9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

O.M.G. Where are the other stars! DH wanted to rate this 100, no not 10, but 100 stars! This is comfort food at it's best. I just loved the aroma that this gave my kitchen for most of the day. I kept (I know I shouldn't have but couldn't help my self) looking in the pot. This may not be the most attractive dish I have made but it really is one of the most flavorful! I made no changes up to and including step 4. Just served this with a nice German rye bread with butter. Thanks for posting and this is going in my best of 2009 cookbook. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas February 07, 2009

This was definitely different, and a welcome change of pace for my leftover ham bones. I didn't have a lot of meat on them, so I used a 2-lb. piece of smoked ham as well (we like ham, so more is better). I think next time I'll cut back on the chicken stock and use more water, as it came out a bit too chicken-y for our taste. In all, a satisfying and pretty tasty soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felix4067 November 17, 2009

This was great. I had never had cabbage soup because it didn't sound appealing to me. But the combination of cabbage and sauerkraut sounded interesting. I'm glad I tried it. I will make it again. Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* July 01, 2009

This is amazingly delicious. I didn't rinse the sauerkraut because we like the flavor. I'll be making this economical, yummy dinner again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply April 11, 2009

A delicious old country style soup. The combination of sauerkraut and raw cabbage is very tasty. I rinsed and drained the sauerkraut because we do prefer a milder taste. I tied the peppercorns and bay leaves in a piece of cheesecloth (from Dollar Store), tied it with kitchen string, leaving a long end, and tied it to the soup pot handle to make it easy for removal. Instead of the water I used one 14 oz. can tomatoes. It was delicious with thick chunks of French bread and butter. Will make again and try the shredded carrots instead of the tomatoes too. Another great recipe to add to my 'favorites' soup binder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan March 09, 2007

I will be honest, I did not like the smell or the taste after the first 2 hours of cooking time. I used about a 2 1/2 lb. meaty ham bone and added only 1 c. of water plus 1 can of undrained diced tomatoes (in place of the extra c. of water & fresh tomato) and the onions at the start of the cook time. I decided it was too sour for my taste (I prefer Bavarian-style kraut over the regular kind), so I added 3 or 4 T. brown sugar and 1 T. caraway seeds when I added the cabbage. I served over fried spaetzle, with rye/pumpernickel bread on the side and it was awesome!! It might not be authentic Lithuanian the way I made it but it sure was tasty. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy October 17, 2014

We're a family from Russia, so I've made Schi (cabbage) soup forever. I do not use chicken broth or stock, but cook broth first using Country style pork ribs. I normally let it cool in the fridge for the night. Then I take the fat off it and use it (plus unsalted butter) for sauteeing shredded carrot and some chopped parsley. I use tomato paste instead of tomatoes. After all the cabbages are soft, I add sauteed veggies and it colors the Schi beautifully ! Main thing is to keep the lid on Enameled pot partly open, so soup doesn't boil and your super pretty "top" doesn't wash overboard. I normally add a little sugar at the end, to taste. We always serve it with the dallop of good Sourcream. Bon appetite !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msterin_12817088 October 08, 2014

This IS not just a wonderfully tasty soup, but very healthy.
Only (important) change would be your "chicken stock"... use
home-made or store bought Organic Vegetable Stock instead.
The ham will give the soup an intense enough meat flavor & the
veggie stock is healthier anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maciokas December 01, 2012

Thank you so much for this recipe. My mother-in-law has taught all her children, in-laws, grand-children and great grand-children to love Lithuanian food, but it will all die with her, as she is so very jealous of her recipes that she won't pass them on. So I can only rely on lovely people like yourself to give me the clues to my children's and grand-children's food heritage. I find this very sad. I pass on any and all recipes I have from my side (scottish) but my husband's side has to come from what I can glean from sites like this.
Thank you again; this recipe has already made it into my tiny collection of Lithuanian recipes.
Beverley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iknitok July 24, 2010
Lithuanian Cabbage Soup (Kopustu Sriuba)