47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Dangerously wonderful. Not exact, but so darn close you won't be able to leave them alone! Tips: 1. make on parchment paper 2. make smaller than the TBSP recommended a TSP woud be much better, as the tbsp spreads to about 4in. 3. let cool on cookie sheet completely, they'll be easier to handle. 4. Double the filling. 5. Be very careful with your molasses, if you go overboard, it wil be overpowering. You could probably get away with leaving it out especially if using DARK brown sugar. YUM!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kate_stierman February 02, 2010

These are incredibly close to the original! We can't get marshmallow cream here so I subbed 7 oz. of marshmallows, rinsed them to get rid of the cornstarch and melted them in the microwave before adding the other ingredients - the filling was a bit rubbery, so I would recommend using the real stuff if possible. I think I will leave the salt out of the filling next time though, as they seemed a bit salty to us. Had trouble getting the cookies off of my airbake pan, but no problem with my jelly roll pan - not sure why.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miriachi January 25, 2010

I tried this recipe tonight it was better than Little Debbie. I think it was because they were fresh and so wonderful to eat them while they were still warm. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustaQT April 19, 2003

WOW!! I'm so impressed with how authentic these taste. The cookie part taste identical to a real little debbie oatmeal cream pie! They are so good. The only issue I ran into was with the filling. I did use butter and only added 6tbls. instead of the 8. The filling was too runny. I don't know if it had anything to do with the fact I used butter and not shortening, but I will definitely be making these again and again with the exception of tweaking the filling. Overall, these are a must try!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chwild August 06, 2011

Reeeeallly good! I don't know how they compare to Little Debbie as it's probably been 20 years since I've eaten one, but my kids and husband loved them! The only change I made was to use butter in the filling (didn't have any shortening) and then added a bit more powdered sugar to help thicken it up a bit. If you want a lot of filling you might want to double it, but I thought it was a good amount so the sweetness of the filling didn't totally overwhelm the flavor of the oatmeal cookies which are really tasty on their own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dex & Eli's mama August 13, 2012

These honestly couldn't be any better! Just like LD's only SOOOO much better. The only criticism I have is, that like one of the other reviews said, there is not enough filling for all of the cookies (and we didn't use very much in each). It won't change my rating though...this is 5 star all the way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy January 19, 2012

Made these..and lets just say they didn't last long. My hubby said they were the best sweet thing he has had in a long time! will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manfa December 22, 2010

These are wonderful! Better than the real thing! I am not a fan of sweets and I eat these little cookies like nobody's business! I made them for Christmas, and since then have made them 2 other times just for myself. Thank you for a 10 STAR recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle February 08, 2010

OMG! I made these last night, and they were absolutely wonderful! I have 3 lil' girls and they cant get enough! Followed the recipe to a "T". When we make them next time, I think I might make the cookies abit smaller. Thanks for posting this totally addicting recipe! =)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi Ranta October 03, 2004

These are just wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeTG May 18, 2003
Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie