Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lithuanian Mixed Vegetable Salad (Darzoviu Misraine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lithuanian Mixed Vegetable Salad (Darzoviu Misraine)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2012

      It's hot today and this recipe was really perfect for us.
      i'ts a delicious alternative to the usual potatoes sald and offers more veggies!
      I used canned beets, frozen peas and instead of sour cream I used plain yogurt with an addition of lemon juice as this is what I have at home. I really had all other ingredients at home and recipe worked perfectly for me and I'm really sure I will prepare it again.
      Thanks a lot for this summer dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      This is a very nice salad! I wrapped my olive oil coated beet in foil and baked it for 1 hour at 350F. I used red potatoes and peeled and diced them and the carrots and put them in boiling water for 15 minutes. I used red onion and uncooked frozen peas. I omitted the egg but used everything else. I mixed everything up in the pot I had boiled and drained the potatoes and carrots in after they were cooled. I also added 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice. I think the fresh dill is a must...I had to go out to the store for it while everything was cooling and I'm glad I did!...I've never used so much at one time but it really makes the salad. I enjoyed the crunch of the onion and the pop of the peas. This was very colorful before adding the sour cream and then the beets make it pink but that is kinda cool...perhaps it could be served at a baby shower! Thanks for this healthy, tasty recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      I made this salad, omitting pickles cos I don't like them and with eggs on top as I stored some of the salad for the next day. thanks so much cos I really loved it, for taste and colours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      I also grew up in a Lithuanian household having this salad. Beets were a staple and this is one of my favorite, flavorful salads. This particular recipe tastes just like my grandmother's. Misraine is a flexible vegetable salad, so white beans and other veggies were often mixed in, too - kind of a kitchen sink food. Horseradish is another great flavor to add.<br/>Today I made it for a bridal shower. I always serve it in a white bowl to highlight the beautiful color and keep the focus on the food. <br/>And yes, to get the real flavor of the dish the fresh dill (and lots of it) is a must. I too substitute plain or Greek yogurt if sour cream is not in hand.<br/>Even adults and kids who think they do not like beets or veggies, love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Made & reviewed for Ramadan Tag 2009 in the NA*ME forum. Wow, this is such a lovely salad. It kind of reminds me of a cross between a cypriot betroot salad & a regular potato salad - really, really good! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks duonyte for a great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This is so good! I just love everything about it. I wish I could give it more stars. The ingredients go very well together, and in just the right amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Oh my goodness! I LOVED this salad when I was young. My mother passed away several years ago and she didn't write any of her recipes down. THANK YOU!!! Virginia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Delightfully different veggie salad! I used canned beets and I only slightly cooked the carrots. Even though this used lots of dill, I still found the dressing to be quite bland. I later went back and stirred in a bit of prepared creamy horseradish and Dijon mustard and that did the trick! I'd certainly make this again with my dressing additions. Thanx for shring your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lithuanian Mixed Vegetable Salad (Darzoviu Misraine)

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.3
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    33%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 51.0 mg
    17%
    Sodium 513.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes