Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lobster Bisque Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lobster Bisque

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2011

      This is a great recipe and with a couple changes its even better. A lobster bisque is traditionally smooth and creamy. This recipe even when finely chopped is not. To change this (before adding the lobster pieces) we used a plunge blender and pureed the batch then put thru a course strainer giving a smooth creamy delicious bisque.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Absolutely Delicious!!! I love this recipe! I made this on a Thursday and my husband and I enjoyed it so much we made it again two days later for my cousin and her fiancee. They loved it too. My cousin even said it was the best Lobster Bisque she has ever had. It was very quick and easy to make. I followed the recipe to the letter the first time I made it. The second time around I added five more garlic cloves because we are garlic fiends and at my husbands request I substituted the Tabasco for Frank's Red Hot (because it's what he prefers). It was super tasty both ways. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      I wanted something special for my Christmas seafood extravaganza and this sounded great. I can't eat dairy so had to rely on "testers" who had bisque experience prior to serving the recipe. Two out of four thought there was too much tomato paste in the recipe so I dropped that to 2 oz. and added 1/4 cup more hot water. For my test recipe I bought an 8 oz. package of man made lobster chunks. It is made from pollock. The first tester commented that the 'lobster' was wonderfully tender with no tough bits. The other three testers never noticed that it was not real lobster either. That alone makes this recipe extra easy to do. I had freshly cracked crab left over from my crab sutffed portobello mushrooms so added that to real fresh lobster I used in the final bisque. Dinner guests raved about the bisque. Oh, used Louisiana hot sauce because I did not have tabasco and as one of the other reviewers suggested ran the mixture (prior to adding the cream/butter) thru the blender to make it creamier. I plan to make the recipe thru step 10 and freeze it for later use. Thanks for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      First of all, my husband doesn't like dry sherry, so I used brandy instead. I also used 1 whole shallot and instead of green onions I used 1 leek. I made a soup the other day where the thyme overpowered the flavor, so I reduced the thyme to 1/4 teaspoon. The soup was good, but required salt and pepper to taste. When I make it again (which will be today!), I will OMIT the lobster (I had frozen) which disappointing, and I will also reduce the amount of tomato paste (by half), which I felt was overpowering.

      The base of this soup was good, and it was quite easy to make. And best of all, with my revisions, all the ingredients are things I always have on hand, so I can make this anytime! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This was AMAZING!! My first attempt of making lobster bisque, and it turned out delicious!! I did much rearch to find the perfect recipe for a dinner party. I was nervous, as it was my first try at it. This recipe was so great, easy to follow, and it turned out delicious. After adding the cream, I added extra lobster boulion to give it extra flavor. You have to taste test it before you add the lobster to make sure you have the perfect base. I added extra lobster meat and it was pefect! I was concerned with the 1 star review, however any good chef tastes their recipe and adds an extra flair, before leaving the kitchen. This was a 5 STAR recipe!! I got many compliments and will make this a staple to our future family dinner parties, as it is wonderful. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      This is quick and easy, but the important part is that it tastes AWESOME! I will certainly make it again and again. What a treat and so easy! I did substitute chicken bouillon for the lobster base. I couldn't see buying that for one recipe. I may invest in it in the future since I'll be making this again, but just want everyone to know that it was still awesome with the chicken base. Enjoy it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Made this recipe for the first time when my kids were coming for dinner. It got rave reviews. As per some of the suggestions, i increased the lobster base quite a bit, since i made 4 times the recipe. i did get bread bowls and my family loved the bisque being served in them. thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      FANTASTIC! Easy to make too. I had to sub seafood base with seafood base and I did add 2 extra garlic cloves. Excellent flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      Wow! What a wonderful recipe! My DH absolutely loved it! I live in a land-locked north Texas city and only had frozen, warm-water lobster tail. I was amazed that my grocery store had lobster base and when I saw that I knew I had to try this dish! The recipe didn't state whether the lobster should be cooked before adding, so I went ahead and boiled it for a few minutes before adding to the bisque. Cooked the recipe exactly as written and it was primo! Thanks for posing it and congratulations for your innovations for such a fantastic bisque!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      OMG! This is so good! I compair it to Brio's Lobster Bisque

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      This was INSANELY DELICIOUS!!!!!! I increased the garlic and subbed 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy cream (always calorie/fat conscious!) and who the heck needed the extra fat? Not us! We ADORED this!!! This was hands down the best soup/bisque I've had in my whole life. The flavor mingling was insane and the final dish...to die for. My go to from here on. WONDERFUL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This is one delicious bisque. I made it as shrimp bisque and it was great. Had to use chicken base and half and half for the cream. Still great flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Yum!!! I used two bottles of clam juice instead of lobster base and water, 1 2/3 cups whole milk and 2/3 cup cream rather than all cream, and skipped the butter. We had a little crab left from the night before, so that went in as well. Two of my college age kids voted it the best soup they'd ever eaten- this in a household with at least one kind of homemade soup in the fridge at all times. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      Look's good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This recipe is great! I have made it several times now. The only thing I changed was to add shrimp pieces and some crab meat I had left over from my Maryland crab dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      Tastes great! I actually enjoy the bits of onion at the bottom of the pot, tastes great with bread when you wipe your bowl. The only one thing I would change to this recipe is adding a little less heavy cream. I doubled the recipe so using 4 cups of cream make my bisque a tad watery. Now i know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      This is a great base recipe. I tweeked it a little or a lot depending on your perspective. The lobster stock was not that hard to make but it was time consuming. I roasted the lobster shells first then made a normal stock. I added garlic to the shallots and then tomatoe paste and deglazed the pan with the wine and brandy. After adding the lobster stock and letting simmer for 30 min I added salt pepper, cumin, and Worcestershire. Everything else I followed to the letter. My family raved about this bisque and I will defiantly make this again at the end of next summer when the final lobsters are coming out of the traps and our local lobster-man are wrapping up the season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Loved this soup!<br/>Just a few suggestions....Agree with previous reviewer regarding blenderizing the mixture prior to whisking in the butter and the cream. Also, we used smoked paprika which gave it is a very unique flavor. You can also cut the butter by 2 TBL (we used unsalted butter.) Our soup was slightly sweet due to the sweeter wines used. We would suggest using dryer wines. We also increased the amount of onions used to a half cup combined minced shallots and green onions (tops and bottoms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      WOW what a great recipe! This is a recipe I can make over and over and still get amazing results that make me feel like I'm a better cook then I am! I did add and change a few things though I did add old bay seasoning it just really enhanced the flavor of the lobster ( and sometimes I will substitute lobster for crab cause I'm not made of money) I also added saffron wow it really added a whole new taste to it when I let it simmer in at the end. Then instead of using Worcester sauce I used Lea& Perrins marinade for chicken it is a subtler way to achieve the Worcester taste with out the potency! Amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This was my first attempt at Lobster Bisque and I was thrilled with the result! It was sweet and hearty at the same time - I used a fresh lobster and it was amazing. Served this to a group of friends of mine for a cold evening gathering used my three way crockpot/warmer with clam chowder & chili (all homemade) and this and the Chili tied for first amongst my guests. I am so proud of myself :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lobster Bisque

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1246.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1012
    81%
    Total Fat 112.5 g
    173%
    Saturated Fat 69.7 g
    348%
    Cholesterol 531.5 mg
    177%
    Sodium 1322.1 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    35%
    Protein 27.3 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lobster base

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes