol, but it was just too much for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      I would like to say that I followed this recipe to the letter, But I did use 3 x 4oz. lobster tails, and I used 4 big king crab claws to it. I also added some 2 handfuls of parmesan cheese. It was like a piece of heaven. It was so good and rich. I'm not sharing this with anyone but hubby for right now. It's easy, its flavorful, everything you could ever want in a bisque. It's one that I'm going to make over and over again. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      made this recipe this evening - I omitted the cooking sherry because i didn't have any, other than that i followed the recipe exactly. I thought it tasted a little bland, so I started adding different spices. Starting with Old Bay Seasoning, then Garlic Powder, and my husband suggested the last thing (the topper) Celery Salt. This recipe is definitely a keeper in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I made this last night for my DH's birthday and we loved it! I rate it as a five star and my DH rates it as a 4.5 star. (He could not say why it was not five star. . . ) I made it as directed, but added extra lemon as previously suggested. Oh, also, after reading other recipes, I simmered the lobster scraps in water and added a little lobster base to create my own lobster stock to use instead of the chicken broth. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Had a leftover lobster and decide to try this recipe for hubby (huge lobster bisque fan). Got a two thumbs up. Will absolutely make again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Simple to make and delicious! Made with already cooked Jumbo lump crab. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Nice recipe, Getting ready to do it now! I generally use a shellfish stock, in this case made with the crab shells instead of using chicken stock. I also love the taste of paprika, which along with the cayenne will pink the color right up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      This was excellent. Based on the other reviews I did cut the sherry in half. Nice spiciness to this, very rich. I also used homemade chicken stock. Will definitely use this recipe again. Only change I might make next time is using 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lobster or Crab Bisque

    Serving Size: 1 (354 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 406.9
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    60%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 132.9 mg
    44%
    Sodium 633.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes