11 Reviews

Excellent Corned Beef hash! I made the hash as directed and thought it would be way too much for two of us. 'Someone' ate a huge portion :) I did go with the bechamel option but I find most bechamel a little bland so I used the trick a restauranteur taught me. When it is all blended I added a whole clove of garlic and 1/2 an onion. I fished these out before serving. The poached eggs on top were a great touch. Served with toast on the side. Yum.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned October 25, 2010

I made this hash this morning for breakfast so I could use my left over St. Patty's corned beef and veggies. (I also made a soup for lunch using almost the same ingredients). I served it with scrambled eggs and toast. I did not have a scallion or fresh rosemary, but I'm sure that would have boosted the flavors even more. I also used the Bechamel. Extremely quick and quite easy to prepare. Thank you for a very good recipe. Made for PRMR - Spring 2013

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 March 22, 2013

So delicious! I didn't have scallions on hand, so I just increased the amount of chopped onion. The peppers and the parsley add so much flavor! Instead of Bechamel sauce, I made microwave Hollandaise, as that is the family favorite. I did increase the potatoes a bit. The next time I prepare this recipe, I will omit the rosemary---this is not a criticism, just a personal preference. Altogether a great recipe, do try it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica March 21, 2012

I really liked the flavor of the rosemary in the hash. Very good! I don't think I'll ever to out for corned beef hash and poached eggs again! I was glad that there was no worchestershire sauce in this recipe, some I've tried in the past relied on it for most of the flavor, which isn't what a good CBH should taste like. Thanks for posting. Made and reviewed for Zaar Tag Aug, 2005.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simply Chris August 07, 2005

Absolutely delicious! A super way to make use of the leftover Corned beef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal March 25, 2010

Needed to use up some leftover Simple Corned Beef - Crock Pot and this fit the bill perfectly. Made up only half the sauce and it was enough for us. TFS the good stuff.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive November 09, 2009

Very good but think I would like it better with ham. But it was a good recipe to use up left over corned beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 25, 2009

DH loves corned beef hash and this was no exception. The rosemary adds a very interesting and different flavor. I looked at the nutritional values and went wow! Well after making this, I believe that the folks at Little Rooster's must have very large appetites. I used 1 medium potato which was diced small, a combination of red and green bell peppers and a leek in place of the scallions. I did make the Bechamel sauce using fat free milk. With one potato this recipe easily feed four topped with a fried egg and a side order of toast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 08, 2009

This was pretty tasty. Served with a poached egg on top and the sauce. Liked the taste of nutmeg. Easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pha June 27, 2008

I made this hash using leftover pork from a tenderloin rather than the corned beef called for. The rosemary, as noted by other reviewers, provides a different flavour element than you would normally expect from a hash, but it was very good, especially with the pork. I doubled the amount of onions as the ones we have now are new harvest and very sweet and juicy and begging to be used. I opted out on the bechamel to save a few calories, but did top each serving with a fried egg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 03, 2007
Little Rooster's Cafe Corned Beef Hash