Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Liver Detox Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Liver Detox

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2011

      I am on my 8th day using date molasses having this each morning on an empty stomach as per, http://www.squidoo.com/herballiver-detox. The taste is kind of good actually. I do feel it may be helping with elimination yet I do Oil Pulling when I wake up and that definitely does. I feel I can't rate this correctly as I don't know how the blackstrap molasses would differ. As is with date molasses I give this 4 stars. I was doing Internal Detox for Glowing Skin after my oil pulling each morning and I feel it greatly improves my skin, has a great taste and also is much easier and cheaper to put together than how I make this. I have been using unrefined extra virgin olive oil (healthy, expensive), freshly squeezed lemon juice, and the rest. I may try this with blackstrap molasses if I can get some! I Eat breakfast an hour later which I feel is the healthy way with a detox drink. Fresh lemon definitely does help clean the liver. Made for Special Event ~ Adopt a Veggie Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I can't actually rate this because unfortunately I couldn't get past the taste. I'm sure that this is super beneficial, and I see that other reviewers have actually enjoyed the taste, but I just could not force myself to drink more than half the glass. I am glad I tried, though, and please don't let it stop you from trying it. Made for Veg*an Swap, June 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I did this for the "I Recommend TAG Game"...on my day 8, my husband decided to join me...truth I have liver/kidney issues so I know what is good or bad to drink and the ingredients of this are all good and good for you...I liked the taste just fine (found it really pleasant) and think I'll just keep it up until the husband is done with it too, (he says he "can't" make it alone- lol)...similar to some cleanse recipes I have tried...I found it totally curbed my appetite for hours and helped my stay off the JOE (the last of my addictions I can't 100% shake)...I only noticed that one other reviewer mentioned improvement in skin...I see it big time...really my complexion is looking good and it has been complemented more then usual this past week...thanks Sharon123 and thanks to Andi of Longmeadow Farm for the recommendation!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      I had just experienced a very stressful day when I read this recipe. Yes I was having difficulty with anger, frustration. I was impatient with arrogant, rude people. I was having a problem keeping my cool while some around me were losing theirs (I failed!) I was ready to give up!! Then I read this recipe and thought, well, it's worth a go. My mood probably benefited from a good night's sleep but I have definitely noticed I feel better. This drink is great for keeping you regular ;) - and a healthy bowel makes for a healthy person! I liked that it wasn't a sweet drink and it wasn't savoury, tasty but not overpowering (I used about a cup of water) and very easy to drink first thing in the morning. I'm not very good at breakfast and this drink made me want to eat about an hour later, which is a good thing. Same comment as Andi - I like that this is made from things I have in my pantry anyway and not something expensive from a healthfood store. I'll be using this on a regular basis (no pun intended! :D )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I tryed this for 10 days and looked forward to each morning. It did have some very positive effects. One: My adult acne cleared up, it has been an issue for years. Two: My depression lifted, that has also been an issue for years. Thirdly, my outlook in general improved, and I do not thing it was a placibo. I am still stressed because I have been out of work for 6 months, but I do have a healthier attitude. Thank you very much. Will tell my friends about it, and use it again. Thanks for sharing. Be Well. Kathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      I just started this today so I'm not going to rate it just yet, but I thought I would update after I finished. The taste isn't terrible. It isn't necessarily something I would say I enjoy, but it's not bad at all. I have an issue with the way things smell and this does have a different sort of scent (in my opinion, from the molasses I believe) so I drink it out of a mug that has a lid with a straw. This cuts back on the scent. That may seem silly but it helps! I'll update after a few days! UPDATE: I unfortunately didn't notice HUGE results as I was expecting. Perhaps I should try the recipe a bit longer & stick to a more strict raw foods diet as I was reading that one should do when detoxing. I do want to try this again since the other reviewers had such positive results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Thank you, this is exactly what i've been looking for. I have'nt tried it yet, because i dont have the blackstrap molasses. I plan on starting it first thing in the morning. I have bad skin, and NOTHING works for me. I also sweat ALOT! I've researched on the internet, and have learned that this can be due to a congested liver. I drink excessive amounts of soda, which i know is'nt good for me. Other liver cleanses are too complicated and contain way too much olive oil to drink! For those of you who are running to the bathroom, it's stagnant bile! That's what the olive oil is used for. It's also used to soften gallstones. I will post a reply to this once i'm half-way through my cleanse. thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      My husband has hepatitis C, he's 70 and had a transplant 9 years ago. He started having memory problems and confusion, and most of the symptoms the author mentioned. He's on the fifth day of this and he seems to be much improved in all of the areas. I changed the olive oil to flax oil and am juicing an entire lemon. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I tried this because I am quite tired, stressed from overwork, and hoped for some improvement. I waited so long to review it because I wanted to give it the 10 days to work. I will say that this drink does work to make you "quite regular", and that is good to an extent...but there is also too much of a good thing! I ended up halving the ingredients so that I could still work and not have to run to the bathroom all day! I did not notice significant improvement in my fatigue and stress levels, but my job is impossible right now. I did see improvement in my skin...less dryness and just a smoother quality. Made for I Recommend tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This was much better tasting than I expected. I added a 1/2 tsp of honey to sweeten it up a bit and drank it pretty fast beause I figured it would stay blended better when it was hot. I also wanted to avoid the last few sips being thick from the molasses, honey & oil settling. Now lets just see if it works!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Wow. I expected this to taste horrible, but its actually pretty good. By the last few sips its a bit harder to get down, but overall not to bad. I'm hoping to get some positive affects with it, I just started it today. I left out the EVOO cause I just cant bring myself to drink oil, lol. Let you know if I get any good results from it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This is day three of using this special "tea" and I think this is wonderful. During a very stressful week I was looking for something healthy, satisfying, savory, and had all the ingredients on hand without sending me to the bank for expensive products. This is the bomb! I don't know if it really is helping my liver, however; this tea slows me down, gives me a moment to take for myself, and allows me to relax for a quick bit. Thank you Sharon, for sharing this very special healthy drink. Here's to you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I forgot I did this last year! It wasn't too bad the first few days, but I DO remember it being very difficult to 'get down' by days 6 thru 10. But I did it. I just didn't have any positive changes 'happen' that were expected. I'm still angry and tired! LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Not rating yet. Just a comment. The taste is very strong and it helps to use 3/4 C water. Will try to use this for the next ten days. UPDATE: I see Sharon adjusted the amount of water for the recipe, so my comment is no longer needed! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Liver Detox

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    66%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites