335 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wasn't real sure what to do about this one. I have the exact same recipe with one difference. So, I have decided not to post mine. Here is my difference - I don't bake mine. I mix it up and serve it cold, the ingredients are all the same. It is my husband's favorite potato salad. So either way - it works. Bake it if you have time or try it my way and just serve it cold.

94 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl June 02, 2002

I thought that this was by far the best potato salad I have ever tried. I added mushrooms and some hot pepper too. It was great! Oh ya, I tried it hot and cold, and the hot was better . . . but it was still damn good cold :).

58 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SID June 23, 2002

This was so good! I cut the recipe in half as there are only 2 of us and it still made enough for about 5 hungry people as a side dish. I had no problems with this recipe, it's perfect!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! June 20, 2002

I made this as my contribution to a Father's Day cookout at a friend's house. There were eight really happy dads that loved this salad - went perfect with steak on the grill! I increased the bacon to 10 slices, and used Miracle Whip as stated, which I thought complimented the other ingredients perfectly. Not so sure mayo would have had enough flavor. THANK YOU!
UPDATED TO ADD: I've had to make this so many times now for cookouts, I've got the quantity of ingredients to use down pat :) For a disposable 13x9" foil pan, I use a 5lbs bag of red potatoes (unpeeled), 15 slices pre-cooked bacon, and all other ingedients are multiplied by 1.5. I bake it for 10 minutes, and the consistency is just perfect once cooled, and I serve at room temperature.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom67 June 13, 2011

The BEST potato salad I have ever had! And the first one I ever made! This was so great, the flavors just worked so well together. This was so much better than traditional potato salad. I did serve it cold, just our preference. Really easy to prepare also. This is DEFINATELY a keeper!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty June 25, 2002

I took this potato salad to my son and daughter-in-law's party and got rave reviews. I served it cold but am looking forward to the time when I can bake it. A little more work than my last recipe but well worth the effort!

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheila fritz June 30, 2002

This was absolutely delicious. I used fat free sour cream, low fat miracle whip, and turkey bacon. It still turned out rich and tasty. I will definitely make this easy dish often.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sallyanne August 21, 2002

I made this for the 4th of July cookathon and it was fantastic.I heated it as directed and also enjoyed it cold. The only thing I altered was the cheese as we use Tex-Mex cheese on our baked potatoes instead of cheddar. It complimented the other flavours well. I will be making this again this weekend for guests and many more times in the future.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Ontario July 05, 2002

Easy & tasty hot or cold. Thanks for posting. This will be a well cooked recipe in this home, winter or summer. :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T June 25, 2002

We loved this. Thanks for a great recipe.
I wanted to add, we don't like Miracle Whip, so we use Mayo with great results.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes April 03, 2011
Loaded Baked Potato Salad