10 Reviews

Original review July 1, 2010 These were quite tasty though the filling was a bit on the sweet side for me. DH really liked them a lot as did my auto mechanic who I shared some with - he called me later and said AWESOME! I used a mixture of 2/3 raspberry jam and 1/3 mixed berry (ran out of the 1st). Maybe a little lemon juice would cut some of the sweetness? I used ground almonds in place of the walnuts as I had them on hand. Thanks for sharing we'll make these again! Made for ZWT 6 by one of the Unrulies Under the Influence. Updated review June 20, 2011 - I wish I could give this 5 more stars! This has become my go-to recipe for tart shells - I made a bunch of mini ones for my DD's wedding last July filling them with my version of pastry cream and topping with strawberry slices and fresh raspberries with a little raspberry sauce. I just made a big tart yesterday for Father's day I took out a little dough to make a small tart for my dairy sensitive daughter other wise used a full recipe for the shell. The most important thing is to cook them enough or the stick. Everyone loves these, the crunch cookie shell is a great contrast to the cream and fruit. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 20, 2011

The shortbread crust has a great flavor to it. I used a 9" square springform pan so it was easy to remove my cookies to a cutting board. I would have liked the instructions to specify how many lattice strips we should make. I made 8. I put apricot preserves on one half and raspberry preserves on the other half. I am going to freeze some of the cookies to enjoy later. The cookies taste great with a cold glass of milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 13, 2011

Delicious! Made with raspberry preserves this time. Plan to try lots of flavours in the future. Made for ZWT6 Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B July 01, 2010

Made these as given in the recipe (using apricot preserves) & we were pleased with the results ~ Great little tasties, & something I'll be making again! I particularly like Mommy Diva's idea of using lemon curd! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed for the ZINGO part of ZWT6]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 30, 2010

Easy and tasty recipe I can't wait to make agin. I used lemon curd and cherry jam, but think I'll try these nxt with a chopped up can of Wilderness caramel apple pie filling in my pantry. YUM! Thx for a great recipe! **Made for ZWT6**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 29, 2010

Great tasting bar! The walnuts did add a very wonderful taste, even though walnuts are not my favorite nut. Hmmmm, I wonder how these would taste using hazelnuts...... I tried the bars the way evelyn did, but I used apicot preserves and blackberry preserves. Couldn't make up my mind which were better. Thnx for sharing your recipe, Starrynews. Made for the Voracious Vagabonds of ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 25, 2010

Very nice bar - the walnuts in the crust added a nice texture and flavour. I made half the pan with apricot preserves and half with raspberry jam, as I had both on hand. I liked the apricot best, but the kids enjoyed the 'red side' more. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 22, 2010

A definite must with a cup of tea, I made them with rhubarb and ginger jam Rhubarb-Ginger Jam#219811 and they were sooo nice. My boss at work thinks so too. A very easy recipe to make. I am not very good at cutting things up, so mine were all different sizes, but no one complained about that. I had some left over so we will have that with custard sauce for a pudding. Thank you for posting. Made for ZWT#6 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny June 22, 2010

This was easy with the pat-in-the-pan crust, and I used sugar-free raspberry jam. I had to try a piece as soon as it was cool enough and it was delicious. Thanks for posting Starrynews. Made for the Zwizzle Chicks for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn May 23, 2010

These are wonderful. The zest, cinnamon, and ground cloves give a lovely difference to the dough. I had a sugar-free jar of apricot preserves that needed to be used up and it was just right. I think practically any jam would work and I plan on making this many, many times. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisabetta47 May 16, 2010
Linzer Bars