335 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

best potato recipe I think I have every had.... almost need to make a double recipe just so I have left overs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina W. November 26, 2013

I decided to make this recipe a bit healthier. I substituted veganaise for miracle whip, soybean bacos for bacon, and vegan sour cream. I did use skim sharp cheddar -- about half the amount. This greatly reduced the amount of fat and calories.<br/><br/>I took this to a carnivore potluck and nobody noticed the substitutions. Too bad none was left to take home. I also used 1 1/2 the amount of ingredients as suggested by another reviewer so I could take it in a 9x12 disposable pan. <br/><br/>This recipe is a keeper. A big hug to all who shared reviews and the recipe writer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula2006 September 16, 2013

Very yummy! I used five pounds of baby red potatoes, which I boiled whole and then cut up, adding salt to taste. In additon to the green onion I also added a small red onion, very finely chopped. I used mayonnaise instead of Miracle Whip. I baked it in a 9" x 13" pan for 45 minutes and served it hot. I can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna M. August 26, 2013

This was delicious and I'm sure not very low fat! I made exactly as directed. I think I would try it cold too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW August 22, 2013

Just awesome. I usually don't much care for traditional potato salads, but loaded baked potatoes are always a tasty treat so I thought I'd give this recipe a shot. Each bite tasted like a loaded baked potato- we all loved it. The sour cream is what really makes the dish shine, I think. I also used light mayo instead of miracle whip, and it tasted fine. I ate this both cold and warmed up, and I can't decide which way I liked better. This recipe's a keeper, for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer August 19, 2013

I wanted a different potato salad for a bar b q we were having so my sister made this one. So glad she did as it is awesome. Full of flavor and like a loaded, twice baked potato but in casserole form. Just as good cold as warm. It disappeared much faster than any potato salad I've ever made. This is a real winner, I'll be making it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 12, 2013

I have been making this salad for a while now and just yesterday found out that I am "expected" to always bring it. I had a very disappointed group. Once someone tries it, they always go back for seconds. This is my go to potato salad and always cook it and then let it cool a bit before serving. I think that is part of the appeal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianaAgain August 05, 2013

Great recipe. We all loved it. I baked for 20 minutes to get the cheese nicely melted throughout.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 July 28, 2013

Very tasty, I used the recipe for homemade miracle whip #267595 . One thing , I thought the melted cheese made it difficult to eat after it cooled,so next time I'm going to add shredded cheese after it cools down. If your eating it warm,then I guess it won't be an issue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmetgreasemonkey July 03, 2013

Made this for a weekend get together and it was just so so. The salad has everything I love on a baked potatoe but it just didn't work for me. Baked first and then served it at room temperature. Didn't get ate and many requested my regular potatoe salad instead. Sorry, won't try this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlhorn June 24, 2013
Loaded Baked Potato Salad