8 Reviews

Bergy, thank you for posting this recipe! Finally I have found a perfect canned fish/pasta bake that I LOVE! This is so good! I had to make a couple of subs, firstly I used cream of chicken and corn soup instead of just chicken as it was all I had. I used the regular type as I can't seem to get low-fat here. Also I don't like to have too much pasta so I substituted half the pasta with broccoli which I cooked with the pasta for the last minute of boiling time. This was great as it made it a one-dish meal too. I think this recipe would work great with tuna too and can't wait to try it again. I totally recommend people try this. Thanks!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! December 12, 2002

THis is pretty good. It is reasonably healthy and easy too. So, for all that, it gets 5 stars from me! Next time I will add some peas or something green to make it a little healthier. THanks Bergy....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender January 01, 2011

Wow, what a yummy recipe - we enjoyed this throughly! Unfortunately I didn't have canned salmon, so steamed a few fillets and then flaked them into nice bite sized chunks - I didn't have cream of chicken soup on hand, but did have a can of cream of celery, which I used and found to be complimentary to the dish. Instead of using 1 casserole dish, I baked in 4 individual sized casserole dishes for my own serving ease. This was a quick and easy dish to prepare and another great way to add the deliciuos health benefits of salmon to your every day life!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
- Carla - March 22, 2006

This turned out great!!! I used dried dill, like one of the other reviewers, and instead of parsley and parmesan on top, I added another 1/2 cup of shredded swiss during the last five minutes of cooking (after I took the aluminum foil). This was fast, easy, and delicious! I'm putting this on the usual rotation. To the reviewer who had trouble with canned salmon, some cans of salmon still have the bones and skin intact but it is also sold boneless and skinless. I got the wrong one the first time I bought it and ended up just throwing it out : but it's out there! Canned salmon is the best discovery I've made in ages ;) Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afredorap April 24, 2010

The taste of the dish was fine, but I was naive and thought canned salmon would be like canned tuna. Boy was I wrong, it is boney and has skin in tact. In order to use it for this recipe you need to do more work than I would be willing to do again for a simple comfort food. I'm sticking with tuna casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eurog January 14, 2009

This was great. We often have left over salmon so I'll be using it with this recipe next time. Certainly a handy pantry recipe to have on hand. I found it a little dry even before it went in the oven so I added more milk, and cooked it loosely covered. I also added peas (just cuz kids love them). Was still a little dry for my taste, so next time I'll use less noodles or add more liquid. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner November 29, 2008

We really enjoyed this dish, Bergy! I used sockeye salmon, added some garlic, and made a few changes according to what I had on hand. I used small penne, rather than shell pasta, and 1 1/2 teaspoons dried dill as I didn't have fresh. I only had sliced swiss and didn't fancy shredding it, so I used a bit over 3 ounces (which should compare to 3/4 cup shredded) and cut it in small pieces. I didn't measure, but grated a lot of Parmigiano Reggiano over the top, I'm sure much more than called for. My husband loves casseroles and my son loves salmon, so this was a winner around here. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ November 11, 2005

I really liked the flavor of this dish - the lemon zest gave it a freshness that was totally unexpected. It's not a real saucy dish so if you like lots of sauce you might want to double it. We thoroughly enjoyed it with some fresh asparagus. Also I baked this in a 9x13 instead of a 2 quart casserole. This will definitely be made again and again around here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl March 09, 2004
Lite Salmon & Pasta Casserole