14 Reviews

I am on my 8th day using date molasses having this each morning on an empty stomach as per, http://www.squidoo.com/herballiver-detox. The taste is kind of good actually. I do feel it may be helping with elimination yet I do Oil Pulling when I wake up and that definitely does. I feel I can't rate this correctly as I don't know how the blackstrap molasses would differ. As is with date molasses I give this 4 stars. I was doing Internal Detox for Glowing Skin after my oil pulling each morning and I feel it greatly improves my skin, has a great taste and also is much easier and cheaper to put together than how I make this. I have been using unrefined extra virgin olive oil (healthy, expensive), freshly squeezed lemon juice, and the rest. I may try this with blackstrap molasses if I can get some! I Eat breakfast an hour later which I feel is the healthy way with a detox drink. Fresh lemon definitely does help clean the liver. Made for Special Event ~ Adopt a Veggie Tag!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 19, 2011

I can't actually rate this because unfortunately I couldn't get past the taste. I'm sure that this is super beneficial, and I see that other reviewers have actually enjoyed the taste, but I just could not force myself to drink more than half the glass. I am glad I tried, though, and please don't let it stop you from trying it. Made for Veg*an Swap, June 2010

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose June 11, 2010

I did this for the "I Recommend TAG Game"...on my day 8, my husband decided to join me...truth I have liver/kidney issues so I know what is good or bad to drink and the ingredients of this are all good and good for you...I liked the taste just fine (found it really pleasant) and think I'll just keep it up until the husband is done with it too, (he says he "can't" make it alone- lol)...similar to some cleanse recipes I have tried...I found it totally curbed my appetite for hours and helped my stay off the JOE (the last of my addictions I can't 100% shake)...I only noticed that one other reviewer mentioned improvement in skin...I see it big time...really my complexion is looking good and it has been complemented more then usual this past week...thanks Sharon123 and thanks to Andi of Longmeadow Farm for the recommendation!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free November 18, 2008

I had just experienced a very stressful day when I read this recipe. Yes I was having difficulty with anger, frustration. I was impatient with arrogant, rude people. I was having a problem keeping my cool while some around me were losing theirs (I failed!) I was ready to give up!! Then I read this recipe and thought, well, it's worth a go. My mood probably benefited from a good night's sleep but I have definitely noticed I feel better. This drink is great for keeping you regular ;) - and a healthy bowel makes for a healthy person! I liked that it wasn't a sweet drink and it wasn't savoury, tasty but not overpowering (I used about a cup of water) and very easy to drink first thing in the morning. I'm not very good at breakfast and this drink made me want to eat about an hour later, which is a good thing. Same comment as Andi - I like that this is made from things I have in my pantry anyway and not something expensive from a healthfood store. I'll be using this on a regular basis (no pun intended! :D )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RonaNZ April 18, 2008

I tryed this for 10 days and looked forward to each morning. It did have some very positive effects. One: My adult acne cleared up, it has been an issue for years. Two: My depression lifted, that has also been an issue for years. Thirdly, my outlook in general improved, and I do not thing it was a placibo. I am still stressed because I have been out of work for 6 months, but I do have a healthier attitude. Thank you very much. Will tell my friends about it, and use it again. Thanks for sharing. Be Well. Kathy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kclarkone March 22, 2008

I just started this today so I'm not going to rate it just yet, but I thought I would update after I finished. The taste isn't terrible. It isn't necessarily something I would say I enjoy, but it's not bad at all. I have an issue with the way things smell and this does have a different sort of scent (in my opinion, from the molasses I believe) so I drink it out of a mug that has a lid with a straw. This cuts back on the scent. That may seem silly but it helps! I'll update after a few days! UPDATE: I unfortunately didn't notice HUGE results as I was expecting. Perhaps I should try the recipe a bit longer & stick to a more strict raw foods diet as I was reading that one should do when detoxing. I do want to try this again since the other reviewers had such positive results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle 2 March 30, 2011

Thank you, this is exactly what i've been looking for. I have'nt tried it yet, because i dont have the blackstrap molasses. I plan on starting it first thing in the morning. I have bad skin, and NOTHING works for me. I also sweat ALOT! I've researched on the internet, and have learned that this can be due to a congested liver. I drink excessive amounts of soda, which i know is'nt good for me. Other liver cleanses are too complicated and contain way too much olive oil to drink! For those of you who are running to the bathroom, it's stagnant bile! That's what the olive oil is used for. It's also used to soften gallstones. I will post a reply to this once i'm half-way through my cleanse. thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mecca s. February 11, 2010

My husband has hepatitis C, he's 70 and had a transplant 9 years ago. He started having memory problems and confusion, and most of the symptoms the author mentioned. He's on the fifth day of this and he seems to be much improved in all of the areas. I changed the olive oil to flax oil and am juicing an entire lemon. Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez CC November 12, 2009

I tried this because I am quite tired, stressed from overwork, and hoped for some improvement. I waited so long to review it because I wanted to give it the 10 days to work. I will say that this drink does work to make you "quite regular", and that is good to an extent...but there is also too much of a good thing! I ended up halving the ingredients so that I could still work and not have to run to the bathroom all day! I did not notice significant improvement in my fatigue and stress levels, but my job is impossible right now. I did see improvement in my skin...less dryness and just a smoother quality. Made for I Recommend tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 09, 2009

This was much better tasting than I expected. I added a 1/2 tsp of honey to sweeten it up a bit and drank it pretty fast beause I figured it would stay blended better when it was hot. I also wanted to avoid the last few sips being thick from the molasses, honey & oil settling. Now lets just see if it works!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssewell September 28, 2008
Liver Detox