65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We'll use this "recipe" from here on out. I always hesitate to make a steak at home because I can't get it right. Now I can! I am super happy about that! Thank you yooper! I know it's just steak, but this has really made my whole summer!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two April 22, 2010

I grilled my steaks (we like Sirloins over any else). I always season mine with Lawry's, Kosher salt, and fresh ground pepper. But had never brushed both sides with oil. That was a great touch I will do from now on with my steaks! Grilled it as you said and it was great. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Baker April 03, 2010

Great steak. We had this the other night and we loved it. Simple, yet lets the steaks true flavors come out. Thank you for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 21, 2009

Hooray! I have the perfect way to get that steak with the lovely seared crust on the outside but juicy and perfect inside. We do all our steaks this way now, though we usually avoid the salt and use a steak butter (softened butter, 1/2 T per serving, mixed with 1 tsp favorite steak seasoning). Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht August 10, 2009

So this is how it is done!! I could never get that great crispness on my steaks.now everyone raves about my steaks...thanks Yooper....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise July 26, 2003

I'm a bit late reviewing this. I grilled steaks all summer using your technique and they turned out great. Thanks for this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redox February 28, 2011

Simple & Perfect! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KerryB5 February 14, 2011

Seriously perfect... you don't need to add anything else!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crknowlan July 16, 2010

This method does make the perfect grilled steak and I am happy I found it here! Thanks Yooper for this winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay June 03, 2009

Fan-freaking-tastic. I gave this recipe to my father (who usually is hit or miss with his steaks) to use for Mother's Day. We had flat irons, and ohmygosh, they all came out absolutely PERFECT. I'm a huge steak fanatic (okay, steak snob) and these were just as tasty as any restaurant. This method is sticking around!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelseyKalle May 11, 2009
Lobel's Guide to Grilling The Perfect Steak