Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lion House Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lion House Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2011

      Best rolls ever! Made them for dinner tonight, and am going to make them to take to Dinner at a family gathering tomorrow night! Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Light, fluffy...even made with about 1/3 or the total flour as whole wheat flour and 2 cups milk instead of the milk powder. Rose well with the yeast. Needed to use slightly MORE flour than the recipe called for. Began using a mixer. Then a wooden spoon. Then my hands for mixing. Was easy to feel the consistancy that way. Loved the ever flour absorbing dough.

      Made them into spiral shapes by rolling out a "string" or "snake" shape and then just spinning it on itself(or wrapping it around itself). Also experimented with a braided circle. I had 24 ENORMOUS size rolls.

      Would only recommend using a round pan to put them in. Make sure there is enough room for rolls to double in size (in all directions). It's okay if they touch after rising.

      Made these with the Tongian Coconut Roll sauce, which gave them a sweet glaze. Can't stop eating them. Eating them with Indian food I made, for breakfast, even giving them as gifts.

      I might try to make this in the bread machine, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't turn out, as you really have to feel the dough for the right consistancy (described well on the recipe).

      I REALLY enjoyed these. Beautiful presentation. Easy to tell when done (tops begin turning a golden honey brown). VERY tastly. Delictable and even consistancy.

      Then down side was that this was extremly time consuming with all of the rises and such.

      But if I ever want a very special bread that makes me look like a prize baker, this is the one I'll use.

      I think they would freeze very well (I gave away some frozen to a friend and they were almost thawed by the time we got there...they looked great!

      Overall, excellent.

      edited to add: bread machine worked like a charm...for kosher bakers: these are minzanot if made only w/ milk and not water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Phenomenal rolls! I used 2 c. of freshly ground whole wheat flour and reduced the yeast to 4 t., and then ended up using about 6 c. of flour total since my dough was so sticky. I ended up with nearly 40 fist-sized rolls, and everyone made short work of them. They are at their absolute best hot from the oven, but even leftovers are wonderful, plain, toasted, or used for sandwiches. The dough is silky and easy to work with after its initial rise, and the rolls rise like an explosion. Really wonderful recipe, and I'll definitely make it often. Thanks a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      These are wonderful rolls!! Big, flaky, and perfect for serving at holiday dinners. I've learned to reduce the yeast to two packets if using the bread flour option. Note that a yeast packet is 2 1/4 teaspoons. Here also are instructions for shaping the rolls according to Lion House Classics cookbook: Once the dough has risen, roll it out on a floured surface into an 8x18" rectangle. It will be 1/4" thick. Brush with melted butter. Cut into eighteen 2x4" portions and roll each up, beginning with short side so that the butter is inside. Place rolls upon a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet, all facing the same direction. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rolls rise until double. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-20 minutes then brush tops with melted butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      These were so flakey and light! You must make the Lion House Honey Butter to go with them. They did not take as long as I expected. From start to finish the entire process only took two and a half hours. It made 24 giant rolls. Also, mine only needed to cook for 10 minutes. So don't set the timer for 15-20 and walk away...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

    • on October 11, 2009

      I love Lion House rolls and these turned out just like the restaurants!!! I melted the butter and gave the let the yeast, milk, and sugar sit for a couple minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients! This recipe is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Grew up eating the real thing and these are just as good! These turned out perfect, both as shamrocks and regular shaped rolls. Beautiful dough. Makes enough for a large crowd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      A total winner! I love anything from Lion House!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Absolutely easy to make and fabulous to eat. I brush melted butter on before they bake and after. My kids love them and I am always asked to make them when I take them to others' home. Highly recommended!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      We love these rolls. (Actually, we love anything from the Lion House...) But these are some of the best rolls we know of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      These are the absolute best rolls I have ever had. I made them in the shamrock shape and they are so tender and soft. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will be making them for thanksgiving. (if I can wait that long)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Count on me to mess up a recipe! I made these rolls with whole wheat white flour, and i'm not sure if it was the flour or me, but these did not turn out at all. They made so many and I had to throw them all away. I will not give up though because this recipe has so many good reviews, I have to keep trying. Next time I will use white flour, and maybe not use my kitchen aid mixer, but a hand mixer in stead. Maybe I blended ingredients too much. I dont know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      These looked nice but didn't have much taste. My DH requested I not make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I am trying to find a recipe that I can alter a bit with whole wheat flour and rye flour to increase the fiber content. I used 2 cups of all purpose flour and 3 cups of various 'whole grain' flours. I increased the yeast by half a tablespoon to help with the heavier flours. These rose unbelievably! After the first rising, I punched the dough down and proceeded to make 3 little balls by pinching off just a little bit of dough, and put them in a muffin tin. Doing this gives those clover shaped rolls that pull apart perfectly! Just repeated until all the dough was used. I got 18 good sized rolls. Covered them and within an hour, they were HUGE. Baked them as directed and they turned out beautifully! So light and fluffy and that is SOMETHING considering the heavier flours that i used! This will certainly be my 'go to' recipe from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These are really good and pretty simple to make. What I like best about them is how they get so big and are great for presentation. I like to make them croissant style. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I wanted to make dinner rolls for Christmas.I made one recipe from a well known cookbook,that was a real disapppointment,texture was rubbery and heavy..I had time to try another recipe and made this one..I am so glad I did. I dont know what Lion House rolls are suppose to taste like,never been there. These rolls were so soft with a wonderful texture,color and taste good.I did brush the tops with butter when I removed them from the oven...I think they tasted better the next day..My SIL said they looked to pretty to eat, but we could all hear him moaning as he ate away...He is a real foody,if he says their good they must be...I cut the dough into squares..Made nice size buns we are using now as sandwich buns..I will freeze leftovers after tonight and use them later on in place of hamberger buns...I will make these often..Thank U for this great recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      Really good rolls. Great with honey butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      These rolls were excellent--light and fluffy, perfect texture. Mine didn't cook all the way in the center so I'll cook them for the full time next time. These rose fast with rapid yeast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      My wife and I tried this recipe and they are amazing. We shared it with our extended family and it is a big hit! They taste just like the real Lion House Dinner Rolls. We did change the recipe a little bit instead of the water and powder milk we just used milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lion House Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.2
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    19%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 20.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 318.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites