16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved these cookies & took the rest to work with rave reviews. These are very tasty & there are lots of good ingredients. We enjoyed the extra spices. The glaze was a nice touch but not necessary. For those wanting the cut the sugars, you could do away with this step & still have a tasty cookie. We did some with & some without the glaze. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 February 07, 2011

Wow! DH made as a gift for taking him to Er (blew a day of planting) - compromise cookie as he likes a certain spice cookie & I like oatmeal raisin. Eating them warm now - will consider the glaze - afraid it will make my teeth ache though. Thanks for a great keeper recipe Sharlene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend May 30, 2010

This would be a great Christmas cookie not only for it's flavor but because it keeps well. This time I made these using chocolate coated raisins and only 1 cup of brown sugar (not packed). I also used the 3 cups of c.sugar in the glaze. It would have been too sweet if I had used the full amount of br.sugar in the cookie. Rebaking for another 8-10 minutes will bring the crisp back if they get too soft. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marisk December 02, 2009

These are very good! I've made them before without the raisins; with or without they are great. I use pecans and I used 3 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting. They are always gone right away!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAcupcake November 29, 2009

We really liked these cookies but did not like the icing. I did cut back on the ginger I am not a ginger fan. I added more cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrylynn March 29, 2009

The cookies are fabulous naked, but over the top, slap-your-mama fantastic with the brown butter glaze!!! These will definitely be part of my Christmas gifts this year. I followed the recipe exactly, except forgot to put the vanilla in the batter so I'm sure they'll be even more incredible next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vraklis March 27, 2009

These were good,very moist.But for my preference I prefer an oatmeal cookie that just has the taste of the oatmeal and a dash of cinnamon.These were more like a gingerbread or spice cookie.If I were to make these again I would also add extra oatmeal,maybe another 1/2 cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny February 10, 2008

Amazing! What else can I say? Wouldn't change a single thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 November 11, 2007

These were great cookies soft and moist. I thought the glaze was better with 1 extra cup of powdered sugar like the original recipe calls for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Cookie June 24, 2007

I Love these cookies so much I can't stop eating them..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#1 Baker April 11, 2007
Loaded Oatmeal Cookies (Paula Deen)