8 Reviews

This was so good! Exactly my thing, apple cake - wise. I used gluten free cake flour mix, and it turned out fabulous. We had company for coffee in the afternoon, and they asked for seconds! Will make this again. Thanks for sharing :)<br/>Made for CQ 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 12, 2014

This was a tasty recipe. I guess I had traditional apple pie on my mind when I saw this recipe. The dough was very soft and luscious to work with and crisped up nicely fresh from the oven; although after sitting overnight, the crust atop the apples became a bit gooey and soft. The apple filling was more like an apple sauce than pie filling. I added 2 tbs. flour in order for the filling to set enough to cut into nice triangular slices. Overall a nice idea but not quite what we expected. I think I'd like to make this again except next time, I'll press the dough into a cake pan, pour in the uncooked pie filling, crumble on the topping and then bake for 45-60 minutes. Thanks for sharing! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #37)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe February 17, 2010

10 stars Karen !! This for me is, when served with cream, a to die for dessert !!! I made mine with berry , apple and plum. The ease of whipping it up is outstanding. I doubled the fruit and dobbed all the dough on top - just DELICIOUS.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew January 01, 2010

My mom makes the same thing but she turns them into bars. Same spongy dough and the same way she prepares the apples too. When I took some over she said :"How did you get my recipe?" I haven't made this before as I rather asked my mom to make it, now I'm glad I can bake it too for my girls. DD no.1 is a big fan of this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia November 23, 2009

Delicious. I love the way the grated dough turns out over top. I didn't use sugar in my filling, but I did sprinkle brown sugar iver the top before baking. The filling is like a chunky applesauce but bakes up thick and delicious. The slices turn out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla July 01, 2009

I'm giving it a four because I think with the conversion from metric the measurements were off for the dough. I found it to be really sticky even after refrigerating. So - I added extra flour so I could work with it. I never did get to grate the top. Just pinched off pieces of dough and did it that way. My family loved the outcome though. I don't think there is any left. For the apples - I ran them in the microwave for a bit and added ground cinnamon and ground cloves. The recipe doesn't specify the amount of sugar - I added 1/2 cup. I also sprinkled the top of the crust with some cinnamon sugar. All in all - a very tasty recipe. Just a bit difficult to work with the crust. Made for the June 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast June 17, 2009

SCRUMPTIOUS! This is a very tasty apple tart! The crust is so easy to put together and has a great spongy texture. The filling is somewhere between applesauce and apple slices and perfect in every way. I really like the spices used (though I cut back on the cloves using only 2). They complement the apple flavour very well and make this dish special. I really like the crumb topping as well, but my dough was a little too soft for grating so I simply crumbled it over the tart with my fingers. That worked nicely. Before baking I sprinkled the top with cinnamon-brown sugar to get extra crispiness. SOOOO YUMMY! Thank you so much for sharing this here, Karen Elizabeth! Made for Veg'n Swap #7 February 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 04, 2009

What an excellent and easy dessert this is. Five stars isn't really enough. The dough was very easy to put together, and I especially love how the topping was grated. I'm going to try that on other pies as well. I used some frozen pie filling I had. Defrosted it then cooked as directed. Slices much easier when it has cooled. Thanks Karen Elizabeth for a wonderful treat. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #24

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 January 11, 2009
Linquenda's Apple Crumble Tart